We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nuarro Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nuarro Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
amsterdam
1 review
“fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

What a wonderful experience! We arrived at Nampula ( real african airport....), happy we already got our visa! A nice guy was waiting for us to accompany us to a small plane , that flew us directly to Nuarro. Beautiful trip. At the lodge we were welcomed by management and staff with drinks and fresh towels. Our little house was great, african colors, nice bed, nice linen, rainshower, large towels. And the view from the veranda was superb.
Food was, although no 'alacarte', very tasty and fresh and never a problem to change a course.
The beach is unspoiled, with beautiful shells and your own 'sala', to read and doing nothing all day (if you like). We enjoyed the snorkeling ( unspoiled coral), the biking, the visit to the community, the beautiful sunset, the birds and long lazy days surrounded by smiling, thoughtful staff.
Thanks to all for making our stay unforgettable and we will come back soon!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maria d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    22
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
32
53
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
norg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

The cottage was very special located, with a beatiful vieuw and perfect decorated. We had a
lovely stay. The staff was great and very kind.We had lovely good food and the holiday was very relaxing. Whales jumping in the ocean , white sand on the beach and perfect diving.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjitske l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havana, Cuba
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

I agree with the other "poor" rated comments. We also visited in January and found Nuarro Lodge to be a disappointment for many of the reasons previously stated. "Luxury" accommodation was very basic. Presentation of breakfast was very poor.

Would not return and would not recommend it

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

We are a family of 5 (three kids ages: 15, 13 and 10) - we chose this lodge because we were told you could dive and snorkel from the shore. Four of us dive so we anticipated our 10 year old being able to snorkel with us at least. In fact the sea was far too rough for any snorkelling or diving to be done, and we understand that the wind blows onshore making diving impossible for 6 months of the year, including Christmas time. In any case the dive boat was broken for the duration of our visit, so none of the activities on offer were possible.

Another reason we chose Nuarro was, we were told by our agent that it was run by a pair of Marine Biologist enthusiasts, who would be able to show us the amazing reefs and marine life of the area. They have left!! The Lodge is in the hands of Managers now, not the people who set it up.

The food was very basic and very little of it - no choice at all. Lunch was pizza and ice-cream, or club sandwiches. My husband and 15 year old son were hungry! No sign of any salads or vegetables, in fact the vegetable garden 'canoes' were not tended and most of them empty. Bottled water was in short supply, they ran out of large bottles altogether and we all got sick drinking the 'filtered' water in the rooms.I think that there is real problem supplying such a remote lodge - we were expecting fresh sea food and salads. Breakfast was a really desultory affair, flies swimming in the milk. I asked for boiled eggs to be told they had none, although later on in our week we were offered omelettes. Hardly any fresh fruit. You had to ask for service, it wasn't offered, especially for the water!! Wine and beer too warm. The lady running this part of the Lodge was delightful, but I think she had supply problems while we were there. The advertised tea and cake in the afternoon never materialised.

We went on a visit to look at the power supplies to the lodge - the problems are huge. Solar panels stolen by local thieves, and the pipes the water has to run through completely furred up with limescale, cables difficult to replace etc. I liked the engineer guy showing us all this, but I did think he had an uphill battle on his hands to keep the place running.

The wildlife in our room is now the stuff of family legend - I think this is not something to complain about, because its part of the deal, but I will highlight our experiences so families visiting know what to expect!! We had whiptail spiders inside our mosquito netting at night, and they are big!! As a result of this we had our 9 year old in our bed, and I had to de-spider the other children's room (by the way 100 yards away from ours). My jacket and my husband's boxers were eaten by some large-ish rodent - huge holes gnawed in the material, they were on the shelves in the room. Our daughter complained that a 'rat' had run over her arm in the night, and we didn't believe her, but when we came to pack up we found all this evidence, so maybe she was right. While we were there the dive master had a spitting cobra in his bathroom. Fortunately the venom just wet his arm......So long as you are prepared to share your accommodation with poisonous spiders and snakes, and, of course, you are 5 hours drive away from a town (or 45 minutes in a plane, assuming the guy can land), its fine - we are quite used to basic conditions, but this was really at the limit.

This lodge is definitely not 'luxury', and certainly not worth the price you have to pay. The best aspect is the location of the lodges - on the beach, very spaced out so you can imagine you are on your own private island. Its a ten minute walk to the restaurant. Management staff very friendly, but facing an almost impossible task to deliver anything that resembles luxury. If it was a back-packer retreat (and priced as such) it would be fine.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KimA652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilongwe, Malawi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Recognising the fact that most reviews of Nuarro Lodge on Tripadvisor are rather positive I felt I needed to share my disappointing experience there online.

Our travel agent had booked us (a family with 2 kids aged 6 and 9) for one week at Nuarro Lodge, which turned – from our perspective – out to be a big mistake, for several reasons:

• The location of the lodge is not ideal, which makes Nuarro – by the staff’s own admission – not suitable for children. There is no pool, and the sea is de facto unsuitable for children under ten years of age – dangerous rocks and sea urchins at low tide, and high waves (that are allegedly common for at least six months per year) and an undercurrent at high tide. Staff repeatedly warned us of the dangers for children, but could not offer much in terms of activities apart from a sand castle building competition.
• There are very few activities available. During our stay snorkeling was either not possible due to the high waves or useless due to poor visibility, diving was not possible due to the fact that “the” boat was broken (we are not regular divers anyway), kayaking was also difficult if not dangerous due to the high waves and rocks, sailing and windsurfing were not available. The three existing mountain bikes were not available on the two occasions that we were interested in using them. We undertook a dhow trip but even that was done for only one hour and against the advice by the operators of the dhow, who considered the trip to be unsafe (several of us got sick).
• Some activities, such as taking a boat trip to go kayaking in a mangrove area, are – at USD 50 per person – rather expensive. (Also this activity requires calm seas and a functioning boat, and is to be done at high tide; we never had all conditions in place during our 6-day stay.)
• The chalets/rooms are very basic. There are fly screens but no windows and not even curtains to keep out sunlight after 5:30 a.m. Doors cannot be locked. Lighting is poor, there is no coffee maker or fridge (or telephone to ring for ice), let alone a safe or TV or air conditioning. There is no bath tub, either. The outside shower is a “public affair”. Chalets sleep four people, but without any privacy outside the toilet. The chalets that are named “family units” have upstairs beds for kids that are dangerous for young children. The only positive elements to be reported about the chalets are that power was available 24/7 and that the double bed was large (kids beds were narrow). Depending on the location it can be a walk of almost 10 minutes from the chalet to the reception area, which itself is located a 10 minutes walk from the dining area.
• Food was quite ok, with the exception of breakfast, which was well below what can be expected for the prices charged. Lunch portions were too small for our taste, and requests for additional food could not be met. We got sick from the “drinking” water offered at the restaurant and had to switch to bottled water. Prices for drinks were high (a beer was MZM 100, roughly equivalent to USD 4, and wine starting at MZM 800, roughly equivalent to USD 35). The restaurant area had a serious fly problem.
• Summary: Nuarro sells itself with an “ECOLOGICAL” label, which – as is often the case – is an excuse to offer basic accommodation at luxury prices. The Lodge may be worth a 2 night-stopover were it not located so remotely, which indeed raises the question why one would travel so far to build a lodge at spot with so severe shortcomings.

I would recommend careful consideration before you book at Nuarro (it is certainly not worth anything near USD 500 a night, let alone the more than USD 700 that we were charged for our family of four per night.)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Horst P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

There is no way to explain only with words in which way this lodge takes you so far from the daily “rushing life” of the city. Located in a stunning place, amazing and helpful stuff, a lot of activities especially for diving and sealife, snorkeling, swim or relax on the beach!!
Cute chalets, really good food...sleeping with the "sound of the sea"..
Absolutely to suggest for a different unforgettable vacation!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Volpesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointe Noire, Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

Beautifully simple is the best way to describe Nuarro. This really is a 'kick back and chill out' venue in northern Mozambique that feels wonderfully off the grid, with a fun but occassionally bumpy charter airplane connection out of Nampula to get there. The owners have commendably tried to use local crafts and staff wherever possible to create this peaceful sanctuary on the edge of the Indian Ocean. The result is a small, couples-friendly resort that has an emphasis on relaxation with a nice side-line in water sports.

Diving is supposed to be excellent (we don't dive), straight off of the beach, but we can attest that the snorkelling at low and high tide over the volcanic-rock beach reef was excellent - all equipment is provided for your use so you don't need to pack this. Nuarro has an excellent empty beach, kept spotlessly clean by the staff - nicely done. The beach has a large tidal range so at low tide a wide rock platform is exposed, great for exploring, but take care with footware. Even at high tide, keep a watch on your footing during swimming as there are some sharp rocks here.

Other activities to do here are dhow-sailing trips, outstanding whale watching in season (what a show!), and guided walks in the local area to see the nearby fishing villages and old colonial lighthouse (a must) and the nearby saltpans (more for the exercise than the sightseeing); there are mountain bikes to jump on too.

Nuarro's timing is governed by the sun - the chalets don't have shutters so you really do wake up with the dawn (a little bit disconcerting at first but you soon get used to it). Rooms have no ac so they are reliant are the near constant sea-breezes for ventiliation - not sure what they'll be like in the wet season, but in September, they were beautifully cool. Indoor and outdoor showers are in all rooms, but the chalets are marked by a spartan simplicity that is actually very refreshing - these are not temples to modern-day consumerism, but that is the way we liked it.

Meals are served in the restaurant: a small but tasty breakfast buffet with hot entrees and then fixed lunches and dinners of excellent quality and taste - no mean feat considering the physical location of Nuarro. Limited diets can be catered for, but its probably a good idea to let them know this in advance.

One thing we discovered - as UK nationals, we were able to buy tourist visas at Nampula airport, but these were 85USD (cash only) and not the 25USD we had seen advertised - something to be aware of!

Nice touches is that the Beach Bar has free wifi so there is just enough connectivity to the outside world when you need it accompanied by excellent sundowners, but the real appeal of Nuarro is the remoteness of the place - a graceful step away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

Room Tip: All the chalets are identical - they are strung out between the beach bar at one end and the restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickDLuanda_Angola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Memba
0.0 mi away
Ibo Island Lodge
Ibo Island Lodge
#2 of 3 in Ibo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Quirimbas Archipelago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jardim dos Aloes
Jardim dos Aloes
#1 of 7 in Mozambique Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Shaquila Lodge
Shaquila Lodge
#5 of 7 in Nacala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nacala Plaza Business Design Hotel
0.0 mi away
Cinco Portas Pensao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nuarro Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuarro Lodge

Property: Nuarro Lodge
Address: Nuarro | Nangata, Memba 3120, Mozambique
Phone Number:
Location: Mozambique > Nampula Province > Memba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Memba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nuarro Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nuarro Lodge is located on the shores of the warm and azure Indian Ocean in northern Mozambique. Backed by the wild Mozambican bush, fringed with old and established baobab trees to the back; and fronted by the calm and aquamarine bay of Nanatha, the lodge is peppered along a more than 2km-long, powdery-white beach in the middle. Built from natural materials, by the local community, makes the environmentally sensitive Nuarro Lodge, the ideal venue in which to relax and unwind in these equally pristine surroundings. Nuarro Lodge is all about friendly people, top-class activities and fantastic food, showcasing a spectacular, pristine environment in the most responsible way possible! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, South African Hotels and Expedia so you can book your Nuarro Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nuarro Lodge Mozambique/Memba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing