We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More house guests than customers”
Review of Maison Maurice

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Biron
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison Maurice
Ranked #1 of 1 Biron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Peaceful location, immaculate rooms, good food and a very warm welcome. Nothing is too much trouble for Penny and Adrian. Lots of advice about where to go and what to do and a refreshing drink offered as soon as you arrive back from your day out. Pre dinner drinks and wine included in the price of the meal, which was excellent quality and value. All this and WIFI too.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank gjcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 101 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

A fantastic value fr money B&B, fantastic meals great hosts who eat with their guests giving it a warm friendly atmosphere. Location is totally relaxing, there are many attractions locally to visit including Pons itself offering an old town with cobbold streets

Room Tip: All rooms are exquistely finished with attention to detail
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is my first Tripadvisor review - I felt compelled to write after having had such a good stay with Penny and Adrian. The rooms were immaculate, the food excellent and, despite the great reviews, our expectations were still exceeded. Our visit was extremely relaxing and nothing was too much trouble for Penny and Adrian. They told us that their aim was to create a house/dinner party kind of atmosphere where guests felt more like friends than paying visitors and I certainly think they have achieved that. From the welcome with a cold drink in the garden to pre dinner drinks, a delicious four course meal and coffee, lots of help with how to best spend our one day in the region, a lift back from the local cognac distillery, hand written directions for the best route for the next leg of our journey south and refreshed water bottles for the drive, they were great hosts and deserve every success.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClareXD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Maison Maurice was the second leg of our holiday in the South West of France. Penny and Adrian made us most welcome from the minute we arrived. The location is perfect whether one wants to spend a day at the beach or a quiet walk in the vineyards or indeed a “degustation” at the nearby Cognac Distillery. Penny and Adrian were the perfect hosts, pampered us and armed us with lots of information for things to do in the region. The house was delightful, the food exquisite and the company most charming. When we next visit the region Maison Maurice will be on top of our list, we only hope that they will put up with our demanding ways

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathilde Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Maison Maurice is an absolute hidden treasure and if you haven't been there you don't know what you are missing! I was a little nervous about B & B as we usually stay in a gite. But Penny and Adrian are the most delightful couple and their house is just beautiful - spotlessly clean, wonderfully comfortable - (I swear they are the best beds in France!) and amazingly helpful and attentive hosts. We booked in for a meal the first evening, and enjoyed it so much - not just the gorgeous food, but the wonderful company - that we joined our hosts each time they cooked a meal. Far better than even the most classy restaurant! The breakfast of delicious yoghurt, fresh fruit, wonderful breads and croissants and yummy preserves set us up for a day of exploring - armed with recommendations from Penny and Adrian. It was our son's birthday while we were staying and he was treated not only to a delicious chocolate cake (for breafast!!) but was seranaded by Molly the dog - truly an experience not to missed! We loved every minute of our 7 day stay and will certainly be going back - as soon as we get the opportunity!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patisseriefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is the benchmark. My 2nd stay lived up to everything from the first and more. Thanks Adrian and Penny. Wonderful hosts lovely beds and great breakfasts that keep you going and if you book dinner you will be disappointed when you choose to dine elsewhere as you will already have had the best of the region. Their knowledge for the region is great so at breakfast you get to simply plan out what you might do today with directions maps, booklets and even a snack for on the way if you choice. we'll be back

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Janine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Excellent place to stay while exploring the Bordeaux wine region

Just a short distance from the motorway from St Malo to Bordeaux, with easy to follow instructions from the motorway.
Adrian and Penny Are knowledgeable and friendly hosts. the food we sampled was excellent, both tea, supper and breakfast were superb with local and home-made produce. The accommodation is warm and comfortable with 'special welcoming touches'. The decor is stylish, very well thought out and decorated to a very high standard.
We felt as though we were treated as old friends who had dropped by to stay for a few days and despite the single night booking were given greatly appreciated advice on routes and things to do and see in the surrounding area.
This would be a great holiday base to explore the wine-making areas nearby.

Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annedee29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maison Maurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Maurice

Address: 11 rue de la Croix, 17800 Biron, Pons, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Pons > Biron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Biron
Price Range: $60 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably dating from around 1850 this sympathetically restored farmhouse, is now a charming bed and breakfast with modern amenities, including wi fi.Set in the countryside but just 10 minutes from the A10 autoroute Maison Maurice offers four, centrally heated bedrooms all with ensuite facilities, plus free, private parking within the grounds of the property. Large terrace, pretty garden and countryside walks from the doorstep, together with a warm welcome and helpful information about the area and all it has to offer. Rooms from 75 euros per night. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing