We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All bluster, no substance!”
Review of Barfia

Barfia
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 10/21
8:00 PM
OR
Order Online
Ranked #27 of 61 Restaurants in Northwood
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hopeful for exciting, Indian flavours served in a great ambience, I was bitterly disappointed. The restaurant was classy and wel-designed, however the two members of staff were overwhelmed with lunchtime rush and service was poor. We asked for extra chutneys ( as we only received half portions in the fridge-cold set) and they did not arrive until the end of the meal!
The food came with such hype: a master-chef inspired dish, a basket of pakora assortment however how greasy and over-priced! The chaat consisted of their chickpea curry with a sprinkling of chutneys and Sev. The master chef inspired dish was a simple, yet disappointing Khandvi. The only light was the wonderful Khoya curry and excellent naan bread! Delicious! Just wished everything else had been of the same quality.
As for main event, the barfi, came to be the biggest disappointment of all. Great, inventive flavours which are executed shoddily ( artificial flavours) and the texture was absolutely dire!
An absolute shame..

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Alpa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (7)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2019

This is my 100th review in Trip advisor.
This restaurant is opened recently in Northood, was just 3 weeks when we went there for dinner. It serves amazingly tasty indian vegetarian food. Its a small restaurant but well decorated. We had Nimbu pani (Lemon water), Falooda, Garlic naan, Jeera rice, veg makhanwala, veg hakka noodules. I just say veg malhanwala is the best taste I ever had eaten. The sell sweets also, a little expensive. We took veg biryani and Undio (Gujarati curry) as take away. Biryani was very oily and excessive salt in it.
But food we ate in restaurant was amazing. For wheel chair users, there is a small step to negotiate.
Hope the taste shall be maintained for the days to come.
Prices are moderately high for curry and add 12,5 % service charge.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank patdaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2019 via mobile

Whilst most are aware of the reputation as a go to place for sweets, it has now added a sit down restaurant to the sweet counter. So it was a surprise to try the menu under the name Swadelicious. The food is totally vegetarian with a large number of vegan options. Now that it's official - a plant based diet literally saves the world - you can revel in the old quote from Goodness Gracious Me that this was obvious "because it's Indian"!
The menu is standard fare for such a restaurant, mixing Gujarati with the obligatory Indian/Chinese and South Indian. The prices are standard for this type of restaurant.
The food is freshly cooked, of good quality and tasty. The thing which set the experience out for us was the exceptional service - it was attentive without being obtrusive and polite throughout. It was obvious that locals were coming in for sweets and takeaways and it's to be hoped that this excellent service doesn't fall if the sweet counter gets busy.
Having had our fill we decided to try the sweets and here, we were badly let down - not because of the service, the freshness or taste of the sweets - but, and this is crucially important, because of the list of ingredients and allergens. One of our number is Vegan and whilst we were guided by the charmingly polite host, it transpires that the allergen chart is different from the one online. As a result, we were given non-vegan sweets which we were clearly informed did not have dairy. On the website, the same sweets had 3 different milk products. When we sent an email asking for clarification, we had no reply. No reply has been received in 2 weeks. Were it not for this very important failing, this restaurant would have merited a much higher rating.

Date of visit: August 2019
2  Thank rajj2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019

We went to Barfia early on Sunday evening, there were only two other tables there when we arrived but the restaurant filled up very quickly.

The waiting staff are friendly but didn't take on board that we had asked for our food to be mild - it all turned up very spicy - this was a shame as we were after taste rather than spice. I think this was because of a language barrier though - next time (yes, we would definitely return) we will confirm our order with the owner.

The service was slow but that's probably because the restaurant has only been open a couple of weeks and they just need to get more used to running a full restaurant and busy takeaway service at the same time.

The menu is huge - maybe too huge!! The food was cooked fresh - the pilau rice was the nicest I've ever had. The Bel Puri wasn't crunchy enough, the rice was soft rather than crunchy - the taste was good though. I chose an aubergine dish as I love aubergine - unfortunately it was way too spicy so I couldn't taste the aubergine itself. As I say, next time I will stress that I do not want spicy food - definitely worth another visit.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank asdas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barfia also viewed

Northwood, Greater London
Northwood, Greater London
 
Northwood, Greater London
Northwood, Greater London
 
Northwood, Greater London
Northwood, Greater London
 

Been to Barfia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing