We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in a B&B.”
Review of Grandview B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grandview B&B
Concord, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfection in a B&B.”
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We arrived late in the evening after a long day of travel to a gracious welcome from our personable host, Geoff, As soon as our luggage was stowed in our room, we found ourselves settled on the deck with a bottle of house wine and the most amazing view of the Perth city lights before us. The accomodations were private, beautifully done, sparkling clean and very comfortable. Breakfast with that daylight view of Perth was delightful. Geoff went the extra mile by finding us the best bus schedule to Dunsborough and reserving a taxi for the next morning to get us to the terminal in good time. Just wish we had more time to stay longer!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TerryCarol4348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
26
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Milton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

My partner and I decided to stay here for the last 3 days of our holiday before jetting off home to the UK, as it was close to the airport although not too close to be noisy.

The first thing we noticed when we arrived was the friendly welcome we recieved from Geoff our host who went out of his way to make us feel at home and comfortable.

Our room had a beautiful view over Perth, was very clean and even had small touches that were lovely. Even a stack load of Dvd's to choose from to watch if we wanted.
The shops were a little walk away, so transport would be better for getting around.

The general views and the swimming pool was lovely along with the outstanding breakfasts, and also the Kookaburra's were very friendly too! If you you want a relaxing stay and true value for money then we would definatly reccommend staying here you will not be dissapointed!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy82_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Just returned to Melb after a great trip to Perth. The Grandview was fantastic and very relaxing. Our host (Geoff) was most hospitable and extremely helpful with local knowledge. We especially enjoyed the views from the bacony where we could relax with a glass or two of some of the local wines

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2010

Very nice house, great room and a very friendly host. It was all pefect, we had a great stay and can fully recomend the Grandview. it is Close to the airport and the host picked us up. It is a 20 minutes car ride away from Perth downtown.
...............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rudi111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We stayed at Grandview for a total of 4 nights, 1 at the start of our Australia holiday and 3 at the end.
Geoff collected us from the airport after our early morning flight as arranged, and later that evening was kind enough to take us back to the airport to collect our rental car.
Geoff and Leanne’s friendliness was fabulous. Nothing was too much trouble for them, they were excellent and friendly hosts.
Grandview is a wonderful house, set on a hill overlooking Perth, with wonderful views of the city. The outside decking on the upper level provided a sitting area and the day bed was super in the sunshine! The lower level had the swimming pool, BBQ, dining table and chairs and sunloungers. We enjoyed watching the sun set over the city and the early evening visit from the Kookaburra.
The room itself was modern and clean and had everything you could want, with a large comfortable bed, foxtel cable TV (and a DVD player with selection of films), nice en-suite with shower, toiletries and heated towel rail. There was a separate room within the bedroom with clothes storage, fridge, tea and coffee making and an ironing board. Electric blankets were nice as it did get a little cool in the late evening.
Breakfast was continental style, with fruit, yoghurt, cereals, toast, croissants, teas, coffee and juice.
We were thankfully able to use the washing machine, which was very handy.
Geoff and Leanne are happy for you to share the facilities of the house, and there are interesting items of memorabilia all around.
A 20 minute walk (few minutes drive) up the hill is a very nice Italian restaurant called Embers, we ate there at lunchtime and also had a very nice evening meal (best to book for evenings as it gets busy). There is a French patisserie here too, although we did not get to try as it seemed to be closed a couple of days during the week.
A little further along the road is Kalamunda , we walked from the B&B and it took about 35 minutes (only a short drive). In Kalamunda you will find a few restaurants including Thai on the Hill (very nice), as well as a variety of shops, supermarket, fish and chips, visitor centre etc.
Perth was about 30minutes drive away, Geoff did say getting there by train was easy too.
We had a thoroughly enjoyable time at Grandview, and would most definitely choose to stay again.
Thank you Geoff and Leanne.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy123Northampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

I stayed here for a night and our host could not have been more friendly, accommodating & supportive. Fabulous views. An eclectic array of collectors items on display in the living area. Great conversation.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worklifebalance1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Grandview B&B has the best host we experienced in Australia! Geoff and Leanne are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble (including taking a picture apart-don't ask?!) The view from their deck of the Perth skyline is amazing especially at night. The rooms are comfortable one larger room with ensuite and one with a private bathroom. The electric blankets were very welcome. An extensive continental breakfast served in the dining room was very tasty. Grandview is decorated in a really interesting style with lots of music memorabilia, a phone box and petrol pump in the lounge. We liked it so much we booked in again a few days later! Gooseberry Hill is near to the Swan River and Perth city.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judehunt66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gooseberry Hill
0.8 mi away
Rosebridge House Bed & Breakfast
Rosebridge House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Gooseberry Hill
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Possum Creek Lodge
Possum Creek Lodge
#2 of 5 in Gooseberry Hill
28 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Good Life B&B
The Good Life B&B
#1 of 5 in Lesmurdie
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Kalamunda Carriages
Kalamunda Carriages
#1 of 3 in Kalamunda
12 reviews
2.5 mi away
Jennys Retreat B&B
Jennys Retreat B&B
#4 of 5 in Gooseberry Hill
4 reviews
7.6 mi away
Carinyah Retreat BnB
Carinyah Retreat BnB
#1 of 1 in Pickering Brook
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandview B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview B&B

Property: Grandview B&B
Address: 30 Girrawheen Dr, Gooseberry Hill, Western Australia 6076, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth Hills > Gooseberry Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gooseberry Hill
Hotel Class:4 star — Grandview B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grandview B&B is nestled on the escarpment overlooking Perth city and surrounding areas. We are situated just 15 minutes from both the international and domestic airports and we offer complimentary WiFi to our guests. At Grandview you can expect immaculate executive style accommodation within beautiful bush surroundings. The house is in a quiet and tranquil location offering guests the opportunity to relax and unwind and enjoy some of the most wonderful sunsets you will ever see.Be enchanted by: Native flora and fauna Daily visits to our bird bath by Rosellas, Honey Eaters, Butcher Birds, etc. Periodic visits from our Kookaburra friends Regular visits from our wandering kangaroos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Grandview B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandview B&B Gooseberry Hill, Australia - Perth Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing