We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Ghost Tour

My partner and I many years ago have taken part on the day time tour of this magnificent building... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
linh0w
,
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Creepy tour!

Hoghton Tower is a great activity for all the family! Me and my family went for the 'Creepy Tour... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Rose3116
,
England, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 458 reviews
  
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveler rating
300
103
22
15
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
103
22
15
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour loin farmers market school trip house tour dolls houses re enactment fascinating history stately home charles dickens king james gift shop manor house afternoon tea beautiful building banqueting hall guide eric
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 455 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I many years ago have taken part on the day time tour of this magnificent building, but on 29/10/2018 we attend the evening on the Ghost Tour. We had a 2 course meal before we started the tour, this is in with the price of the ticket, we had to purchase our drinks separately. There was a good attendance for the tour. We were given a talk about health and safety and some of the past sightings of ghosts, this information was passed on by one of the tour guides before we started the tour. Depending on whether you are a sceptic or a believer in ghosts, it is a very interesting tour to go on. I would advise you wear, especially this time of the year, warm clothing and sensible flat shoes or boots as some of the stone floor are very slightly uneven. The tour was great and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

1  Thank linh0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hoghton Tower is a great activity for all the family!

Me and my family went for the 'Creepy Tour!' as at the time it was coming up to Halloween! We had a tour guide who was very friendly and good with the kids!

There is also a little cafe near the ticket station where it sells food and hot drinks!

Top Tips...

• get wrapped up (it's chilly in there!)
• there are steep steps so if not fond of them, be aware of that

2  Thank Rose3116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we received a buya gift voucher of our son for a tour and afternoon tea we booked sunday 14th October.

very good tour very informative and a lovely afternoon tea also wonderful views

Thank Anne499520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018

Having passed Hoghton Tower (or rather the bottom of its very long drive)countless times over the decades, I thought I'd pop in at last although it was a rather damp day not conducive to wandering around the grounds! No sign of the family - they were away on a Continental holiday - I should have phoned earlier! However, all was not lost - Eric, the ubiquitous guide, was in situ under the gatehouse archway for the 2pm tour! We'd arrived 1.05pm just too late for the 1pm tour so we made for the café for a tiny snack. The café is quite a pleasant place to sojourn at least for a little while and useful when its raining! Eric was a natural at guiding tourists around such a venue as Hoghton Tower, he was not only very informative but also rather subtly amusing. The gynaecologist wife of Bernard de Hoghton who'd inherited Hoghton Tower, comes from Florence, Italy - which explained the huge Italian tapestry hanging over the first staircase we encountered. There was the obvious reference to James l and the story of his knighting of the loin of beef in the banqueting hall - although I gather sirloin was spelt surloyne in the C16 from old French surlonge/surloigne (over loin) so some debate there. King William lll (Duke of Orange) also visited the residence. These visits from monarchs are not always welcome (certainly not financially since the then owner spent a year in Fleet Prison due to debts and burning down your house was cheaper than entertaining the King and his entourage). William Shakespeare stayed here and was given considerable early local support with his early writing career before returning to Stratford upon Avon and marrying his older wife Ann Hathaway - the rest is literally history. Charles Dickens noticed the very run down state of the place well after the family had gone to live at Walton Hall, Walton le Dale (which is no more following a devastating fire) - helping to incite the family to slowly restore Hoghton Tower again. Eric showed us some wonderful rooms and bedrooms - the banqueting hall which entertained kings and now wedding parties when can be you own king and queen to each other, the fabulous ballroom and plush drawing and lounge rooms etc. We were taken down into the bowels/underground passageways including an end of corridor one room dungeon with a mock up couple probably delighting visiting children today - as well as the very deep well which still offers perfect drinking water (if necessary). One point has to be deducted regarding our visit: We noticed £1.50 guide books for sale at the wooden ticket kiosk just inside the courtyard and decided to buy one on the way out for a change instead of carrying it around the tour - unfortunately the kiosk was closed before our normally 1hr 2pm tour had finished and yet there should have been a 3pm tour before the venue closed at 4pm. Staff were locking up after us as we went through the last parts of the building. Even the stables gift shop was closed - no sign of life anywhere. A little disappointing as we'd been part of a guided tour and were out of the building some time before 3.30pm (Sunday 26th August). As with certain other places, internal photography was not allowed so a guidebook would have served as a useful memento to take home with us. Grab your guide books etc on the way in if its after lunchtime! It is indeed a great place to visit, I've heard a lot about it being a "local" and may be a little biased as I would love to give it 5/5 marks but sadly it wasn't our day - even the doll's house was in almost pitch darkness due to a lighting failure - nobody's fault and the poor guide tried his little torch! It wasn't meant to be.

1  Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

Visited on 4 October and went on the 11am tour. We've all been to historic houses and been underwhelmed by lots of badly researched information poorly presented on boards which overwhelm the surroundings. Not here! Here you get Eric, as Lancashire as the hills with an accent to match. A veritable walking encyclopaedia making the whole building and its history come alive; salient facts interspersed with a well placed, and relevant, story. Placing your hand on the table where "Sir Loin" was knighted provided a real connection with history. It turned wet so no time for the beautiful gardens, I left richer for the experience - thanks Eric!

2  Thank GC0nn0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

The tower is literally a wonderful place to go. castle-like building view is soo amazingly beautiful. It has cute rose garden, the drive to the tower and its serenity- all gives you a great pleasure.
recommended place.

Thank mamoonaarshad19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

Visited on 4 October 2018 and went on the guided tour.

The tour was conducted by Eric and it was a fascinating and interesting talk which he gave. It lasted about 90 minutes and gave a wide ranging history of the Towet and its inhabitants as well as Kings, Queen and people who had visited through the ages.

Well recommended. Good value for money.

Thank knowles159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018

As you drive along the long but incredibly straight drive, the stunning castle-like building comes into view. The Tower, used as a look-out, was destroyed many years ago but there remains this ancient, fortified, hill-top manor house which occupies a commanding position, 650ft above sea leveI. It lies mid-way between Preston and Blackburn, with magnificent views of Lancashire, the Lake District and North Wales. Hoghton Tower is the only true baronial hall in Lancashire. Our tour guide, who was new to the job, was excellent. She presented the facts about the house in an interesting and humorous manner. The 90 minutes passed very quickly because what we saw and were told was so fascinating. At the end, we enjoyed coffee and cake in the extremely pleasant cafe. Well worth a visit.

1  Thank grahamrmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

We had a wonderful visit to the Tower - the tour was fabulous and well worth it. The guide and everyone there were knowledgable and so very helpful.

1  Thank TheeandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018

Attended a family wedding here and it was absolutely perfect in every way, first time I have been given bubbles to blow over the couple as they walked down, after the wedding service, between a 'tunnel' of their guests. It was lovely. Food was excellent and staff most attentive. We had a lovely day.

Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews