We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Up market Chinese” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tai Pan Restaurant

Tai Pan Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 46 Restaurants in Northwood
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bushey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Up market Chinese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We were introduced to the Tai Pan Restaurant last night. It was a real pleasure to be served by caring staff in a professional manner. The food was a cut above the average. We used their £20 per head menu which offered a good selection and after all the added bits we came away paying £56. Not cheap, but the food was of a good quality and the portions were generous.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lionel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    35
    19
    9
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Overpriced, small servings”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Felt like the staff were doing us a favour for being there. No recommendations when requested. Overpriced dishes with small servings. Will continue to look for better food elsewhere

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bev5702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in North London!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

I've been visiting tai pan ever since I was born and it remains to be the best. There are loads of vegetarian options and it's great for celebrating special occasions or a quick family dinner alike. You can get takeaway from the restaurant and I would do this rather than going to tai pan express across the road.

Helpful?
1 Thank Shalini18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Northwood restaurants”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Enjoyed this restaurant a couple of times since the refurb. but on this occasion I wonder how long its going to be before I spend another hard earned dollar on rubbish food in this joint. Please can someone open a decent restaurant restaurant in Northwood...I'm saving my dollars 'cause it could be me ...ROCK'N'ROLL DINER here we come.. M

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maxfraza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bad service, small portions”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I have been here a few times. I have never booked it myself but have gone when friends have insisted on going here. I must say that I have never had a service with a smile. It looks like we are imposing on them. Most of the staff are miserable and the portions are also quite small. Next time I am going to insist to my friends that we go somewhere else. This is not a restaurant I would recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bharat62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tai Pan Restaurant also viewed

Northwood, Greater London
 
Northwood, Greater London
Northwood, Greater London
 
Northwood, Greater London
Northwood, Greater London
 

Been to Tai Pan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing