We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Change of owner but still the same high quality”

Mandarin Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 47 Restaurants in Northwood
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
UK
Level Contributor
197 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Change of owner but still the same high quality”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Our favourite chinese restaurant anywhere in the world. After 35 years the original owner has sold out but the new owners have maintianed the same high standard of food and service. They have added a delivery service which sems popular. I took a party of 16 there recently after a charity golf day and they provided the usual high standard of service and the food was excellent.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    15
    11
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food... Great People”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The service was great and we all had a fantastic time. In between the courses we played some fun games. The staff were all game for a laugh and their service was with a smile too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank samuel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinner
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

I haven't been to the Mandarin for many years, but after reading the reviews we decided to try it again.
We were not disappointed, although the decor is a little dated, the food and service were excellent. What a treat to be in a restaurant where you can hear yourself speak!
The set menu was exceptional, the starters were all tasty, well cooked and plentiful, they accommodated my vegetarian daughter very well, substituting some of the meat dishes with veggie ones.
The duck was crispy and there were plenty of pancakes, everything was kept warm on hot plates. By the time the main dishes came we were struggling a little having indulged rather too well on the starters and duck course. All the main course dishes were very tasty, we especially enjoyed the crispy chilli beef and the stir fried prawns with vegetables. The service was unobtrusive and knowledgeable, we were never kept waiting but didn't feel rushed either.
I would highly recommend The Mandarin, you will not be disappointed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank the5cootes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Had a really nice time at The Mandarin, the service and atmosphere were excellent, food not quite as good as The Tasty China.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“50th Birthday Party”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I had my 50th Birthday party here with 70 girls and it was wonderful. We had a vegetarian menu and the food was yummy. The service was great and we all had a fantastic time. In between the courses we played some fun games. The staff were all game for a laugh and their service was with a smile too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandarin Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Northwood, Greater London
Northwood, Greater London
 
Northwood, Greater London
Northwood, Greater London
 

Been to Mandarin Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing