We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family week end”
Review of YHA Broad Haven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
YHA Broad Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I recently returned from a week-end at Broad Haven YHA with my family, hubby and sons of 10, 12 & 17.
Well where do I start? Ample free parking, can get a ticket from reception.
We were met in a clean and tidy reception area by the manageress Susan, who was very welcoming and helpful, she explained all the hostel facilities available.
Very large self catering kitchen where you can label up and leave all your food stuff, lounge/ tv area, (not that we used it). A large conservatory dining area with beautiful views of the sea, there was also an outside seating area, where bar-b-cues are had in the nicer weather.
Accommodation was Spacious and comfortable with bunk style beds.
Breakfast was buffet style help yourself, very tasty and so a great start to the day, Laura who served it was such a cheerful and happy young lady.
Ideally situated for exploring the beautiful local area and beaches. After a day of adventures it was great to get back to the hostel for a nice hot shower, wet room available for hanging up wet clothes.
Evening meal was very nutritious and filling, Gary the Manager was very knowledgable about the local area and very helpful a real "home from home" feeling.
Boys played pool in the reception area and there is also wi fi available.
A great time was had by us all, I would highly recomend a stay at Broad Haven YHA and have booked to go back in a few months.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicola j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this lovely review!

Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for YHA Broad Haven
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 172 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

Our walking group of 32 not-so-young friends had a wonderful long week-end here. The accommodation was spacious, comfortable, with a view of the sea from the conservatory. The staff were very friendly, atttentive and our evening meals were quite an experience!
If you are exploring the outstanding Pembrokeshire coast, I would highly recommend Broad Haven YHA - the cost is reasonable, the situation is excellent and the Hostel staff make all efforts towards your enjoyment.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mabel1644097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

It's so lovely to have positive feedback, so thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review.

best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I have just returned from our 3rd consecutive group stay at YHA Broad Haven with my A level Geology Group. This hostel is ideal. The staff are friendly and efficient, the facilities are just right for a study group and the hostel really benefits from a potentially superb teaching annex that is the size of a village hall with attached lab space!
The food is good wholesome home cooked fodder thats just what you need after a long day out walking and breakfast is a generous buffet. Sue the mamager has been very helpful with our bookings and email communication is very good. We will be back next March!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frazer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

many thanks for your positive review. Already looking forward to seeing you all next year!

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Fantastic location, warmest of welcomes, clean rooms and excellent food. For a group of 16 year olds being able to eat plenty of hot and tasty food after a day out in all weathers and terrains is vital. The rooms have en suite as well as other showers and there is always sufficient hot water. The staff are considerate and accommodating, tea and coffee are provided and any personal supplies can be kept in the kitchen. There is a good sized classroom for evening activities and the proximity to one of the best beaches around serves as a good free time occupier. We have returned for many years now and will continue to do so.

Room Tip: mainly shared bunk rooms but staff always get their own rooms with ensuite
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Many thanks for your positive review. Great to hear you all had a good time with us.

See you all next year!

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Had a great weekend here in November 2013... staying as a group of girls and leaders from girlguidinguk. The staff were fantastic (especially Laura), they really couldn't do enough for us; made us feel very welcome. We had dinner, breakfast and lunch and all were excellent, lots of variety and plenty of food for all. We had the use of the self catering kitchen and were lucky enough to be able to use the 'conservatory' area for some of our activities. The YHA is clean, tidy and comfortable.
I was booking for a group and the centre staff were extremely helpful when I contacted them directly asking for a few additional details.

Room Tip: we were a group and from what I could see rooms were pretty similar ...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susie19602014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Mnay thanks for your positive review. It is always great to hear when someone has enjoyed their stay with us.

Your group were so good with the other guests as well, who all enjoyed seeing girl guides working together.

See you all again soon.

Gary and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We all had a lovely weekend at Broadhaven with no complaints. it was a perfect location,very comfortable and warm. The staff were very friendly and helpful there were 19 of us and we had more than enough space for all of us The only thing I noticed was that the lounge was a little short of seating for all of us but apart from that a wonderful place to stay

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank B1088YOkeithr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Many thanks for your positive response about staying with us. We are all so glad you had a good time.

Your all welcome back.

Gary and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Me and few of my friends happened to stay at this place for a day and It will awesome. Nice scenic place with well mannered n friendly hosts. Rooms we're clean and tidy and english breakfast served was yummy. Will definitely suggest this place for groups. Cheap and comfortable :-)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Padmanabhan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for your review. Delighted you stumbled across us!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broad Haven
2.5 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
319 reviews
3.4 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
484 reviews
4.3 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
438 reviews
0.0 mi away
YHA Poppit Sands
YHA Poppit Sands
#7 of 15 in Cardigan
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
YHA Brecon Beacons
YHA Brecon Beacons
#1 of 1 in Libanus
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Broad Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Broad Haven

Address: 100 m from beaches of St Brides Bay, Broad Haven SA62 3JH, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Broad Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Broad Haven
Price Range: $36 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Broad Haven 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great spot for activity breaks: surfing, diving - all kinds of watersports holidays. Make a splash in St Brides Bay when you go sea kayaking or scuba-diving. Refurbished to a high standard, this hostel has views over the bay and is close to a lovely beach, perfect for cheap family seaside breaks. Explore the coastal path or, at low tide, walk the half mile over the sand to Little Haven with its quaint fishermen's cottages and quayside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your YHA Broad Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing