We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location great, site very poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kennett River Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location great, site very poor”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

All the negative comments i have read I agree with and wish I'd checked trip advisor before booking. This is the most expensive site we've visited on our journey from Adelaide and so expected excellent facilities. The shower block is in dire need of updating, the owners need to remember the customer is King . 2star rating purely for location . Will not be coming back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    41
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
31
54
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stopped for 2 nights at this small site and loved the location but especially the wildlife. Wild koalas in the tree above our site, loads of colourful birds and a very relaxed atmosphere. Facilities fairly basic, but with a van it was ideal.Ideal spot if you dont want to be in the busier sites at Lorne or Apollo Bay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank norriebowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Just spent 3 nights here in a tent with 4 people. The patch of land we were given was void of grass and hard and dusty so they moved us that was fine. It is high season at the moment and there are only two showers for the girls and the hot water is boiling and the cold water tap didint work - in 30 degree heat you do not want a hot shower. I waited a long time for a shower on average people take 15 mins not the 4 mins as the notice says.There were 3 people in front of me and 2 behind (long wait!).
The park allows coach tours to use the toilets in the campsite too and all day lots of tourists wandered past our tent gawping in and one Aisian tourist even stopped to have a photo taken in front of our tent! The toilets they provide do not have handwashing facilities or bins and one morning while we were washing our dishes when 3 seperate people wanted to wash their hands over our clean dishes in the only outdoor sink!
The camp has no kitchen either. There are much better campsites with better facilities nearer Lorne and Apollo Bay.
Good cafe nearby and the wildlife (Parrots and Koalas) abundant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dianej100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathdownie, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Have stayed at Kennett River HP under previous management and nothing was ever a problem. It was great. NOT NOW, the whole weekend could not have been made more difficult. We were a group of 9 adults and two children coming from all over Victoria and from Sydney. We were told on the phone if we weren't there by 8 o'clock, we would not be let in, ridiculous. We were then told we had to pay in full over the phone if we were to be allowed in, and a key left out. We tried to book a camp fire, we thought we had, only to get back to our site on a Saturday night to find that management had taken the fire drum off us, because we had ' only ' paid a deposit on it, not the full amount. Even though three separate people had tried to pay the hire, one was told he couldn't pay with credit card, two more were told it was already paid for. Once they took it off us, they then didn't have any more, and we had camp ovens ready to cook a roast!!! They then said we could ask other people if they weren't using theirs!!!?! By this time we were just about over it, but they then appeared with a semi broken one which did the job just fine anyway, but not without being told there was a $50 grass burning fee.
To top it off, one of our group was given the hurry up by the cleaner to check out from her cabin,, whilst breast feeding her four week old baby, with car packed and ready to go.
The park / beach / river and facilities are great, but management need to look up HOSPITALITY in the dictionary. Oh for the previous managers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LandRoverFella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

In our annual stays at Kennett in January, we have found management to be helpful and accomodating in every way possible. We love the family atmosphere of the park and have found any rules in place are adhered to strictly and work for the benefit of all patrons of the park; - for example re-booking and woodheater rules. The beach also has a family atmosphere and a great Nippers programme. The facilities are kept clean and tidy and are more than adequate for a family camping holiday. Thanks Guys. :)

Room Tip: Get in early for booking around Christmas holidays as it is a very popular place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bronni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This was not a planned stop on our route on the Great Ocean Road, but in all honesty we did not regret staying here. (winter period) Staff is very friendly and prices are the most reasonable we have found on route of the great Ocean Road, so coming from Melbourne, or travelling towards Melbourne its a great first or last stop.
The Campervan park is not big, the facilities are basic, two toilet and two showers, so I can imagine that it can be busy cueing in summer period. But all was very tidy and clean.
Best attraction is the Glowworn place, at the reception the staff can tell you all about how to get there.
At night you truly are surrounded with hundreds of little lights and I have seen many glowworm spots around the globe, but this one is high up in my top 3.
The Koala walk is something you should forget, we have done the drive twice and spotted none.
A better alternative is the drive to Cape Otway Lighthouse, you will spot over 25 koalas, and that is on a slow day.
Our impression was that this Holiday Park is popular in summer for surfers and its a good place to stop for a night. The Park is located on the Great Ocean Road, the park is seperated with a big green plant border and so the noise of passing cars is not that annoying.
All in all good price quality value.

One other thing I should mention is the Wifi, first holiday park where wifi was available over the whole park, (maybe because it was not so big) But at many Big4 parks you need to be sitting on the steps of the reception to get any reception.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutch_Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borlange, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We visited Kennett River Holiday Park for one night during our Great ocean road-trip. Our son had read about it in "The lonely planet" who told us of the big population of koalas in the area. We really liked this camping, it was close to a fantastic beach, was run by a nice and really helpful couple, the facilities were good, full of beautiful parrots AND of course, the koalas!!! We saw at least 6-7 of them just above our heads in the camping. Unfortunately the weather was bad, so we didn´t go for the glowing worms, pity! But, we had a real close encounter with a koala, fantastic! He/she came walking just beside our van, and climbed up, stopped, and took a long close look at us and the camera, two feet away. That made our day!

Annelie and Bo, Sweden

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnelieochBosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennett River
10.7 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
2.7 mi away
BIG4 Wye River Holiday Park
11.2 mi away
BIG4 Apollo Bay Pisces Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Lorne Foreshore Caravan Park
13.2 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
299 reviews
12.0 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennett River Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennett River Holiday Park

Property: Kennett River Holiday Park
Address: Great Ocean Road, Kennett River, Victoria 3234, Australia (Formerly Kennett River Caravan Park)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Kennett River
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kennett River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kennett River Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennett River Holiday Park is located halfway between Lorne and Apollo Bay on the Great Ocean Road. Koalas, kookaburras, parrots and other native wildlife enjoy this sheltered location amongst the gum trees. The park is opposite the beach, suitable for fishing, swimming and surfing. Fully self contained cabins with bathrooms. Large powered and un-powered sites. Free WiFi internet access to all areas. Camp fires allowed on your campsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Kennett River Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennett River Holiday Park Great Ocean Road, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing