We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family tea”

The Royal Oak at Riley Green
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Hoghton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $24
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Disappointing service last Saturday here. We walked into the bar to order and there was a female behind the bar drying glasses, she saw us but did not move to serve us. I had to approach her to ask for the menu. We then went back to the bar to order the food. This time it was another staff member, in all honesty she looked like she didn't care whether she served us or not. Quite a surly unapproachable attitude, made us feel like she was doing us a favour. The food was ok but vastly overpriced for what we had, certainly not worth it. Customers will not return if the staff do not up their game.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank suziq083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (925)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 925 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited on Saturday 14th September a table of 10 for a friend's birthday. Absolutely amazing food as always. Everyone on the table enjoyed the food. Will definitely be back soon. Service was brilliant from everyone.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank kazzachadwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited on a Monday, food not to same standard as believe owner/chef has got another restaurant. The staff were slow in taking order and removing plates, girl passed our table twice after delivering food to another table,.young man from bar brought drinks to a near by table did not ask if we wanted more or did not remove plates. Mains were removed but not asked did we want a sweet, we had to catch her attention, we chose our sweets and waited and waited. In the end we got up and paid, our dinning experiance was not good as a child of about 3 was leading an Australian Ridgeback ( for readers who do not know this is a big dog its head is table height) no control and was around when eating. Getting in the way of serving staff Mother kept telling her but child paid no attention , they then took lead off her she then started screaming loudly so they gave her the lead back.
Dogs should be under control, no attempt by staff to ask owners to control dog and child

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank ratty666cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019 via mobile

Yesterday evening my boyfriends family and I visited the Royal Oak (we had booked in advance) for a birthday meal.

The comfy country pub had a lovely atmosphere and all the staff we came across were lovely!

The food was simply incredible. I ordered the black pudding off the specials menu, the cheese and onion pie and the sticky toffee pudding. My boyfriend ordered the ham hock and Lancashire cheese terrine, the pork belly on the specials menu and the rhubarb and pear crumble. All was faultless and so so delicious!

We are planning to come back for a Christmas meal as we were so impressed. Thank you for a brilliant evening The Royal Oak!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank lf1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2019

We have eaten here several times, our friends who we were with on Saturday evening, had even been for lunch on the Tuesday as the food is so good and the specials menu is as good as any restaurant and in many cases better. Two of us had one of the fish specials, Hake and the other two of us rib eye steak which was cooked perfectly followed by a lovely creme brulee. Recommend you book in advance so as not to be disappointed.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris19_07_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Oak at Riley Green also viewed

Blackburn, Lancashire
 
Pleasington, Blackburn
 

Been to The Royal Oak at Riley Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing