We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best restaurants we have eaten at”

The Waterside Restaurant Bar & Terrace
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of the Pennines, this loungey little bar and restaurant in Littleborough provides the perfect pitstop for weary sightseers and is a cosy spot popular with locals for intimate evening meals and superb Sunday roasts. The Waterside Restaurant and Bar has a stylish and comfortable interior decorated with chocolate brown sofas and high-backed leather booths for semi-private dining, and there is an al fresco terrace for sunny outdoor dining during the warmer months. Famous for its roasts, the kitchen at Waterside offers a variety of options from the minted lamb shoulder to the salted pork crackling and roasted Tunisian lemon chicken. Fish fans will also love the seafood selection ��� we love the smoked haddock lasagne with Atlantic shrimps and wilted spinach.
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants we have eaten at”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We went to Hollingworth lake for a last min evening meal with our two girls (4 years and 4 mts). We first of all went in the mainstream pub/so called food place next to the boating lake and after we saw the food and stickiness on the floor, we walked back out. After a quick search on the net we came across The Waterside. First impressions was great, lovely surroundings and interior. We sat in a comfy booth and the waitress was great, down to earth but knew her stuff. Food came in good time and so did the drinks. They was very accommodating for our girl with the food. We both ordered specials for our main, steak and prawns and pork with cabbage both of which were absolutely gorgeous. Price very reasonable for the quality of food and service. Will we visit again? definitely is there one thing I would change? Possibly an early dinners/set menu offer

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    796
    139
    65
    22
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely little gem”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I was on business in the Rochdale area for a few days and decided that the hotel food was a lot to be desired. I decided to google a steakhouse and found the Waterside. Once arriving on my own (billy no mates) without a booking on a Thursday evening. I was made to feel welcomed by the staff amongst the dating couples. The menu and specials was thoroughly explained in great detail I decided to go for the Chorizo & pepper starter and for main the Fillet steak peppercorn (medium)...............I haven't tasted food that good in such along timeand the price was excellent for that level of taste/service. I have recommended it to everyone I have bumped into since............will be returning with family/friends at the soonest of moments!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent resturant”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The food was very good quality which is important to me, the staff were very cheerful it was a nice relaxed atmosphere and the service was very good and also the restaurant owner took the time to ask if every thing was alright which is not always the case, we live around 45 minutes away but we will be going back again I will recommend it to my friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really nice evening”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was our first time at the waterside having not long moved into the area. We were very impressed with the service when we arrived and this carried forward through the night. The lady was lovely and ensured we were happy. The meal was cooked to perfection,we went for the specials and was not disappointed. Steak,king prawns & scallops all tasted lovely. Will definitely return next time we can get a babysitter for our children. Thanks for a lovely evening :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rtl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We found the restaurant purely by accident, and what a fabulous night was had by all. The staff were very helpful and cheerful and the food was excellent. It was slightly pricier than our average Sunday night out but it was worth every penny. Everyone's had steak and they were cooked to perfection. Well worth a visit for a special occasion, you won't be disappointed!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LKAMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterside Restaurant Bar & Terrace also viewed

Littleborough, Rochdale
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 
Newhey, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Waterside Restaurant Bar & Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing