We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Prieure du Chateau de Biron

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Biron
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Prieure du Chateau de Biron
Ranked #1 of 1 Biron B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stunning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We have arrived back from a nights stay at this beautiful place. Having made a booking at least four weeks before we arrived we were slightly taken aback to find our room had been double booked. However the alternative with a complimentary bottle of wine exceeded our expectations. It was stunning beautifully detailed with a massive comfortable bed. We even had the delights of a lightening storm at 6 am which i am sure wasn't part of the package but was wonderful to hear while snuggled up in the cosy bed linen. Our only comment was although the bathroom had his and her basins the his basin didn't allow for shaving. Tea and coffee was available but sadly no milk for the seasoned earl grey tea drinkers. The owner has obviously taken great pride in the detail and furnishing of this wonderful abode and while the owner was indisposed her partner made every attempt to welcome us. We loved our brief stay and would definitely return.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Le Prieure is perfect in every way - we did not want to leave!

Elisabeth, the owner has created the perfect B&B retreat.

The rooms are even better than they appear on the website. We spent two nights in a delightful room called Chantre and then two nights in the magnificent Cardinal room. Both were impeccably decorated and it's clear Elisabeth has taken great care to create great comfort without sacrificing elegance and charm.

The views from Le Prieure are sublime (rolling hills misted in frost one day to breathtaking forever views under full sun the next), the breakfasts delicious, the furnishings exquisite and to top it all off, Elisabeth makes a very, very good brew of coffee.

The Chateau is very warm and cosy and it's really lovely to wander downstairs in the morning to the warm, cosy dining room for breakfast. It's also lovely to sit with the other guests and chat, and Elisabeth is very generous with her time to help guests with ideas for daily adventures and great restaurants to visit.

The beds are super comfortable and it is so peaceful we slept right through each night, waking only to the happy chirping of little birds outside the window.

We had a car so visited many of the nearby villages - Monpazier is very pretty, Issigeac is beautiful with its ancient architecture and, well everywhere really in this beautiful region is charming and great to visit! And the food... Prepare to eat! The food is exceptional!

If you happen to read through my review history, you'll see I often give 5 stars to places. But Elisabeth's Chateau stands out from many of the others I've reviewed, mainly because of her wonderful hosting - if I could give Le Prieure 10 stars, I would. She has created the perfect, charming B&B and we felt so comfortable and at home, we didn't want to leave.

I cannot recommend Le Prieure du Chateau de Biron enough. A wonderful, charming, warm, friendly and very professionally run accommodation in a beautiful part of France.

Room Tip: They all seem wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smileyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This 500 year old priory is both amazingly old and modern. The rooms are huge and decorated in exquisite taste; bathrooms equally large and luxurious. Beds are so comfortable with crisp linens. Elisabeth is the most wonderful hostess and provides a delicious breakfast. She has a great knowledge of the area and Biron is in a great location to explore all the medieval and bastide towns. The Prieure is worth so much more than you pay. What an experience! Don't miss this charming place if you are in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Argentina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I toured Dordogne and Midi Pirinees on a motorbike last summer. We tried to lodge whenever possible at castles or historical buildings, and Le Prieuré du Château de Biron was definitely our best experience. The place is magical, dominated by the imposing castle at the top of the hill and sorrounded by dense forests and a peaceful coutryside, a few miles away from the small village of Monpazier, a true medieval jewell. Le Prieuré is an old building well preserved and beautifully restored. The decor suits the building very well combining style, elegance and comfort. The owner and hostess, Elisabeth, is a most welcoming and enchanting lady, delightful to chat with just about every subject.
A most recommendable place to stay, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had our wedding in Biron and rented the Prieure for the week. We arrived very late, but Elizabeth was there to welcome us. The rooms are even more impressive (if you can believe it) in person! We had no complaints whatsoever! The water was always hot, beds were very comfortable, lovely decor, wonderful views from all rooms and delicious breakfast each morning! Elizabeth also found a great chef and baker to cater our wedding! Everything was perfect - we and our guests are all dreaming of going back to Biron just for this place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Le Prieure sets a standard for all bed and breakfasts to aim for. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and immaculately maintained. The bathrooms are modern . The property cleverly mixes the charm of an old building with all modern comforts. The final element which makes this a great place to stay is Elisabeth who cannot do too much to make sure your visit exceeds your expectations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hoe_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had 3 nights here. The rooms throughout the hotel are beautiful. Elisabeth has such an eye for detail; the accessories, the furniture, the colours, all put together to provide an ambience of calm, peaceful relaxation, which is just what we did. Breakfast is lovely, with the smell of fresh-baked croissants guranteed to encourage you to start the day! The surrounding countryside is gorgeous and there are many lovely towns and villages to visit, with a choice of activities to suit everyone. The nearby auberge provides perfectly acceptable lunches or evening meals, and there are other restaurants nearby if you prefer something a little more sophisticated. We would recommend a visit to Chateau Biron, which is right on the doorstep, and choose the audio guide on an iPod touch, which is both fun and informative. Elisabeth also gave us some excellent advice on little tours to take in local markets and pretty villages. This hotel is a real gem. We absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pris0nbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Biron hotels
0.5 mi away
Castelwood
Castelwood
#1 of 1 in Biron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Le Prieure du Chateau de Biron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Prieure du Chateau de Biron

Property: Le Prieure du Chateau de Biron
Address: Le Bourg, 24540 Biron, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Biron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Biron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DELUXE BED AND BREAKFAST IN THE DORDOGNE CAREFULLY RENOVATED AND DECORATED WITH CARE FOR THE COMFORT AND PLEASURE OF ITS GUESTS. IT IS IDEALLY LOCATED TO VISIT ALL THE MAJOR SITES IN THE DORDOGNE WHILE OFFERING A PRESERVED SETTING IN AN UNTOUCHED VILLAGE AT THE FOOT OF THE MAGNIFICIENT CASTLE OF BIRON. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing