We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wauw!”
Review of YHA Broad Haven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA Broad Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Youth hostel Broadhaven, is the place to be! Last week we went with a group of 48 students from Coastal Zone management, university of applied science Van Hall Larenstein, Leeuwarden, The Netherlands. Sue and Gary and their staff really want to give you a pleasant and comfortale stay. The food is lovely end enough, even for our students who were doing fieldwork every day.
For us the possibility of using the fieldcentre next to the YH combined with the scenery of the YH.and good hospitality brings us back next year!
Angelique Kuiper

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angelique K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Always a joy hosting you all, and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

See you again this year!

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 176 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed in the summer for a couple of nights & wished we could have stayed for longer. Fantastic location, the hostel was clean, comfortable & we were delighted to have an ensuite room. The staff couldn't do enough for us & they were great with our girls who are two & three. The hostel was ideal for children that age with plenty of toys & a relaxed feel. There was good choice of food which was all good - best of all, the kids ate for free!
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Many thanks for your review. The hostel is great for children. The beach on your doorstop, all day access and other families staying. We get great feedback on the kids eat free deal.

See you all again in the summer.

Take care

Gary and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was my first youth hostelling experience, but felt confident after reading the reviews to give it a go. I can not praise the staff high enough, they were really lovely. However, our room was damp and dingy and very run down (paint peeling off the walls etc). The beds were very comfortable but on the second night they did feel damp. The en-suite shower was clean enough but it was really a wet room and the water pooled on the floor and didn't drain away properly which wasn't very pleasant and the door didn't fit (it didn't close). The pipes are REALLY noisy and squeak, rattle and vibrate most of the time, we all had to wear earplugs to sleep. The plus points of this youth hostel are, the staff, the location (right by the beach) and there is a nice outdoor sitting area. There is also an amazing breakfast choice, I wouldn't say the food was great but it was only £5 so can't really complain. We tried to stay out as late as possible because none of us wanted to spend time in our room, so unfortunately we would not return to this youth hostel again.

Room Tip: We had room 5 which was bad, maybe some of the other rooms are better. Room 5's door did seem t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjmaroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you experienced problems with noisy pipes during your stay with us. It's such a shame when, as you say, the staff do their best and the physical things let you down. On a lighter note, I can now confirm, however, that it has been possible to make repairs, during the Winter period when it is quieter, so we no longer have a problem with banging pipes. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had a four night stay here as part of our 'hostelling round Pembrokeshire' holiday. It was a great place to stay with children - so close to the beach, an outdoor table tennis table for the lads to play on and a lovely garden to eat in when the sun was shining. The room was very adequate (and remarkably quiet even though it was near reception), the self catering kitchen was pretty well equipped and the dining room lovely and airy. All the staff we met were really friendly and helpful which made for a great stay, thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

What a fab review! Thank you so much. It's great when all the hard work pays off.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

After reading the reviews on the YHA website and Trip Advisor, I had high hopes for this hostel. Maybe a bit too high. The staff were lovely and very accommodating, especially as we arrived a day early and they had our room ready and made us feel welcome. The room was a decent size for a family of four with an en-suite toilet and shower. However, it was dank, dark and smelled bad. Dampness is an issue being close to the sea, but the smell was very off-putting and affected my ability to sleep. The sockets in the room didn't work so we weren't able to charge our devices. And the pipes made horrible, loud rattling noises when the toilet was flushed or the sink turned on. This made for some sleepless nights for the adults and children. Don't count on the wi-fi at all. The router is so basic it is difficult to connect. There were several disgruntled hostel guests walking around trying to get a connection after paying for the service.

On the plus side, the staff were very nice and helpful. The self-catering kitchen was large with enough storage for everyone. However, it did lack trays which made transferring food from the kitchen to the dining room a bit tedious. The dining room was large, bright and airy and there was outdoor seating as well for warm al fresco dining. There were board games, table tennis and pool for the children. One evening when the tide was out, we walked along the beach to Little Haven and had a really lovely meal at the Swan Inn. Definitely worth the visit. We went on a Wednesday, which was tapas night, and they more than happily fit us in even though we didn't have a booking. The food was delicious and the service, top-notch.

Overall, we had nice holiday at the seaside with our two young boys, but I would not stay at this hostel again. We are members of the YHA and have visited a few, and in comparison, this one needs a lot of work.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Hi there, I hope you will come back to Broad Haven some time in the near future. We do not always have groups in the hostel.

In the holidays we have plenty of families in.

All the best

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Third year I have visited with the school (year 10 GCSE Geology students). Staff are extremely welcoming, accommodating and understanding of our requirements. The food is always good, with a large choice of menu which varies from day to day, excellent breakfasts and the packed lunches give a wide choice. Facilities for evening work are available. As a base for this type of work can't be bettered, geology starts 150 metres from the hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thanks for the review. Pleasure having you all, and good to hear that you enjoyed yourselves

best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is an excellent hostel! Very clean and tidy, extremely comfortable beds and they staff were all friendly and welcoming. We opted for the 4.99 breakfast which was great, good choice of cereals, fruit, jams etc. and a fantastic full English!
The beach is beautiful and only a short 5 minute stroll away.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hostel and I plan to visit again in a few months time with my children.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubbles3636_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you so much for the lovely review! Means a lot to the staff and me. Key arrived today, so thanks for that!

All the best for the wedding!

Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to YHA Broad Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Broad Haven

Address: 100 m from beaches of St Brides Bay, Broad Haven SA62 3JH, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Broad Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Broad Haven
Price Range: $43 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Broad Haven 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great spot for activity breaks: surfing, diving - all kinds of watersports holidays. Make a splash in St Brides Bay when you go sea kayaking or scuba-diving. Refurbished to a high standard, this hostel has views over the bay and is close to a lovely beach, perfect for cheap family seaside breaks. Explore the coastal path or, at low tide, walk the half mile over the sand to Little Haven with its quaint fishermen's cottages and quayside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your YHA Broad Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing