We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Grenache Restaurant - CLOSED

Grenache Restaurant
Price range: $22 - $32
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Grenache has been open for 5 years, One under the new management of Mike & Karen. Grenache is an intimate 34 cover restaurant in the suburbs of Salford and proud! We were awarded with 2 AA Rosettes for culinary excellence in March 2014 and a further recommendation for excellence in the Michelin Guide in 2015. We beat off stiff competition to win The Good Food Guide's Best North West Restaurant Award in 2013. Not only do we serve fantastic food but we also pride ourselves on our level of service. We offer an Early Market Menu, available all evening, Wednesday & Thursday, and until 6.00Pm on Fridays and Saturdays. We also offer a 'blind' tasting menu which is excellent value for seven courses at only £49.50 Per head.
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

What an experience! This restaurant is amazing. Friendly, intimate atmosphere with an excellent menu. A really pleasurable dining experience. Top marks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EddLax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

383 - 387 of 498 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

We celebrated our first wedding anniversary at Grenache last night (may 4th) from the moment we arrived we felt the atmosphere and experienced the quality of this hidden gem of a restaurant you would expect to find just off John Dalton st in Mcr City Centre without disrespecting Walkden.

The food was without doubt some of the best we have tasted, every course was a pleasant assault of the taste buds and the little aperitifs served between courses were a really special touch.

A huge thank you to the chef and we would like him to know the popular and well reviewed "Room "on King st, mcr falls well short of the meal we had last night.

Lindsey was attentive and lovely, and Hus the perfect Host, thank you to all your staff aswell.

Kind Regards
Paul & Joanne Williams.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Despite living close by we don’t visit this restaurant as often as we should.

An overdue return visit for our anniversary saw a busy Thursday evening.

Choosing from the set price decadence menu we both had fish cakes to start. These were attractively set in sea shells, nesting on a bed of pebbles placed on a slate plate. The fish cakes went down nicely as well.

Opting to pay a supplement for the sirloin we were not disappointed. A generous sized steak was accompanied with chunky chips, spinach and a grilled tomato.

Both of us finished with the treacle tart and clotted cream ice cream.

Prior to the starter and desserts being served, we were presented with a small amuse bouche taster.

Although we didn’t use it on this occasion a small but comfortable and cosy bar is situated upstairs.

We left what appeared to be a nearly full restaurant, filled with a considerable number of regulars judging by the banter between customers and staff.

An enjoyable evening and a value for money set menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank A380ManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey-Manageress, Manager at Grenache Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Hi A380Manchester

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to us to celebrate your special day.
Please dont leave it as long next time and we hope to see you soon.
Lindsey
PS - ive passed your comments on to the chef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This restaurant had been recommended to us for some time but we had never tried it - now I'm glad we have! The food and service were absolutely fantastic!! The menu is put together realy well and is reassuringly small - guaranteeing that everything is prepared and cooked from scratch. We had the scallops and pig cheeks to start, the fillet steak and lamb as mains followed by rhubarb panacotta and the best chocolate fondant I've ever tasted. Don't expect a cheap meal from the a la carte menu but I guarantee that, if you like your food, you won't feel cheated. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending Grenache to anyone and will definitely be going back in the future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

After reading a recent review for the restaurant I have to say that there was not one thing to complain about. From the minute we walked in to the moment we left we could not have been made to feel more welcome. A great atmosphere , fabulous food, attentive and polite staff absolute value for money. Cant remember having such a nice meal in such a long time

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank tara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey-Manageress, Manager at Grenache Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Hi Tara

I remember speaking to you to book your table. Glad you enjoyed it and sorry I wasn't working so didn't get to say hello.
Loving the dress in the profile picture and hope to see you next time.
Lindsey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grenache Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing