We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Mountain Lodge Telluride(Mountain Village)(Great Value!)
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mountainside Inn(Telluride)
$109
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Palmyra(Mountain Village)
The Inn at Lost Creek(Mountain Village)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lumiere Hotel in Telluride(Mountain Village)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Peaks Resort & Spa(Mountain Village)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Telluride Lodge(Telluride)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Columbia(Telluride)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveler rating
176
27
9
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
176
27
9
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthree bedroomski valetconcierge staffmontrose airportoxygen barsteam showerclub roomindoor outdoor poolmeet other guestsfree gondolagreat resortfull servicehiking trailsrestaurants and shoppingfilm festivalour home away from homebedroom unit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 216 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2009

My husband and I took our Honeymoon to Telluride, Colorado and chose to stay at the Franz Klammer Lodge in Mountain Village.

It's hard to call the Franz Klammer a "lodge" because it is very modern in appearance and not as rustic as the term might imply. In the public area there is a beautiful stone fireplace, a moose head on the wall and small bear sculptures. But this was perfect for us - exactly what we wanted.

We had originally booked a 2 bedroom/2 bath suite, but were bumped up to a 3 bedroom/3 bath suite! Our room had a balcony overlooking the Mountain Village plaza, an electric fireplace, dining room, breakfast bar, full kitchen, a jacuzzi and a steam shower (which we used every day). We loved sitting on the couch, looking out the living room windows and seeing the mountains.

We appreciated their transportation service to and from Montrose Airport so we didn't have to rent a car. In particular, our arriving plane had been delayed so I called Transportation to be sure they could still pick us up later in the evening. I was told they were keeping an eye on our flight and would be there to pick us up as soon as we landed...and they were! The ride to (and from) the hotel was comfortable.

There was always at least one concierge available 24/7, which we especially found beneficial upon our 10:30 pm arrival (we were very hungry and wanted to find food ASAP). Whenever we had question about an activity, the staff were more than happy to help provide an answer, and in many cases multiple options to ensure everything was just right.

The spa services were great. My Husband and I each had the "Altitude Aromatherapy 60 Minute Massage" to help us better adjust to the altitude and it was very relaxing. The staff were good at communicating the process to us since we had not had professional massages before.

The game room isn't fancy, but was a lot of fun. It's equipped with a big screen TV, air hockey, foosball and pool tables, as well as an Xbox 360 and a PS2. We had a fun time one evening playing pool while watching an MLB post-season game.

There isn't a restaurant inside the hotel, but this was never an issue. There is a grocery store/market just up the hill (which you can take the Gondola to). Twice we ate lunch at the Chicken Noodle Soup nook just outside the main entrance to the hotel. Most often we chose to eat at a restaurant in Telluride. Plus, all of the other hotels in Mountain Village have restaurants you could choose to go to.

One interesting 'feature' to point out is how they have a no tipping policy.

All in all, I would be happy to return there anytime. We had the perfect Honeymoon!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rica214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We went on our Raintree points program; this was by far the best facility we have ever visited.

Clean, amazing and spacious room. Finest linens and the best cooking appliances you could ever expect to find. The service is impeccable, the staff are super.

Be sure and check out the 'social' night when they have the free happy hour and welcome night. It's super friendly, no sales pitch and just a nice way to meet your fellow travelers.

The facility has the best workout room I have visited; pool is great - the game room is even fun to visit.

Tips for travel - do not need your car unless you plan on traveling outside of Telluride. Take the free gondola ride into Telluride and walk through the town....open until midnight. Take the short gondola ride to the grocery store at the Village, but be prepared for very high prices...but great groceries and liquor choices. The best thing to do is buy your groceries on the way, i.e. Durango, Pagosa, etc.

Rooms have robes, slippers, plenty of extra bedding, hair dryers, etc. Also, full washer/dryer and soap supplied.

A great place to eat nearby for a short driving trip - RICO - go to Argenine Grill. Great drinks, great food.

Off season the Village is mostly closed down, except a couple of restaurants and the grocery, but the benefit is the peace and quiet that you find. Don't go off season when the gondola shuts down, you would have to drive to Telluride, and miss the fun of the gondola....on one of our trips, we saw a large herd of elk in the pastures below.

Free parking underground with valet.

Super place.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlbuquerqueRealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

Loved the staff, they were all so wonderfully friendly and helpful. The rooms are huge. We had a two bedroom and it is bigger than our house. The furniture is all very nice as are the fixtures. The kitchen is a great size and we cooked several meals there easily. The location in Mountain Village above Telluride is nice because you can ride the gondola up and down making it a fun trip into and out of town. The view was just OK - we were on the 2nd floor - ask for a room on a higher floor if you want a better view. Also, we faced west and the street could be noisy. While there we also checked out the See Forever Village (sister property of the Peaks down the street). Their penthouse rooms have AWESOME views and are more modern and decorated in a more high end fashion but I'm not sure it's worth the EXTRA $500-600 per night. Also we looked at rooms at The Capella and were not impressed - very small rooms and no view whatsoever although the decor was chic and comfortable. The Klammer (as it's known by everyone) is a great choice for a very nice room at a great price.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reallypickylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

We stayed here for four days in off season. We had a two bedroom suite which has a full kitchen and outside porch with Gas Grill. The kitchen is extremely well supplied with everything but groceries. It has washer/dryer with soap provided. This is an excellent place to stay for long term. They have a no-tipping policy and no hidden charges which I really like. I don't know what prices are in season, but the price we paid was well worth what we got. With the free Telluride Gondola right outside the door, we never needed our car for 4 days.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drw_ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

I have stayed at numerous luxury mountain resorts and I have to say that the Franz Klammer is one of the premier mountain properties in the world.

I can highly recommend the property for anyone who simply wants the best – be they couples, families or a group of friends. I personally visited with my wife and children and we loved the property and personalized attention. I look forward to returning with them again and perhaps for a guys trip also.

The location of the Franz Klammer can not be beat. You are in the most central part of Mountain Village. Step out the door and everything from the gondola and skiing to restaurants and shopping is right there.

The units are beautifully decorated with the very best – from deep soaking tubs to kitchen appointments. The common areas are amazing, with a gorgeous and relaxing lounge. Tired bones after skiing? Enjoy the full service spa or take a dip in the pool or hottub.

And the service? It starts before you even arrive when the FKL contacts you to arrange everything from grocery shopping to dinner reservations, spa treatments and kids nights outs. And it continues throughout your stay with staff who remember you and cater to your needs.

Finally, the construction mentioned by others – that property that was under constructions is due to open shortly with construction now just on the inside.

I can give the FKL the highest of recommendations.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank skiman273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews