We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we wanted from a self-catering break - fantastic”
Review of Castelwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castelwood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Biron
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 3, 2011

After a very long drive down from Calais, Maaike showed us to our wooden chalet, one of fifteen built in a quiet woodland setting. The chalet was impeccably clean and kitted out with everything you might need - even a dishwasher! Comfortable rooms and a great shower. No TV and no mobile phone reception, but really fast Wi-Fi at 2€ a day.

Evenings were spent on the veranda with a chorus of birds, insects and deer rustling in the woods. Lizards bask on the deck in the sunshine. We didn't venture into the pool, but a couple of kids staying there seemed to enjoy it. The site also has laundry and recycling facilities - Castelwood has been awarded the EU Ecolabel for environmental friendliness - separate bins are provided for recycling, the chalet has ecobulbs throughout and the taps are fitted with aerators.

The area is great for exploring - loads of places to go and things to see, including castles, gardens, boat trips (and canoeing!) along the Dordogne river, caves, vineyards, horse-riding and markets. We did a lot of driving and every corner revealed yet another fantastic view. We were extremely fortunate with the weather and had glorious sunshine and temperatures in the 20s for the entire time we were there - in April!! Places that we enjoyed include Bergerac, Domme, La Roque-Gageac and Les Jardins Marqueyssac.

Eating out will generally present menus with foie gras, gésiers, magret de canard and yet more foie gras (not my cup of tea!), but you will also find salads with delicious local goats cheese and walnuts. Of course, you don't need to eat out at all, as you have the chalet kitchen, the bbq area and great fresh French produce in the shops.

Wish there were more places like this in other areas - great value for money and the perfect base for visiting such a beautiful region - loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sugar2sugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Castelwood
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 93 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2011

Our stay at Castelwood was comfortable & enjoyable and the welcome we got from owners Maaike, Ian & Pippa the dog, plus the help & information they provided during our week’s stay, ensured that we made the most of our time there.

Castelwood is a well laid out complex of 15 log cabins in a secluded wood, a short stroll from Biron with its fine chateau that is well worth a visit. We stayed in Guillemete de Gontaut (all cabins are named) which was equipped with everything we needed. The site has all essential amenities such as washing machines, dryers, pool, barbeques, high speed internet (€2 a day, very fast, in every cabin).

There is so much character to the area with hens wandering around scratching for grubs, birds in the trees, lizards dashing across the patio, dragonflies buzzing the roof; even the deer wander by passing through the trees and stopping to take a peek.

The location is also excellent if you want to see the Dordogne valley and the Perigord & Lot regions. From here we visited numerous medieval bastides & marches, local vineyards, chateaux, jardins. We took in Monpazier, Lacapelle Biron, Villefranche, Belves, Thezac, Villeneuve Sur Lot, Monflanquin, Domme, Sarlat, Bergerac, Eymet. All have something to offer and should be explored. A little further afield, both Toulouse and Bordeaux are within range but a longer drive.

In the close vicinity of Castelwood there is the village of Biron which is a 10 minute walk and stands under the impressive chateau. Here there is a small grocers shop selling all kinds of essentials and fresh bread. There is also a restaurant and bar. Lacapelle Biron is a 5-10 minute drive in the opposite direction (it is walkable) and has a few more shops and a larger grocery store. There are supermarkets within a short drive as well.

All in all we couldn’t praise Castelwood highly enough. The attention to detail of the owners is to be commended, the location is great, the accommodation comfortable & well equipped. All of which added up to a great weeks stay for us in the Basket of France.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BruiseLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2008

CASTELWOOD, Biron, Monpazier

Maaike and Ian’s welcome and hospitality at Castelwood is great. And the site of Castelwood is beautiful and offers a fantastic level of comfort in a tranquil wooded setting. Biron's imposing “chateau” dominates the local area and the village in June was a haven of peace.

We stayed one week and Maaike really had thought of everything that you could wish for in our self-catering chalet. Very comfortable and very cozy. The fridge was stocked up (thanks to our shopping list, ordered beforehand), the sun was shining and we sat on our terrace with a bottle of wine, just relaxing. Even better is that the beds were made before arrival so all we had to do was unpack and cork that bottle of wine !

The local region offers so many different and interesting sites to visit : lots of castles, prehistoric caves, medieval, fortified villages, local streetmarkets, etc. that you just have to come back to see it all. Not to forget the scrumptious French food in restaurants, the beautiful countryside and the friendly local people who love to talk to you, if need be with lots of gestures and smiles.

We had lots of walks around Biron and saw on several occasions lots of wildlife, even small deer walking by our terrace one evening.

Thank you, Ian and Maaike, and we definitively will be back one day !

1  Thank Josje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marjorie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank jmejanssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mickaelanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jm l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biron
3.9 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er
19.0 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
257 reviews
18.4 mi away
La Metairie
La Metairie
#1 of 1 in Mauzac
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
275 reviews
17.5 mi away
Le Vieux Logis
Le Vieux Logis
#1 of 1 in Tremolat
425 reviews
22.8 mi away
Hotel Les Glycines
Hotel Les Glycines
#1 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castelwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castelwood

Address: Bois du Chateau | Bois du Chateau, 24540 Biron, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Biron
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Biron
Price Range: $67 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castelwood 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a wood at the foot of the hill on which the castle and its village are located. A wood with a large variety of trees and rich in wildlife. Nestled in between those trees are our 15 wooden chalets. Each chalet has more than 50m² (540 sq.ft.) living space as well as a spacious veranda of 15m² (160 sq.ft.). They are fully and comfortably equipped. Holidays to the rhythm of nature, peace and relaxation. No disco music in the evening, or noisy activities during the day. There's a swimming pool where you can cool down and laze around. We, your hosts, can point you to all the marvellous things to do and to see in our beautiful region - a region we know as well as the backs of our hands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, PitchUp, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Castelwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing