We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Boat Yard Inn”

Grill & Grain at the Boatyard
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grill & Grain at the Boatyard
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoghton
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed for a long weekend while attending a wedding at nearby Samlesbury Hall. Both our
rooms were modern, clean and beds extremely comfortable. Situated right next to the Canal.
Nothing was too much for the staff, who were friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were well
cooked and piping hot. Arrived late on the Friday evening as the restaurant was closing but we were still able to be served with a full menu available. I had the poached salmon and prawn salad
which was very good. We would recommend this Inn as a really good alternative to the usual
Premier Inns that were on offer.

Susy & Les

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue K, General Manager at Grill & Grain at the Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Hi

Really pleased that you chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed not only your stay here but the meals that you had too!

I hope that you come back to stay with us again one day.
Thank you
Kind regards
Sue Ketley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 140 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Visited today for a meal as a family.
the entire place seemed to be run by one direction and little mix...didnt see a single adult. they seemed to care more about flirting and chatting than serving.
the food took an age to arrive and when it did it was of reasonable quality
people were walking out as the food took so long and clueless staff were bringing food out to empty tables then we could see them all fighting over the wasted meals in the kitchen.
if you do choose to go do not sit near the kitchen as it will put you right off.
couldnt even get the bill right.
will never ever be visiting again.
waste of a sunday outing and money.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank bectild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue K, General Manager at Grill & Grain at the Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Hi

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your recent visit here.

Whilst I can probably understand your frustration about your visit - I do not think it professional or fair to make personal comments about our staff.

We were aware of the people leaving (opposite you) because of their child.

Yours sincerely
Sue Ketley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed a few weeks ago and on arrival were shown to our room by a delightful young lady. Room was very nicely presented but the heating was not working! This is where it all went a bit wrong. The poor girl didn't know what to do and there was no manager on site, she tried calling her managers but could not get hold of them. eventually she tracked someone down and we were moved to a different room.
While all this was going on there was only one young girl left to deal with the customers.
Our meal was ok and the new room lovely but there really does need to be more staff and and someone in charge. Not the staffs fault this is a management issue.

    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Restaurant Only

Unable to use the coffee bar/lounge (private function) we selected a table in the restaurant.
The barmaid? didn't know what wines were on offer, she simply searched for each one I named. Baked potato with beans and cheese proved to be very watery and tasteless. The "Gourmet Burger" served on a thin plank, looked like a small child's portion. The coffee, when it eventually arrived, was luke-warm. The sweet arrived after the coffee.

At least two other tables were questioning their orders and sending food back to the kitchen.

This establishment has been taken off my list until I see better reports here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrSimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Had a family meal here on Sunday. Great carvery with a good selection of meat and veg. Also excellent choice of real ales. Specials menu looked very tempting would defiantly return to try those . Added bonus of being situated in a lovely location next to the canal.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank PaulT797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue K, General Manager at Grill & Grain at the Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Hi

Thank you for your comments about our Carvery - I am glad that you enjoyed your meals here and that you liked our location. We hope that you will come and visit with us again.
Thank you
Kind regards
Sue Ketley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed here recently to see a comedy act in Blackburn town.

Good points: This hotel is in a picturesque & quiet area but still close enough to Blackburn town (10 min drive - £8 taxi)
Staff very friendly & room was warm & clean, basically had everything in that we needed for a night. The rain forrest shower was the best i've ever had. The full English breakfast was nice!

Bad points: Beds were really uncomfortable.Prefer a firm bed where as this one was the complete opposite.Suppose this comes down to personal taste.Also our double bed was 2 singles pushed together as apposed to an actual double which made it even more uncomfortable as beds kept moving apart.You have to speak to the manager at the adjacent pub/restaurant to check in & i can see this being a problem in very busy periods.

All in all it's actually a decent hotel in a great area but we personally wouldn't return unless we stayed in a room with a firmer bed.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JeMor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue K, General Manager at Grill & Grain at the Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Hello
Thank you for your comments which I have taken on board. All of our beds are twins, which we do put together when a Double is required. Only having 6 bedrooms, we always have a mix of people staying with us, business men, couples, friends etc, . However, we are always happy to receive peoples comments and are always looking at ways to enhance our accommodation offer.

As the rooms do belong to the Restaurant/Pub, this is where we ask our guests to check in as there is no where else for them to do it.

Thank you
Kind regards
Sue Ketley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed here for one night .Very friendly staff. Was greeted by Rachel who showed us to our room and explained everything to us, restaurant times n breakfast time.Very good service ,staff were very helpful and polite. Room and en-suite were very spacious . evening meal and breakfast were lovely ,It was nice that you could come and go as you wanted without having to keep passing a reception area . We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria73O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue K, General Manager at Grill & Grain at the Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Hi

Thank your for your lovely comments about your stay with us. We always try to ensure that all our guests are comfortable and well looked after and it would appear that on this occasion, we did just that.
Thank you
We hope to see you again in the future,
Kind regards
Sue Ketley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grill & Grain at the Boatyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grill & Grain at the Boatyard

Address: 2 Bolton Road, Hoghton PR5 0SP, England (Formerly The Boatyard)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Hoghton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoghton
Price Range: $86 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grill & Grain at the Boatyard 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to a fire. It will reopen when repairs are complete. Our canalside location is a winner in the sunshine - sit back and relax with a long, cool drink as you watch the narrowboats float quietly by. And if the weather's not quite so pleasant, we've got loads of room inside with a choice of comfy sofas or dining chairs and tables.With great value food made on-site from locally sourced ingredients, our menu has something for everyone and the quality of our food is superior.Our bar has four beers on hand pump and we've got a great selection of lagers, cider, wines and soft drinks.And there's no rush to drive home after an evening at The Boatyard - why not stay in one of our six recently decorated and well appointed rooms.Then wake up to a hearty breakfast and grab a latte in our coffee shop before leaving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grill & Grain at the Boatyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boatyard Hotel Preston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing