We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beer and good food”

The Olde Peculiar Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Armitage
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good beer and good food”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Walked along the canal one day up to the pub. Ordered meal and Pedigree. Both excellent. Staggered back along canal to boat.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOPHandsacre, Owner at The Olde Peculiar Restaurant, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Olde Peculiar.
We are really pleased that you had a good time and hope to see you again next time you are on this stretch of the canal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    21
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great ale, really nice food, cosy atmosphere, recommended!!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Found this pub whilst searching my `Cask Ale' phone app for the nearest pub that sold Old Peculiar ale. To my surprise it was pretty local so the wife and I paid it a visit.
Well, the taste and smoothness of the signature ale `Old Peculiar' was totally sublime, in fact all the ales, lagers and Guinness are extremely well kept.
The wife was peckish so I fetched a couple of menus. We both chose steak and kidney pie and to be honest I wasn't expecting too much as it was modestly priced.
Well, again the quality, taste and sheer value for money would be very hard to beat. The pie was full of meat with just the right amount of kidney, none of the meat was cheap, fatty cuts but melt in your mouth. Chips, peas and the small amount of veg were fresh and tasty, all served by very polite staff.
I fully recommend this pub, the ale is excellent, the home made food delicious and each visit a very enjoyable experience, just as an `Olde' pub should be!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank jockywockycocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Pub - Great Food and Great Service”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed here for 9 nights on a business trip to Lichfield, only a 10 minute drive from Lichfield City Centre. Fantastic Accommodation, clean, comfortable and spacious. Staff were fantastic throughout the stay, Breakfast served on time every morning and was very good. The pub dinner menu is brilliant, all home cooked, quick and professional service and reasonably priced. Would definitely recommend to anyone, its a great place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alistair P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great pub - and great pub grub”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We timed our boating journey along the Trent & Mersey Canal to allow a stop at the Olde Peculiar last Saturday. I called the pub at 6.30 to check if we needed to book - the very pleasant young man on the phone said he could just squeeze us in for 8.30. It's a good job I did, because we arrived to find a very busy pub and no spare tables to be seen.
It is a lovely comfortable old place, and was happily vibrant with regulars and diners all of whom were having a great evening.
The food was excellent, really can't fault it for pub prices, and a good reasonably priced wine list. Local beer too - what more can you ask for?
Highly recommended - if you are boaters, make sure it is on your list of must-visit pubs.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent beer,excellent food ,friendly atmosphere.very clean pub”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Went here today with a large party,great menu,excellent selection of well keeped beer.lady on the bar was very friendly.definately will be returning

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kyshan1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olde Peculiar Restaurant also viewed

Armitage, Staffordshire
Rugeley, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Olde Peculiar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing