We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Travel back in time”
other traveler has booked this property
Unique, charming, private and quaint, close to stunning wildlife, unspoilt, perfect, sleeps 6
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Unique, charming, private and quaint, close to stunning wildlife, unspoilt, perfect, sleeps 6
Soak up the sunshine with your nose in a good book, watch TV, listen to radio or play a game. Extra beds in one of the two sweet attic rooms, suitable for adults or children
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Unique, charming, private and quaint, close to stunning wildlife, unspoilt, perfect, sleeps 6
Soak up the sunshine with your nose in a good book, watch TV, listen to radio or play a game.
Extra beds in one of the two sweet attic rooms, suitable for adults or children
Experience the stunning loft room, one of a kind
Many lovely garden spaces to relax in
Delightful setting. Take your time inside or out.
Visit Portobello with its cafes, pub, grocery shop, restaurant, takeaways, doctor, museum
Free range eggs are ready for you from our happy hens
Wander ten minutes along the shore toward unspoilt Portobello Bay
Sea lions at nearby beaches to watch
Observe yellow-eyed penguins come ashore on nearly beaches
Watch our stunning night skies free from artificial light
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Portobello, Dunedin, Otago Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Shoutycra...
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Travel back in time”
Reviewed April 2, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

This was a wonderful stay on the Otago peninsula. The cottage is quaint with a real old world charm. Although the rooms are small (as you would expect), the whole cottage is really well appointed - beds are comfortable, the bathroom is a good size and the kitchen/living room was fine for the four of us. The late summer garden was stunning while we were there and we enjoyed sampling the veggies and 'smelling the roses' while we ate lunch in the sun. If you combine your stay with a visit to Toitu Otago Settlers' Museum in Dunedin, you will get a wonderful sense of how life was back in the 1860s (while also having wifi and plenty of plugs/home comforts;)
Super local for Portobello and the Albatross/Penguin tours too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2018
Thanks for those kind comments. We have tried to combine that feel of the olden days with modern needs. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie...
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed February 7, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Great place to spend a few days exploring the peninsula
The settlers cottage is quaint. The cottage garden had lots of chairs to sit on and enjoy the peace. The local village had a great fish and chip shop too. There is a beach on route to the Royal Albatross Centre. Our host also gave us additional information and what to do and see

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2018
Thanks Stephanie. It was lovely to have you and your family at the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Joy...
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“A Place to Relax”
Reviewed January 13, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

This little cottage offers lots of character and charm. The cottage has stood on this location for many years and there is much beauty in its aged timbers and craftsmanship - an opportunity to reflect on Settlers' New Zealand.

The cottage is very comfortable. The kitchen is small, but works well. We slept in the upstairs attic bedrooms, which our toddler loved.

The peninsular has lots of places to explore. We enjoyed taking the boat ride out to the the harbour heads, visiting the penguin sanctuary, exploring the Lanarch Castle gardens and strolling the coastal walkways.

We enjoyed this accommodation in summer, when the garden was beautiful - full with vegetables and cottage flowers. The garden is what makes this accommodation something very special. A great place to relax!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2018
Thank you so much Mary and family. What a lovely review and such kind compliments. We were delighted to have you with us and hope you come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lydiabowe...
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
“The most quaint cottage you'll find anywhere in Dunedin”
Reviewed December 27, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

It was such a pleasure staying the The Settlers Cottage! The beds were so comfortable and the rooms overlooked gorgeous views of the surrounding paddocks and the gardens. It was also incredibly lovely being able to sit in the sun with the vegetable garden overflowing around us. I really couldn't recommend this more as a perfect escape from the city while being close enough to beaches and the peninsula. I would love to come back and stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 29, 2017
Thank you Lydia for your kind words. It was lovely to have you stay and we'd love to have you back anytime .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jytteglin...
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“An a absolutely fabulous place for time out to relax and recharge.”
Reviewed October 22, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The lovely old world feeling in the cottage is just perfect for time out from a hectic life, supporting rest and time to reflect and contemplate. The sea is within walking distance for a refreshing walk and cafes just a few minutes away in the car. The ducks called "The Brians" are absolutely adorable, loved watching them coming home every evening with an old wild mallard in tow for their evening feed before retiring to their little hut. And what a pleasure to find the bed was so comfortable. We had fresh eggs and veges from the garden every day, we will be back again. Thank you Jane and Robin for a fantastic time in your amazing cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2017
Thank you for your kind review. We (and the Brians) loved having you with us and look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendywnor...
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“a peaceful haven”
Reviewed October 3, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A peaceful little haven in the home of the early settlers. Old worldly charm and yet modern comforts too. With chooks and ducks and fresh eggs and veges from the cottage garden , it really is the taste of the good life, with Jane and Rob the perfect hosts. It was delightful to see the birdlife at the albatross colony, beach walks, and a coffee at nearby Portobello.
A treasure of a weekend. I look forward to coming back one day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2017
Thank you Wendy for that kind review. Yes we certainly do like to share our lovely spot with others, and also the eggs and veges! We hope to see you back very very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libby D
1 review
“A peaceful beautiful place for some time out to reflect and refresh.”
Reviewed September 30, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A beautiful location with comfortable and warm accommodation in an historic cottage with modern ammenities. The owners Jane and Robin were welcoming and happy to share their local knowledge. The cottage is situated away from the main house and surrounded by chooks and gardens. A great hideaway for writing and reflection with coffee shops and beach walks just down the road . I'll be back soon!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2017
Thank you for your kind words. We were very happy to help and delighted you had such a relaxing time in the cottage. We'd love to have you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing