We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$23
$19
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Internet
$150
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
    Grand Borneo Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
    $44
    $37
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    $30
    $26
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Average 3/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    The Klagan Regency(Kota Kinabalu)
    $59
    $50
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Hotel Yaho(Kota Kinabalu)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Average 3/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Reviews (6,510)
    Filter reviews
    6,510 results
    Traveler rating
    4,669
    1,330
    362
    102
    47
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    4,669
    1,330
    362
    102
    47
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsnature reserveocean wingnaanorangutan sanctuarycoffee terracegolf coursesand fliesday bedrasa ria resortcoast restaurantwater sportscanopy walkhappy hourour honeymoonkids clubindian restaurantour favourite
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    4,171 - 4,176 of 6,510 reviews
    Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

    A wonderful place where nature is made to feel welcome.
    So much to do, or not if you prefer, but the combination of service food and setting is difficult to beat.
    The orangutan setting is amazing and a must for kids as well. Seeing them in their natural habitat you will not get a better chance to get up close and personal.
    The food is unrivaled. The Teppanyaki was great to watch and very tasty, but just as good we're the foodarkets. You will not go hungry and not over the price barrier.
    Magic place and one for the couples to relax and enjoy.

    • Stayed: November 2012
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank JodyGraeme
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 9, 2012

    Luxury hotel and resort.have a nice pool and white sand beach.have a Good breakfast buffet, and restuarant.for The kids they have everyday activity in kids club.there are also gulf club.its perfect for your holiday.and The hotel room is nice and clean.im staying there 1week.its fantastic place.

    • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank DaliaNonol
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

    Can't fault this hotel on anything. We stayed at the Ocean Wing, which was so beautiful. The check in was painless, and the check in staff were so pleasant to arrive to after a long day, I was slightly ill after my arrival and they were so quick in processing my check so I could go upstairs and rest and even offered to call the doctor up to our room. The hotel transfer driver on both journeys were lovely. The level of service that this hotel emphasises on is so well and beyond what I could ever expect and I truly commend the management on that. Never once did I encounter a member of staff being other than polite honestly I can't even describe to you how lovely our stay was because of them. The hotel ground was perfect. Food was amazing. Even with the little refurb on the other wing didn't bother us as it was so well guarded against the hotel guests! Facilities were amazing, the Orangutan sanctuary was another highlight. The complimentary catamarans were fun! I have nothing other than great praises for this hotel.

    Oh yes. Your housekeeping staff too, were amazing. They turned down our beds and drew our curtains ready for night time, just those little things really make you feel like kings and queens. You get so so so much more than what you pay for and I will DEFINATELY come visit again.

    Thank you for the birthday wish you sent my partner it made us miss kk even more.

    • Stayed: February 2012
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank kbree
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 7, 2012

    Wendy, Kieran and I have just got back from our 9 day stay at the hotel. Cannot understand the other reviews as we had a fantastic time. Yes we did have a few issues, like trying to upgrade and a less than enthusiastic chef at the Kuzon but on both occasions the staff, especially Aslie and Frankie showed exceptional customer service and resolved the issues, and further more there was a genuine response to rectify and learn so no one else would have the same issues in the future and that is all you can ask for.

    With regards to the staff, all of them including Jeffre, Kimberly, Martina, Kathy, Bryan, Reinaldo (too many to list) really made an effort to make our stay special. We did not see a single person lounging about or disinterested. I take the view, be polite and engage with the staff and they will engage with you. Be rude then don't expect much more from them.

    We upgraded to the suite as the ocean wing was not available due to ongoing pilling work. The room was really spacious with a fantastic view. Our room was cleaned every day and we had no complaints about the room service. Ordered a meal one night to eat in the room as Kieran was tired. The food was hot, all laid out on the table for us as if we was in the Coast and then cleared away soon afterwards. 5 star service! The whole hotel is in excellent condition and the gardens and beach area are gorgeous.

    We all enjoyed the normal pool area as there was plenty of children for Kieran to play with and Wendy and I chilled out on the sun beds. If you want a quite pool then upgrade to the Ocean wing. We did pop over a couple of times to the Ocean Wing pool (came with the upgrade) to have lunch when Kieran was in Kids club and it is more secluded with cold drinks whilst sunbathing. Nice touch.

    The food is excellent with a great choice, we ate at the market most nights as they had plenty of different types of food and we could eat and drink (like a Meze) and relax. On wednesday they do a cultural show, put on by the staff with a couple of tribe dancers and this was fantastic. I have seen plenty of these type of shows and this was genuinely the best one yet. More so as the staff really enjoy doing it.

    The Coast was our favourite but we only had two evening meals there as Kieran wanted to eat at the market. On the last night we had a Gazebo on the beach and Martina looked after us. The whole setting, candles, music and exceptional food made the night special. Even down to the staff bringing out a birthday cake (surprise) for my wife and sang happy birthday with a guitar player. Made it even more special. However as we had upgraded we did get to have breakfast in the Coast each morning. This was a real treat and we looked forward to this every day. Going to miss the eggs benedict and Prosecco for breakfast.

    The evening entertainment could be better, the band was ok and yes a lot of people did seem to drift off early. Would be nice to have a bit of a variety to spice things up, although the kitchen band is one to see. Lots of fun.

    Volley ball and football was good in the evenings although Reinaldo struggled to get enough people at the end of the week and this was a shame as everyone really enjoyed it when we did play. Children and adults all joined in for fun.

    If you get chance take out one of the boats on the water (FOC). Easy to sail and you get a good view of the area and hotel. The sea does have jelly fish and we did witness a few people getting stung but the beach staff had a spray to relieve the pain. Would not recommend swimming in the sea. I am not sure if it was because of the rainy season but we saw very few mosquitos or sand flies. Again the guys have repellent if you need it.

    Kieran loved being a ranger for a morning with the Orangutans. We did the viewing and its no side show, they have a vested interest in getting the Orangutans rehabilitated. They are cute and love to interact with the guests on the platform. Wendy came across a Viper on the way down, just to remind us that we are actually in a Jungle reserve!

    Its worth popping into the travel agents at the hotel to see about the external tours (along with the activities desk) as there are a couple of really good days out. We did the 3 hr drive to see the wild monkeys and fireflies and we all came back buzzing with excitement. One of those special days that we will always remember. We didn't get to do the train but the people we spoke to all said it was a good day out. KK sunday market was ok but wouldn't rave about it.

    The prices are what you expect to pay at a 5 star resort and we had no complaints, however the prices for the mini bar are a tad higher than what you would expect to pay. A can of Tiger beer in KK was 8RM and 18RM in the room and cans of 7up 1.17 RM in KK and 7k in the room (water was 11RM for a small bottle!). The usual situation in England in a decent hotel, but I feel the hotel would sell more if they reduced the price.

    Golf was great, Alfonso looked after us especially when we got half way round and it rained with thunder and lightning. They even had a buggy equipped with a lightning meter to make sure we was safe! Look out for the Monitor Lizards swimming across the lake, they look like small crocs. Take a camera for the round. Its in very good condition with tricky greens. The golf club will provide clubs ( Had Cobras, very good quality) and shoes.

    Yes there are children having fun around the pool area, it is all listed in numerous reviews so not sure why this would be a surprise for people who then go onto to put a negative review on here. Trip advisor is there to review before you go on holiday and not just to complain when you get back.

    Anyway I could say a lot more about the hotel, but in summary, its a family friendly 5 star hotel (5 star + service if you do the upgrade). The staff are great, especially with the children and we all miss the guys already. The food is superb with enough variety. Views of the sunset and beach - sea are stunning.

    Would recommend to anyone and we will be back in the near future.

    Thank you to Shangri La Rasa Ria and all the staff for a fantastic stay.

    Room Tip: Ask if there is an option to upgrade (worth the money), the suite was excellent and although its not in the Ocean Wing, it has a great view, lots of space and a bath and shower. Also allowed us to have breakfast in the Coast.
    • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    7  Thank johnandwendy3802
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    RRR-GM, General Manager at Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

    Dear Johnandwendy3802,
    Many thanks for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you and your family had a fantastic time at Rasa Ria and that you will be coming back to visit us in near future. Thank you for recognizing the efforts of my dedicated colleagues including Aslie, Frankie, Jeffre, Kimberly, Martina, Kathy, Bryan, Reinaldo, and Alfonso.
    I am delighted to hear that the team at Coast restaurant did a good job at recognizing your wife’s birthday and you took the opportunity to enjoy many of the activities in and around Rasa Ria. I’m also glad that Kieran took the opportunity to be the Ranger for the Day and get hands-on in assisting the rangers with their daily tasks. I will be sharing your feedback regarding our Kozan restaurant, evening entertainment and prices for mini bar with my Team and we will review how we can improve. Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon!
    Best regards,
    Randy Zupanski
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile


    The hotel is a large resort type hotel around an hour from the airport depending on traffic. We arrived quite late and were greeted with enthusiasm on exit from the hotel car as we had arranged an airport transfer, that was executed without problem. The check-in process was done efficiently. You are welcomed by name with the usual Shangri La style and with a pleasant mocktail. We had booked a room in the garden wing which had 2 twin beds put together as a king size. There was a step down to a lower level with a large day bed and access to a spacious balcony. Strangely, the balcony only had one chair for a room where 2 or more were staying. We requested another and within 5 minutes it had been delivered. There was plenty of wardrobe and drawer space a flat screen tv, but with a limited choice of English tv channels. The bathroom was fine but the shower was over he bath tub with a shower curtain. Throughout the time there the room and bathroom were kept spotless. There is complimentary Internet in the rooms accessed with a cable and wi-fi in the Internet cafe and lobby along with a few other places but we found the signal was weak and regularly dropped out.

    We took breakfast in the coffee terrace which was fine and the staff helpful. Meals were either a la carte or buffet. Unfortunately, there were too many unsupervised children running around while we were there and as encounter in the Shangri-La in Kuala Lumpur staff are reticent to do anything about this!

    There was a range of daily activities available and honestly too much to describe and do the resort justice. At the centre of the resort is a large pool with slide. Plenty of loungers both around the pool and on the lawns and beach. However, once again there were many children left unsupervised in the pool which just seems to be a growing trend these days. It puts undue pressure on the lifeguard staff and discriminates against guests without children.

    The hotel has a nature sanctuary providing numerous nature based activities. We booked the orang-utan viewing which was very good and to be recommended, but beware if it rains, because it gets muddy and slippery and you have to climb multiple sets of stairs to the viewing platform. We also did the night viewing for 2 hours which passes quickly, but some sort of subdued continual lighting might help rather than the warden periodically lighting his torch!

    We tried several restaurants while we were there including the tepu laut restaurant near the pool which is buffet style and tries to create the hawker stalls concept. We reserved a table at 8:30 which is not late but the choice of salads was poor with many of the bowls empty likewise with the stalls some of which were unattended and you either had to wait or move to another choice. Service was poor tables were not cleared away quick enough and in comparison to the other restaurants in the resort very disappointing. Overall not a good experience and definitely not worth the money. By comparison, Naan, the Indian restaurant which was excellent.

    However, we thoroughly enjoyed the visit and would certainly go back and recommend the location to anyone.

    • Stayed: September 2012
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Hudson0605
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    RRR-GM, General Manager at Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

    Dear Traveller1824,
    Thank you for your review. Whilst I am pleased to hear that you and your partner thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, I am most concerned to learn that you did not enjoy your dining experience at Coffee Terrace and Tepi Laut. I will be sharing you feedback with our Food & Beverage Team and we will address the issues you have brought to our attention. I also appreciate your comments regarding our WiFi and the choices of English tv channels as this will help us in our effort to continually improve. We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to your next visit.
    Best regards,
    Randy Zupanski
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews