We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An experience to repeat, no doubt ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nuarro Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nuarro Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
2 reviews
“An experience to repeat, no doubt ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The path to Nuarro is quite tiring, but worth it.
Loved the rooms, the architecture is fabulous.
Sleeping in Nuarro is a unique, delicious.
Not much to say... great place to relax, a wonderful sunrise, beautiful beach and an excellent staff.
An experience to repeat, no doubt ...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    22
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
32
53
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nampula, Mozambique
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I you planning on going out for a crazy weekend where you party till the sun comes up Nuarro is not the place. Although it will definitely be the place for a relaxing/rejuvenating weekend. Filled with fun/fantastic adventures to go on such as: Whale watching (And this isn't just advertised whale watching these are whales in their natural habitat swimming right next to you, amazing!); you have a fun bicycle ride to secluded beaches where you can watch the most amazing sunsets you'll ever see; you have amazing scuba diving sites not to mention the possibility to do some wake boarding for the adrenaline enthusiasts.. Other then these specific activities which i did and loved, I got to come back to an amazing massage underneath a tree in the middle of the beach and to finish it all off (one day of our visit) I got to hang back at the bar have a cool drink enjoy the breeze and relax.

The rooms and Nuarro was to our delight where we felt a little bit of the eco turism coming through with a dash of luxury spice. The people that were there at the time ( and I think they are still the same- Two younger couples) we're amazing fun and very helpfull in what we needed. In general _I was very impressed and had a great time. So, Nuarro Eco Lodge I approve! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Manuel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
369 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Nuarro is the kind of place we all dream about and think may still exist in the world if having travelled extensively for many years you find simplicity and paradise hard to encounter without concrete ! Mystique early 60's Seychelles 70' India 80's Vietnam 90's Myanmar or Mozambique's Nuarra Lodge. You really feel you've discovered paradise again from long deserted beach to the charming real village at the far end of the beach, only to be eclipsed with the constant crunching of hump back whales playing and mating off shore. Diving and snorkelling surpass even the barrier reef and only the ocassional local dugout canoe gliding around the surrounding waters. Where else can you snorkel with hump back whales and in total privacy? You may encounter another guest once or twice a day. If you are still hung up on is the guy at the next table doing better than you then you won't get it. If you drop the kids off at boarding school in an old Alvis or Volvo then you will love this environment. New linen Jackets not required only well worn, the more worn out the better. I guess the lodge is simply perfect shabby chick the hosts Monica and David together with dive crew can not do enough. As for food we let the team know what we liked clearly fish from the Indian Ocean and it was wonderful including the biggest crayfish we've ever seen. Amazing dinning with magnificent views. Service is charming and we are in reall Africa not Kenya or SA. Chalet 11 on the point is Robinson Cruisoe personified wonderful bed with draping nets and the best air conditioning in the world rolling in off the ocean breeze. I hope you are all still with me so far and not googling Alvis! Diving school run by Reyan really first rate our 14 year old completed PADI cert over five days surrounded with coral and a multitude of colourful marine life the Maldives may have had 20 years ago. Then there are those hump back whales again You know paradise awaits having driven for 4 hours through the daily life of numerous villages on rutted roads. Nuarro just has it all and oozes class above any beach African experience. OK it doesn't have Splendido's piano player who cares! It's Heaven do I need to say more? Hope you enjoy the experience as much as our family at the end of a five week adventure. Truly amazing coming back for a month soon.

Room Tip: You won't miss the office and thankfully your cellphone doesn't work. I wrote the review in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Amazing accommodation in a most beautiful and secluded location. Not the best food ever but the friendly and welcoming atmosphere, stunning beach with coral reefs and more than daily visits by humpback whales much more than compensates for the lack of fine cuisine. It's expensive but worth every penny, an unforgettable and unique experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dionearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I decided to spend a week at Nuarro, thinking it would be a wonderful relaxing week. It turned out to be a life changing event for myself and a wonderful adventure for both us. The managers Monica and David were absolutely fantastic. Not only are they wonderful with their own staff, but as guests we were treated like royalty. Their love for the environment and the ocean was contagious, we couldn't wait to see what each day bought. Kerry and Aaron the activity managers were amazing, Kerry cured my fear of diving and deep water, by the end of our holiday I had done two dives and my husband completed his deep sea dive. We canoed through mangroves, snorkelled over amazing coral reefs, sipped cocktails under a magnificent night sky and learnt so much in-between. It was more than a holiday, it was truly the MOST awesome adventure we have ever had! I cannot wait to return to this wonderful place and its people! Storey and Ricardo Da Silva

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StoreyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

If you want to escape to a remote location this is a great place to do it. You really feel like you are miles from anywhere and able to immerse yourself in the beauty of the beach, the sea and community's life in the village which is situated on the same beach as the lodge. There are plenty of activities based around the beach and the diving is just fantastic - not least because of the possibility of seeing whales and dolphins close up whilst on route to dive sites. Our hosts were just great - taking plenty of time to get to know us and they went out of their way to accommodate our wish to visit the local communities and Ilha de Mozambique (a good 4 hour drive away).
If i could make one observation about Nuarro it would be to say that since northern Mozambique is not really so developed in terms of luxury lodges (compared to the southern archipelagoes) care must be taken to ensure guests know that this lodge is rustic. The chalets are comfortable, clean and have huge beds and a wonderful deck with hammocks for relaxing - but they are partly open to the air so bugs get in - there is no aircon - there's a longish walk from the reception / restuarant from certain of the chalets and no way to contact the resturant or reception from your chalet. The restarant food is great - tasty, interesting and there is far too much of it - the fish and seafood is fantastic - but it is not 5* cuisine. All this is perfect if you just want to enjoy nature - but might not suit everyone. I think guests have to be aware that in this remote location, if something goes wrong or a guest has very specific wants / needs it may not be possible to fix it / accommodate the request immediately or at all. If guests are aware of these things and their expectations are properly managed I think anyone visiting Nuarro would agree that it is a fabulous place to chill out and relax.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank natasha o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blantyre, Malawi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We drove over from Malawi and after a few days on Ilha we followed the windy dirt road to Nuarro. We spent two days at the lodge trying as many activities as possible and enjoyed every minute of our! The range of activities on offer was fantastic and we particularly loved our private beach lunch, a group of hump back whales decided to join us- what a treat! I would also recommend the mangrove kayak trip- completely different experience. We loved our room and the sense of privacy and enjoyed the walk up and down the beach from the activity centre to the restaurant- it worked up our appetite! The full moon meant no need for torches and on our last night we had a beach dinner- so romantic.
Thank you to all the staff and Monica and Dave for being so helpful with onward directions for our trip North. We definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateWebbMalawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Memba
0.0 mi away
Ibo Island Lodge
Ibo Island Lodge
#3 of 3 in Ibo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
165.1 mi away
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Quirimbas Archipelago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jardim dos Aloes
Jardim dos Aloes
#1 of 7 in Mozambique Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nacala Plaza Business Design Hotel
0.0 mi away
Cinco Portas Pensao
19.5 mi away
Shaquila Lodge
Shaquila Lodge
#5 of 7 in Nacala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nuarro Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuarro Lodge

Property: Nuarro Lodge
Address: Nuarro | Nangata, Memba 3120, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Nampula Province > Memba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Memba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nuarro Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nuarro Lodge is located on the shores of the warm and azure Indian Ocean in northern Mozambique. Backed by the wild Mozambican bush, fringed with old and established baobab trees to the back; and fronted by the calm and aquamarine bay of Nanatha, the lodge is peppered along a more than 2km-long, powdery-white beach in the middle. Built from natural materials, by the local community, makes the environmentally sensitive Nuarro Lodge, the ideal venue in which to relax and unwind in these equally pristine surroundings. Nuarro Lodge is all about friendly people, top-class activities and fantastic food, showcasing a spectacular, pristine environment in the most responsible way possible! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nuarro Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nuarro Lodge Mozambique/Memba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing