We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dordogne Region of France”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Biron
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Prieure du Chateau de Biron
Ranked #1 of 1 Biron B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This 500 year old priory is both amazingly old and modern. The rooms are huge and decorated in exquisite taste; bathrooms equally large and luxurious. Beds are so comfortable with crisp linens. Elisabeth is the most wonderful hostess and provides a delicious breakfast. She has a great knowledge of the area and Biron is in a great location to explore all the medieval and bastide towns. The Prieure is worth so much more than you pay. What an experience! Don't miss this charming place if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 56 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I toured Dordogne and Midi Pirinees on a motorbike last summer. We tried to lodge whenever possible at castles or historical buildings, and Le Prieuré du Château de Biron was definitely our best experience. The place is magical, dominated by the imposing castle at the top of the hill and sorrounded by dense forests and a peaceful coutryside, a few miles away from the small village of Monpazier, a true medieval jewell. Le Prieuré is an old building well preserved and beautifully restored. The decor suits the building very well combining style, elegance and comfort. The owner and hostess, Elisabeth, is a most welcoming and enchanting lady, delightful to chat with just about every subject.
A most recommendable place to stay, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had our wedding in Biron and rented the Prieure for the week. We arrived very late, but Elizabeth was there to welcome us. The rooms are even more impressive (if you can believe it) in person! We had no complaints whatsoever! The water was always hot, beds were very comfortable, lovely decor, wonderful views from all rooms and delicious breakfast each morning! Elizabeth also found a great chef and baker to cater our wedding! Everything was perfect - we and our guests are all dreaming of going back to Biron just for this place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Le Prieure sets a standard for all bed and breakfasts to aim for. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and immaculately maintained. The bathrooms are modern . The property cleverly mixes the charm of an old building with all modern comforts. The final element which makes this a great place to stay is Elisabeth who cannot do too much to make sure your visit exceeds your expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoe_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had 3 nights here. The rooms throughout the hotel are beautiful. Elisabeth has such an eye for detail; the accessories, the furniture, the colours, all put together to provide an ambience of calm, peaceful relaxation, which is just what we did. Breakfast is lovely, with the smell of fresh-baked croissants guranteed to encourage you to start the day! The surrounding countryside is gorgeous and there are many lovely towns and villages to visit, with a choice of activities to suit everyone. The nearby auberge provides perfectly acceptable lunches or evening meals, and there are other restaurants nearby if you prefer something a little more sophisticated. We would recommend a visit to Chateau Biron, which is right on the doorstep, and choose the audio guide on an iPod touch, which is both fun and informative. Elisabeth also gave us some excellent advice on little tours to take in local markets and pretty villages. This hotel is a real gem. We absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pris0nbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Me and my husband decided to stay here for a whole week which has been a great idea. The rooms are wonderful, spacious, very clean, the breakfast is adequate and fresh but most of all ELisabeth, the owner ,is a true gem trying to do everything she can to please us. If you are looking for a quite, home-feeling hotel you should come here!!! We would definitely come back next year!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xristinaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

We spent two nights for a wedding in the region.
Everything is there to make your stay perfect.
Your host is of exceptional kindness and courtesy. The rooms under the roof are cosier while the others are more spacious and make u feel in a castle. Only negative is the lack of a pool.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jnp79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Prieure du Chateau de Biron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Prieure du Chateau de Biron

Address: Le Bourg, 24540 Biron, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Biron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Biron
Price Range: $147 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe Bed And Breakfast In The Dordogne Carefully Renovated And Decorated With Care For The Comfort And Pleasure Of Its Guests. It Is Ideally Located To Visit All The Major Sites In The Dordogne While Offering A Preserved Setting In An Untouched Village At The Foot Of The Magnificient Castle Of Biron. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing