We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute but expensive” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beeston Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoghton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beeston Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hoghton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cute but expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

Beeston manor is great for an event where your attention is drawn away from the fact they rip you off so much. The rooms are extremely basic and it makes it hard to see why they charge so much. Overall there are many better places. Give this one a miss.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric_Taunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_bickerstaffe, Owner at Beeston Manor, responded to this review, July 13, 2010
We disagree with the comments in the review. The family in question have chosen to give an incorrect date of their stay which was in fact on June 26 when they were guests at a wedding. We did our best to accommodate the family who attended with more children than we had expected. The family have chosen not to state what they paid for their stay which was not expensive or a rip off. Maybe they have chosen not to specify what they paid because it was a more than reasonable amount charged. We in fact reduced the cost of their stay considerably. There is no detail backing up the poor rating for cleanliness etc which again we refute. To assist owners and guests, the review should have contained more detail in order for a response to be made. The family who hosted the wedding were more than satisfied with their big day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    8
    3
    9
    2
See reviews for
73
36
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2010

We would like to thank Janet & John & Karen and all the staff at Beeston Manor for making our wedding day perfect in every way.
The food and wine were excellent and many of our guests told us it is the best food they have ever tasted at a wedding.
All the staff are extremely polite, friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble.
The rooms are beautifully presented and spotlessly clean.
We can also recommend Ernie Melling as a fabulous photographer and Mark & Rob of Dancefloor Couture who stage managed our evening reception brilliantly.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WMark444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2010

Had our wedding their last week & a completely faultless service by all the beeston staff . We felt privileged to be the first to use the room upstairs.Many people staying over were treated like family & the food for the wedding breakfast & evening party was beautiful & excellently presented .Good comments were received about the wine as well . John & Janet went out of their way to make it a perfect day for us .We'd wanted a relaxed wedding & we got that as well .The bedrooms were beautifully presented & finished . We'll be back for our anniversary i'm sure

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjrgames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LANCASHIRE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2010

We recently got married at Beeston Manor in January 2010- we had originally booked to get married in the lakes but with 7 weeks to go disaster struck and our hotel was flooded, we frantically searched for a suitable replacement venue-viewing many that just were not competing with what we thought was the perfect wedding venue, then we came across Beeston Manor on line
My now-husband went to view first and rang to inform me that he thought it was "the one", I visited and agreed that the homely and comfortable surroundings, high quality finish, and friendly owners are exactly what we had been looking for, if you like a property bursting with original character,detailed with a chic modern feel, then Beeston is the place for you!
The wedding was amazing and all of our guests had a great day-it was a party from 12pm till 12am!
The food and wine was delicious and EVERYONE loved the fish and chip supper!!
John, Janet, Karen, Julie and the rest of the Beeston Family made our day so special and would recommend the venue to anyone!!
The only negative feedback from our guests was that there wasnt any tea/coffee making facilities in rooms and as amazing as the rooms where-a tv was missing

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireShugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

1st visit - found accommodation in lovely setting, room clean & fresh but missing shower, TV & basic tea/ coffee facilities. Staff & management overall friendly & polite although lacking some experience. Excellent food quality and reasonable value. Minor criticisms excusable given short length of time facility had been operating

2nd visit - returned for sunday lunch booked 3 wks in advance, friendly receptionist recognised booking name. travelled 40miles to find no booking honoured. Very poor attitude & professionalism from both staff & management. Disappointingly apology and attempted resolve lacked any real sincererity.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Straighttalking123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_bickerstaffe, Owner at Beeston Manor, responded to this review, July 13, 2010
On this rare occasion there was unfortunately an oversight regarding the booking. On the day in question, staff and management did apologize for the error made. Understandably the guest was annoyed and at the time, no matter what was said would have resolved the situation.
We did however telephone the guest a couple of days later to explain what had happened and also what events we had on the day of the booking which made it impossible to honour the time the meal had been booked. We made a full apology an offered a complementary return meal which was not taken up. We can only apologize and did our best to make amends which unfortunately was declined. This had been the only occasion such an error has been made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

We held our civil ceremony at Beeston Manor on 19th December 2009. From the initial moment we walked in we knew this was the venue we wanted. The staff could not have been more helpful right up to the wedding day (including Jon cutting down Holly from his forest and drying out rose petals he had hand picked for us!) The day was the perfect day in the perfect setting with excellent food and drink (ordered to our personal taste!) Would highly recommend this venue to all.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cuerdenlakedex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2010

We attended Beeston Manor for a one day conference from the University of Central Lancashire. The facilities were perfect, and the staff were extremely helpful. The day went very well, and the food was fantastic. I would recommend it for any conference or social event.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EBissell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoghton
1.8 mi away
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel
2.3 mi away
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
3.1 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Preston South
8.2 mi away
Bartle Hall Country Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Preston South (Craven Drive) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beeston Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beeston Manor

Property: Beeston Manor
Address: Quaker Brook Lane, Hoghton PR5 0RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Hoghton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hoghton
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beeston Manor is a family run and owned business set in 140 acres of land at Hoghton near Preston. We have fourteen en-suite bedrooms available, a licence to hold civil ceremonies, a restaurant and two function rooms which have the backdrop view of stunning panoramic views. The venue is also close to the M6, M61 and M65 motorway networks and also has the facility of a helicopter pad. We hold the awards for 'Regional Finalist' in the 2015 and 2016 Wedding Industry Awards and 2015 Northern Wedding Awards, and achieved 'Runner-Up' and 'WINNER' in the Great Northern Wedding Awards 2015 and 2016. We also have outstanding reviews on TripAdvisor. Beeston Manor is truly a venue to remember. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beeston Manor Hotel Hoghton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing