We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
$73
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/25/21
Hotels.com$94
Expedia.com$94
Booking.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveler rating
54
40
18
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
54
40
18
8
5
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 125 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed there from 28th to 30th June 2012 excellent resort by the Sea, the sea waters are clear with very good beach almost private, the spa at the hotel is also very good, service and staff curtsey is also good. The only sujjestion they should use English for their telephone services as what ever it mutters in Thai you cant understand and have to go by your instinct only, secondly they should have some shuttle bus to Pattaya.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rakeshverdia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We live in Bangkok which is currently under the threat of flooding. So, to escape town we, along with 1000's of other Bangkokian's decided to head for the beach. There weren't many places left available to book and that's why we ended up at the Dor-Shada. In one word, awful. We have stayed in many places and can honestly say this is one of the worst hotels we've ever stayed in. The following is a list of everything that went wrong over 2 days. It is copied from the letter of complaint that we gave to the online booking agency and the hotel:

- We requested connecting adjoining rooms. The hotel advised us first that this was fine, but they would need to prepare the rooms.
-We waited an hour in their restaurant and used the time to feed the kids. They had Pizza on the menu, but the chef then said that they had run out of pizza's. We ordered a toasted cheese sandwich instead. For our course we ordered a side dish of stir fried vegetables which never came, but they tried to charge us for. My daughters toasted sandwich did not come and we had to repeatedly ask for it. After everyone had finished eating and dishes had been cleared, it came. It was not toasted, but a club sandwich of ham and sliced cheese. My daughter did not like it (as it was not what she ordered). She ate the chips, but we were charged for the whole dish. None of the staff speak english (except one older guy, but he was not there much), so communication was an issue.
-All the staff have badges saying trainee.
-We went to the room to discover that they were adjoining, but with no connecting doors. This is no use as we have two young children and if they wake in the middle of the night, and want to come to mummy and daddy's room they cant be wandering in the corridor of a hotel. We went back to the front desk to be told that the hotel has NO connecting rooms. We advised that the person who had checked us in had told us differently, but the new lady asked who we saw and we answered no idea, don't you keep a record of who checks people in ? No.
-She moved us tot he pool villa and agreed to the same price after we complained for a period of time and after talking to the duty manager. They agreed to a spare bed to be moved to the room for no additional charge.
-We moved in. Later we tried to use the bath to give the kids a bath after being in the swimming pool. First of all we could not turn on the water as this was a fancy whirlpool bath. -After 20 minutes of following the instructions we gave up and called the front desk. The girl who came up also could not get the bath to work, so 10 minutes later she called the engineer. They spent a time on the radio before he finally came up. He went into the panel underneath the bath and turned of the electrics and turned them on again. Now we had bath water. He left. She left. The kids started to complain that the water was cold. Call back, both come up again. They both start trying to get the water hot. During this process the water turned brown and we got the kids out of the bath. We tried the shower and the water stank like sewage. The engineers spent the next 30 minutes getting the water to run hot - the only way to do this was to have a trickle of water coming out. I advised that at that rate it would take half an hour to fill the bath. Lots of smiles. I sent them out. My wife took a shower (now that it did not smell so bad) and half way through the hot water stopped, so she had to wash her hair in a cold shower. Then the water came on again and after waiting for an age for it to fill I had a bath (as didn't trust the shower).
-Half way through my bath the lights in the Villa went out. Pitch black. My wife got the torch and checked next door, lights on. I told her from the bath where the trip switch was and she flicked the switches back for us to get power again.
-After the earlier drama in their restaurant we decided to eat out. But due to the delays, we set off at 7:45 pm. My youngest was so tired that he actually spent in the restaurant and did not eat anything.
-We came back and put the kids to bed and went onto the balcony for a glass of wine. There is a nice looking day bed there, but no cushions, so although it looks nice it is really uncomfortable.
-My daughter comes out onto the balcony saying that the bathroom is making funny noises which had woken her and she was scared. We go inside to find that the bath has switched itself on, water is running and the whirlpool blower is blowing away even though there is no water in the bath. We push the off switch and turn to put my daughter to bed. Get no further than the door of the bathroom and it switches itself back on again. Switch it off. 5 minutes later it goes on again. switch off again and this time it stays off.
-Breakfast in the morning is poor with little to eat if you don't eat bread or eggs (like me). My breakfast consists of salad, bacon and mushy boiled rice - not very appetizing. Where are the salad cured meats, the smoked salmon, what about baked beans or sauteed potatoes ? None in evidence. Poor spread for breakfast.
-The door keys don't work. You have to try 10 times to open the door.

So all in all we cannot believe that we are paying what we are paying for this place. The staff are poorly trained and speak little english, there are no connecting rooms, the electrics are suspect and neither of us want to use either the bath or shower and we certainly don't want to eat here. This is the worst and most expensive hotel I have stayed in.

This hotel is old and tired and I would NOT recommend anyone to stay here.

Room tip: They do not have interconnecting rooms.
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ehlbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I'm one of management in hospitality business. we came here during flood sitaion with children and booked for 2 nights. On the first night when we wake up too early face with leaking water from pantry where next door of our room. Water was leak into the corridor and expand to our room. We was told to move the room, please imagine that we have too many stuffs with children and we have to wake up too early to face with situation! we were offered 2 spa to compensate, we asked reception to book at 11 am. (asked at 9.30 am). when we go there Spa said no bookings, so we contact back to reception she mentioned that owner didn't approved yet without telling us anything. then when we back we decide to change because if time change and we have children beside so our plan has to change as well! we then asked just complimentary extra bed without breakfast while we pay for first night. the reception talked to me like we too much disturb and said owner was not approved! last but not least, breakfast was too terrible even I'm an easy eating person...it was really too terrible

all these, we would like to say that we do understand this kind of situation but 1) this is not fair for us to pay same price but we got leaking 2) when duty has changed shift should hand over to new shift 3) owner or management should give simple authorization to staffs 4) food taste need to improve compre price and tase! 5) staffs need to be train on how they handling complaints or unexpected situation!

we are THAI support THAI owner hotel during bad situation in THAILAND! so please consider to improve these! otherwise you can't make this hotel to be 5-star as you want!

The staffs in other areas are really nice.

Room tip: room was next door to floor pantry
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jum_Nathkamolporn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We stayed in this hotel in March 2011 for 10 days. From the very step in i didnt like the hotel. Its big and dull. even if this hotel is classified as a 5 stars hotel it didnt provide an iron in the rooms, you had to pay for ironing services to hotel. even if they advertise themselves as a hotel which provides a rotation of the shuttle bus between the hotel and the downtown, in reality they dont. the breakfast they offer is very poor in selection, no children's menu as well. no fresh juices, only fruites cut in pieces. the service at breakfast is equal to zero almost. you have to serve yourself tea and coffee which are placed at a quete a distance from the tables. if you ask them to bring you tea or coffee they will, but you have to catch them first, and its easier just to go yourself. the beach is small, and also the same problem with the service, you have to ask to open you a parasole, sometimes there is no one at all to help you. the tuk-tuk little bus which suppose to take you to the road from the hotel is never available, as the driver is simply is not there. you have to go to the reception every time to ask for a driver which is annoying really. There is one average size swimming pool for adults and a small one for kids. can be used till 20p.m. only. The hotel location is not very convinient as its a few kilometers away from the city center and shopping centers. you have to take tuk-tuk for 20 bats per person, children are for free, it will take you to the beginning of the town for about 15 minutes. in the evenings there are nothing to do in the hotel. even TV channels selection is very limited only by thai, chinese and other asian channels mostly. was very annoying that they didnt provide any single channel for children. so the TV was useless, just a decoration. next to the hotel there is a small 7/eleven supermarket, where you can buy only water and juice.
The tuk-tuks works for 20 bats till 23-23.30 p.m. max only, after that they work as a taxi charging you 200 bats and more depending on destination for driving.
Next time i go to Pattaya i will definitelly stay at another hotel, which is closer to town, and you dont have to drive every evening 15-20 minutes to town.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveseasun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

what i liked at the Dor Shada resort at firsthand is the staff's politeness. a true thai welcome i say , then the rooms are superbly funished & maintained , the swimming pool & the bar in pool is the one place i really enjoyed& almost ended up spending most of my time there. We stayed in this place for 7 nights and also during the new years gala dinner which was a fantastic event with good showperformance&food. Our room was nice, clean and so quite.and the security staff of hotel is really made me comfortbel coz whatever the time is & no matter in which corner of the hotel you are, there is always someone to check that you are safe & sound. I shall recommend you to all friends and of course i recommend to other russians reading this review, becoz this hotel is Russian frienly.

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vladimirMoskow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews