We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kennett River Holiday Park
Nearby Hotels
$110
$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
$103
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Cumberland Lorne Resort(Lorne)(Great Value!)
$167
$145
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne(Lorne)(Great Value!)
$99
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$96
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$90
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$68
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandpiper Motel(Apollo Bay)(Great Value!)
$74
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaview Motel and Apartments(Apollo Bay)(Great Value!)
$89
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
52
44
12
5
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
44
12
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglow wormsking parrotsthe great ocean roadacross the roadgrey river roadwild koalasgeneral storebird seedfire pitshady treesamazing wildlifespot koalasapollo bayhand feedingprivate toilet and showergreat campingbeautiful bush setting
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 119 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This was not a planned stop on our route on the Great Ocean Road, but in all honesty we did not regret staying here. (winter period) Staff is very friendly and prices are the most reasonable we have found on route of the great Ocean Road, so coming from Melbourne, or travelling towards Melbourne its a great first or last stop.
The Campervan park is not big, the facilities are basic, two toilet and two showers, so I can imagine that it can be busy cueing in summer period. But all was very tidy and clean.
Best attraction is the Glowworn place, at the reception the staff can tell you all about how to get there.
At night you truly are surrounded with hundreds of little lights and I have seen many glowworm spots around the globe, but this one is high up in my top 3.
The Koala walk is something you should forget, we have done the drive twice and spotted none.
A better alternative is the drive to Cape Otway Lighthouse, you will spot over 25 koalas, and that is on a slow day.
Our impression was that this Holiday Park is popular in summer for surfers and its a good place to stop for a night. The Park is located on the Great Ocean Road, the park is seperated with a big green plant border and so the noise of passing cars is not that annoying.
All in all good price quality value.

One other thing I should mention is the Wifi, first holiday park where wifi was available over the whole park, (maybe because it was not so big) But at many Big4 parks you need to be sitting on the steps of the reception to get any reception.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutch_Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We visited Kennett River Holiday Park for one night during our Great ocean road-trip. Our son had read about it in "The lonely planet" who told us of the big population of koalas in the area. We really liked this camping, it was close to a fantastic beach, was run by a nice and really helpful couple, the facilities were good, full of beautiful parrots AND of course, the koalas!!! We saw at least 6-7 of them just above our heads in the camping. Unfortunately the weather was bad, so we didn´t go for the glowing worms, pity! But, we had a real close encounter with a koala, fantastic! He/she came walking just beside our van, and climbed up, stopped, and took a long close look at us and the camera, two feet away. That made our day!

Annelie and Bo, Sweden

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnelieochBosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed at Kennett River Caravan Park for a weekend in April 2012, with large caravan on a powered site, we found the site with easy access (one way) departure a little tight, with bushes around corners scrubbing on caravan on departure. The amenities were aged, but kept very clean, the weekend we were staying, toilets basins etc were very clean, on the downside, even though soap provided, there was no hand drying unit or paper towels available. Staff very friendly, and helpfull, great location, with the southern ocean roaring in the background, if you like lots of koala, parrots, and birds around your site, with the occasional stroll along the beach,then this is the place for it. One disappointment was we booked via the Internet and there is no provision to claim the club discount on line. (TopTourist) this is quite common on line, and most times when you arrive at a caravan site and produce the club card you are given the discount back, however this time even though the staff were very friendly, the discount was not able to be returned, which is a big problem if you are on a budget, and with most people booking on line these days, a disappointment.

Room Tip: Phone this site direct to obtain the club discount, and for advise on site size to suit caravan
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank MikenGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

My family has been holidaying at Kennett river for 7 years. Last year we were told we had to book for a minimum of 7 nights which we did. We were advised by email that we had to rebook in the first two days of our stay if we wanted to stay again next year. We tried to do that only to be advised that our sites were not available as management had already rented them to someone else!!! This was the final straw. Throw on top of the fact that there has been almost no maintenance and the facilities are dirty and there is no way we will be going back. BRING BACK THE OLD MANAGERS. They understood customer service.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Holidayers111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kennettriver, Owner at Kennett River Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Kennett River Holiday Park. The new management is working hard to renew and update the facilities throughout the park. Unfortunately due to the addition of new park facilities scheduled for 2012 not all sites were available for re-booking. Our procedure in this event is to find an alternative site for you and I apologise that this didn’t happen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed only one night in Kennet River Caravan Park. Before driving Great Ocean Road, we drove also Western Australia and we visited many different parks. Unfortunately Kenneth River was the worst park we found.

We came late in the afternoon and we got small unpowered site. The price with 10% discount was 42 AUD (campervan and 2 persons) what is quite pricey comparing to other parks with much better quality. Bathrooms and toilets were not clean, there was no kitchen, and free internet didn’t work.

It is true that there are many wild birds (parrots) and other animals in surrounding, but this has nothing to do with caravan park maintenance which should be definitely improved.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank VladoN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kennettriver, Owner at Kennett River Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding Kennett River Holiday Park. I am sorry to hear your stay was an unpleasant one. Unfortunately for travellers, Christmas School Holidays along the Great Ocean Road are an extremely busy time.

We are very competitively priced when compared with other parks along the Great Ocean Road; however during the Christmas holidays we do charge our peak tariff.

I am sorry you had problems with the free Wi-Fi; we have upgraded our Wi-Fi infrastructure throughout the park with improved connectivity. It may also please you to know we have employed extra cleaning staff to ensure the bathrooms are always clean and tidy.

We would love to have you back at Kennett River Holiday Park outside the holiday period when you would only be paying the off peak rate, you would be able to choose your own site and have space around you to fully enjoy the park and its surrounds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews