We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best self catering accommodation we have...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Granary

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Built in 1781, lovingly restored in 2010.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
Built in 1781, lovingly restored in 2010.
Original hay-feeders.
Welcome basket.
Ideal for a special occasion!
Original stone steps.
Luxurious simplicity.
A mix of antiques and modern.
Luxury toiletries.
Open fields to the rear.
The village pub - still a warm welcome.
The Manor
In the deep mid-winter, view to the pond.
The smell of a real Christmas tree :-)
Our 2015/2016 5 star award.
Our 2015/16 Gold award.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Digby, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ron C
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best self catering accommodation we have experienced yet!”
Reviewed July 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

we like self catering. We have two small dogs . We like quiet , but not remote. When we found the old granary we thought it would be OK . We didn't think it would be outstanding!! The photos don't do it justice ,and having read the history of the site and subsequent renovation I can only stand in awe of the competence and skill of those involved in its restoration. It's not often I can recall a time when we have stayed in a place where we couldn't think of some improvements we would like to be made or homely things we have missed . The old granary is the exception. If Carlsberg made self catering accommodation it would look like this ?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: local pub not dog friendly as advertised on Internet
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoreenW31...
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marvellous place for couples in countryside.”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We were delighted to have found The Granary, this is one of the best rentals we have stayed in and we have stayed in many over 20 years. It deserves every accolade including the gold star 5 from English tourist board.
Everything in the property is top quality and interior design by Linda is excellent.
The small patio area with the raised beds of various herbs was lovely and the views from it were so tranquil. Village pub recommended.
All in all superb in every way.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2015
Many, many thanks for the kind words : - )
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 18, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and comfort
Liked least: TV in lounge was not great soundwise - but I'm being picky..
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2015
Thank you N & M, so glad you enjoyed your stay : - )
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ann C
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just perfect - go and stay there!”
Reviewed April 3, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This is the second time we've come to Digby Granary and are still feeling bad about not giving a five-star Tripadvisor review after the first visit.

All we can say is that this is the perfect place to stay. The place is spotless, the bathroom with its copper bath is positively decadent (with fluffy towels, bath bombes and bathrobes), the kitchen has all the basics you need (like oil, salt and pepper). Just go there - but don't spread it around too much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The copper bath
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2015
Thank you both for the lovely review - you're welcome back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneChri...
Pontefract
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just Lovely!”
Reviewed February 24, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This is an amazinging property. A real getaway. Beautifully done out with all you could need and a lovely little welcome basket. It is well equipt with a log burner which really heats up the place. Washing machine if you need it, microwave and a coffee machine which makes very nice coffee. The bedroom is a wow factor and the bathroom is huge with an amazing freestanding copper bath. The view from the back of the property is of open fields with horses, a chicken and ducks in a pond. It is in a very quiet little village with only a church and a pub. The pub is nice and very friendly and serves food. Linda the owner of the cottage is lovely and even came to pick us up after we got stranded at the train station. Thanks Linda! It is bad for phone receiption but it was nice not to be bothered with calls and texts and the internet.
We would definitely recommend this place for a rural retreat and would love to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dimples42
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Excellent holiday property......”
Reviewed February 17, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Quality property....relaxing, peaceful, with 'Special' little touches put in place by the 'Owners'....from the 'Welcome Hamper ' - "Thank you" including a treat for our four legged friend.. "Woof" "Woof"...(Preston) - not forgetting the Scented Bath Bombs.....
Woodburner burning brightly, glass of chilled wine in hand....and 'Relax'......
"Thank you"

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2015
Thank you for our first review of 2015 - so pleased you enjoyed your stay, especially Preston :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deb1838
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Tranquil and chilled”
Reviewed December 8, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

A very relaxing, clean and a home from home! Quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of London. Recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quality
Liked least: phone reception
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing