We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food”

The Royal Oak at Riley Green
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Hoghton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $24
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Preston, Lancs
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

My husband & I called in on Sunday 20th July for the first time. We ordered the salt & pepper squid starter and goats cheese off the specials and both were delicious. For mains I had the hake fillet from the specials board and it was cooked to perfection & served with crushed new potatoes, fennel & samphire - fabulous. My husband went for the steak & kidney suet pudding with mushy peas & chips cooked in beef dripping. Man alive it was fantastic!
We will definitely return as £40 for two such great courses plus 3 drinks we think is very reasonable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsrobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    168
    50
    33
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North West
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic second visit”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Went on a Friday lunchtime had a nice atmosphere. Hubby had bacon chop on special - cooked to perfection. My fish pie perfect with lots of fresh veg. Hubby happy with real ales. A cut above normal pub grub in our opinion

Helpful?
1 Thank Chorley_Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lack of choice for vegetarians”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

My husband and I ate at The Royal Oak this evening. On the way out, we picked up a card asking for comments on TripAdvisor. so here they are. We have eaten here 4 times since it has been taken over by the owners of the Red Cat. Positive comments first. The ambience is lovely. It is peaceful, and we are so pleased that the owners haven't fallen into the trap of thinking that everyone needs background music to enjoy a meal. It is so refreshing to eat a meal without the intrusion of music that you may not like, The staff are very friendly and attentive. Our meals were very good indeed. Not so positive comments. My husband is not a vegetarian but I am. There was nothing vegetarian on the specials board and very little on the main menu. If you are a veggie, you can have Greek Salad, a Marguerita Pizza or Cheese and Onion Pie. The pie is vegetarian but you have to check. Chips, which you may expect to be vegetarian are cooked in beef fat. If you mention that you are a veggie, there are variations to meat menus, but I really feel that with the growing numbers of vegetarians, it is such a shame that not more effort is made to make us feel as if our custom is valued. We have spoken to the Manager, a very pleasant man,about this on every visit and he has passed our comments on, but nothing has changed. The previous owners always ensured that there were two or three veggie choices on the specials board and this is why we took friends and family on many occasions. When sharing a family meal, you have to be assured that everyone's needs will be accomodated. Hopefully, the owner and the chef will take notice of these comments. The Royal Oak has always been a favourite haunt. We have eaten here for many years. I want to continue to visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A wonderful evening with Friends”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I was taken here by friends who live locally, and what a wonderful evening we had.

The atmosphere is warm and welcoming, the food delicious and the service was great too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Just excellent”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Not been for a while but went last night to a half empty restaurant - what a shame - it was spot on - service, food and ambience were faultless - going back soon

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BARGEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Oak at Riley Green also viewed

 
Chorley, Lancashire
 

Been to The Royal Oak at Riley Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing