We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“What a pleasure!”

Grill & Grain at the Boatyard
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grill & Grain at the Boatyard
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoghton
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“What a pleasure!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here recently for a nearby wedding and were delighted with the room we were given.
The Boatyard is in an excellent location for the motorway and also the canal and other nearby attractions.

Our room had plenty of features, free WiFi and a fantastic shower! The bed was extremely comfy and ensured a good nights sleep.

The free breakfast which came with our booking really set us up for the day.
Would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swiss_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue K, General Manager at Grill & Grain at the Boatyard, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Hi
Thank you for your kind words, really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.Hope to see you again here soon.
Thank you
Kind regards
Sue Ketley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    31
    16
    16
    13
See reviews for
35
52
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

A lot of work has gone into making this a friendly and comfortable place. The inside is scattered with comfy seats, light oak beams criss cross across a white plaster ceiling and old canal prints litter the walls. A large car park between the main pub/restaurant and the canal could spoil the views a bit, but the sweeping veranda is elevated and perfect on a hot summers day, winding it's way around the outside of the pub towards the old boatyard.

It was of course raining when we arrived. Heavy, cold, hard rain. We were off to Hoghton tower in the evening for an open air concert (James Blunt): oh good. We grabbed a key from behind the (busy) bar and ran across the car park to our alloted room (set apart motel style)- with the young lad from behind the bar outsprinting us through the downpour. He threw the door open to reveal a warm, ample room with everything you could need for a nights stay - comfy seats and table by the window, big wardrobe, huge shower, seperate bath (and heated mirror so it doesn't steam up!), big bed (hard matress - or is it me getting old), kettle and Wifi and a patio outside each room with seats and table for those hot evenings (I wish).

We arrived back from the concert just before 11, wet and cold and in need of a drink - the bar had closed early that night as there was a party for breakfast in the morning. We got served OK (residents privilege) but another group (on a canal trip) were refused. The bar staff were there, the beer was there, the seats were there, the breakfast places were already done, the customers were there... so serve them. It all rather spoilt the atmosphere.

We had a good nights sleep (no noise from the road - the rain probably muffled it) and then had breakfast in the tea/coffee room (seperate from the bar and a delight - as was Susan who served us). Read the (complimentary) papers over a truly magnificent full English (could have done with some cereal and fruit though?)

So: a friendly, comfortable venue next to the canal, whether you want an overnight stop, pub grub, or earlymorning tea coffee and cakes. Or just a drink on a hot summer's day to take in the view.

We left ... in the rain.

We will use the Boatyard again next time we visit - (good value we thought) - just hope the sun's out.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris-Greville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue K, General Manager at Grill & Grain at the Boatyard, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Hi

Thank you for your review following your stay here. Sorry we couldn't provide the sunshine for you! Hopefully it will be choose to come and stay with us again?
Thank you
Kind regards
Sue Ketley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Loved my experience here lovely waitresses named Nicole and Megan would recommend anyone to eat and stay here I will be visiting again the food was lovely and felt the rooms where very clean and tidy I visited on a Wednesday I had the half a chicken and my partner had a burger and all the food were 5* also the desserts were amazing over all my experience here was very pleasant and I shall be visiting again very soon. I haven't got one bad thing to say about my time here as I really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shannongodden97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue K, General Manager at Grill & Grain at the Boatyard, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi
Thank you for your review and your lovely comments about 2 of our staff. I will make sure that I tell them about your comments. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed all of your meal here too - our new menu is proving to be very popular (especially the Rotisserie Chicken)! Hope that you come again in the very near future.
Thank you
Kind regards
Sue Ketley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We came here today as we drove past on our way to Chorley (were not local) and decided to call for lunch on the off chance. The pub/hotel is a very pleasent place situated along the canal and has lovely views. The bar/resteraunt area was very nice and clean and the staff were very helpful. The food I would say was average, and a tad expensive. Basic pub grub, nothing special but none the less it arrived in good time and was well cooked.
The setting of the place is what makes it a bit special. Its lovely to sit outside and watch the boats go by in the sunshine.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beaniesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue K, General Manager at Grill & Grain at the Boatyard, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi
Thank you for your comments on your visit here.
When we devised our new menu, we did research it carefully, right down to sourcing local suppliers, and going for quality rather than quantity. I hope that you did enjoy your meal - and that you come back to see us again soon. Hopefully when the sun shines!
Thank you
Kind regards
Sue Ketley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

The Boatyard is a pub by a canal with separate purpose built motel-style rooms. The rooms are quite nice. The Lancashire countryside is beautiful. However, I was kept awake until midnight by the noise from the resident next door and the noise of speeding vehicles on the nearby road throughout the night - not the fault of the hotel. The food was average - the sort of food you get in a pub chain like Whetherspoons. I'm not convinced I would stay again - maybe with earplugs and maybe if I chose something else from the menu and it was better.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank stantonattree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue K, General Manager at Grill & Grain at the Boatyard, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi
Thank you for your comments on your stay - sorry about the resident next door - and being a feeder road to the M65 - the adjacent road can be busy at certain parts of the day.
I would assure you that all our food is cooked from fresh to order - but not knowing what you had - I cannot really comment.
I hope that you chose to come and stay with us again :)
Thank you
Kind regards
Sue Ketley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2014

What a wonderful place this is. Stayed here on several occasions and the rooms are always as you'd expect... Crisp, clean and modern. Had a few business meetings whilst I was there which we held in the coffee shop in the morning (best full english for miles) then into the restaurant in the evening.. Food was superb, staff are really friendly and service is impeccable! we shall see you soon!

Room Tip: i have personally stayed in all rooms and can comfortably recommend each and everyone of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue K, General Manager at Grill & Grain at the Boatyard, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hi

Really really pleased to read that you enjoy your stays here and the food and the staff. Great to read such good comments.

See you again soon.
Thank you
Kind regards
Sue Ketley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed for a long weekend while attending a wedding at nearby Samlesbury Hall. Both our
rooms were modern, clean and beds extremely comfortable. Situated right next to the Canal.
Nothing was too much for the staff, who were friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were well
cooked and piping hot. Arrived late on the Friday evening as the restaurant was closing but we were still able to be served with a full menu available. I had the poached salmon and prawn salad
which was very good. We would recommend this Inn as a really good alternative to the usual
Premier Inns that were on offer.

Susy & Les

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue K, General Manager at Grill & Grain at the Boatyard, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hi

Really pleased that you chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed not only your stay here but the meals that you had too!

I hope that you come back to stay with us again one day.
Thank you
Kind regards
Sue Ketley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoghton
0.0 mi away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#2 of 13 in Bolton
1,244 reviews
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Samlesbury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Royal Oak at Keswick
The Royal Oak at Keswick
#60 of 175 in Keswick
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grill & Grain at the Boatyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grill & Grain at the Boatyard

Property: Grill & Grain at the Boatyard
Address: 2 Bolton Road, Hoghton PR5 0SP, England (Formerly The Boatyard)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Hoghton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoghton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grill & Grain at the Boatyard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to a fire. It will reopen when repairs are complete. Our canalside location is a winner in the sunshine - sit back and relax with a long, cool drink as you watch the narrowboats float quietly by. And if the weather's not quite so pleasant, we've got loads of room inside with a choice of comfy sofas or dining chairs and tables.With great value food made on-site from locally sourced ingredients, our menu has something for everyone and the quality of our food is superior.Our bar has four beers on hand pump and we've got a great selection of lagers, cider, wines and soft drinks.And there's no rush to drive home after an evening at The Boatyard - why not stay in one of our six recently decorated and well appointed rooms.Then wake up to a hearty breakfast and grab a latte in our coffee shop before leaving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grill & Grain at the Boatyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boatyard Hotel Preston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing