We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White Horse Inn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

we stayed here a year ago an we are still as impressed as we were back then. The rooms are lovely an warm. Lots of hot water which is always welcome in the morning. Food was amazing could not fault a thing. Would definatly recommend to any one. We will be back without a doute. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay brilliant. :-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank princesselfy949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    51
    31
    20
    13
See reviews for
36
93
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Spent two very comfortable nights here and were most impressed. The atmosphere was very welcoming and the surroundings warm and comfortable as one would expect from a typical village hostelry. When we got to the menu the choice was difficult but the result, on both nights, was more than adequate.... in fact it was excellent. We found the hosts a very entertaining couple who obviously took great pleasure in looking after their guests and made every effort to make us at home. The bedroom was well provided with essentials, including an iron and ironing board!
The Inn is most convenient for the M2 and for visiting the towns along the north Kentish coast and also Canterbury and the numerous tourist attractions inland. Top marks!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ittles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here in March for 2 nights via a Groupon deal and wanted to take the opportunty to visit Canterbury etc.
From the moment we arrived we found the team firendly and welcoming even letting us know there was a quiz night on which was a great way to get to meet people. Canterbury wasn't very far away, and neither was Whitstable.
Food was great and reasonably priced, the garden was a sun trap where we whiled away a couple of hours with the papers and the room, although 'cosy' was clean suited our needs perfectly.
There is also a small nature reserve about 5 minutes drive away which was perfect for a sunday morning walk after breakfast.
We would definitely stay here again if we were to re-visit the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Job5279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay
Level Contributor
109 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Unfortunately as much as the food is great the accommodation just does not live up to the local reputation and is very overpriced for what it offers. We stayed in Room 2 for one night whilst attending a wedding at Mount Ephraim - the room was dirty, furniture was past its sell by date and there was rubbish in black sacks outside our French doors. The room was a twin and when we pushed the beds together the floor underneath was disgusting. Breakfast tables were not laid up, despite knowing that the hotel was full and the floor was just filthy and full of food that other guests had dropped on the floor. Service was ok but had to keep asking for cutlery, cups etc and breakfast was swimming in grease. The hosts were delightful and extremely friendly but the accommodation lets the place down and really does need an update and a good clean inside and out - sorry !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisylouHerneBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamsgateOrange, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thanks for your feedback but I think many of your comments are really quite exaggerated and wish you had mentioned some of these issues when you checked out. I have just been to have a look at Room 2 and it is looking lovely, sunny and clean with chunky hard wood single beds, a shabby chic chest of draws and a small wardrobe. The wardrobe I see is missing a handle which is perhaps what you mean when you say past it’s sell by, but the room is certainly not dirty. There might have been some dust under the beds when you pushed them together but I can’t imagine what was so disgusting about the floor that you found. There is no rubbish outside the French doors that is a black tarpaulin which is covering a gas barbeque which is stored in the private courtyard adjacent to the room.
Breakfast tables were laid up but we had several non-residents walk in looking for breakfast and had to lay up one extra table. I have spoken to Sam who was on duty that morning and he remembers there was a piece of bacon on the floor left by a previous breakfast guest which he picked up as soon as he saw it, but the floor was not filthy. And he remembers a couple who moved from a laid up table to one which was not laid, perhaps this was you and so you might have had to ask for things.
I am sorry about the breakfast - our eggs and black pudding are fried in oil, the mushrooms are cooked in butter and the bacon/tomatoes/sausages are grilled, so there will be some fat on the plate.
I always welcome feedback and if you are a prospective guest reading this please post your positive experiences too!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Overnight stay whilst visiting our student son. Clean comfortable room (No 6) offering a good night's sleep. Nice cosy bar - didn't try the restaurant but the menu looked very inviting. Nice touch with shower gel/shampoo etc provided in bathroom. Will return. Welcoming and homely.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We as a family,18 of us, most for two nights the rest for one for our daughters wedding in faversham,
What a nice place to stay.the rooms were clean and comfortable with tea making facilities.we had a meal the first night and it was superb and such large portions and at a reasonable price,breakfast was good as well.the staff were always helpful and nothing was too much trouble.i would defiantly recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Booked through their website which overeggs the pudding a little.
The rooms are basic and small in a modern theme. They are a little sad and dusty! The room tarrif is over priced. Should be £50-60 instead of £85. Cleaners appear too young to understand what is required. Training.
However; being a pub, the bar is great as are the staff,
Best of all, the restaurant is very good. Food and service wonderful, better than run of the mill pub grub.
Not far from Canterbury and other Kent attractions made this a good stop.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms appear the same in terms of size and facilities and dirt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon5653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamsgateOrange, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Hello and thanks for your response. Thanks for the comments about our restaurant and staff, very kind.
Regarding the rooms - did you get to see all of them as you say they appear to be the same? Not very kind! I think you must have stayed in a room which had not been occupied the few days before and the dust had settled so sorry about that, but we have a 4star Visit Britain rating and you don't get that through having dirty rooms. We have a variety of rooms, different sizes, character, family suites, a four poster, all well appointed and with modern hotel amenities such as free wi-fi, free view TV's etc. Our room rate includes breakfast for two, room only price is also available and we offer dicounts for early or late booking. I am sorry you did not find them value for money.
We will take your comments on board and deal with the issues you have raised so thanks for highlighting them
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boughton-under-Blean
3.9 mi away
Judd's Folly Hotel
Judd's Folly Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ospringe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 4 in Whitstable
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
2.7 mi away
Railway Hotel
Railway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Faversham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
3.9 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Inn

Property: The White Horse Inn
Address: 246 The Street, Boughton-under-Blean, Faversham ME13 9AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Faversham > Boughton-under-Blean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Boughton-under-Blean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Horse in Boughton-under-Blean is a historic inn and restaurant with more than its fair share to offer guests. Not only is this ancient coaching inn mentioned in Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales, but its location in a glorious village surrounded by hop field lined walks to Mount Ephraim Gardens and the site of The Peasant’s Last Revolt recommend this excellent stop before one even ventures inside. As you may well hope, The White Horse is beautifully traditional inside, with roaring log fires, low-beamed ceilings and a cosy, intimate feel. Meanwhile, outside beautiful landscaping has turned a pleasant pub garden in to an Englishman’s dream. Our locally sourced British food has elevated The White Horse to gastropub levels with our chefs combination of creativity and talent, providing guests with the opportunity to enjoy high level food in the most comfortable of atmospheres. Sunday lunches take place weekly and jazz suppers are a regular occasion featuring award-winning vocalist Christine Tobin. Located in a village but within easy reach of the channel crossings and many local attractions such as Canterbury Cathedral, Dover and Leeds Castle, golf courses, beaches, nature reserves and zoo's, the White Horse is an ideal place to stay to explore the wonderful Kent countryside. And if walking, there are many stunning walking routes on our doorstep. We welcome walkers, cyclists, dogs and families! Our 13 bedrooms are beautiful with everything you would expect from a modern hotel, including free wi-fi, extensive parking, disabled access, restaurant and bar. The combination of the pub’s history and first-class service guarantees return visits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Hotel Boughton-Under-Blean
The White Horse Inn Boughton-Under-Blean, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing