We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (503)
Filter reviews
503 results
Traveler rating
420
77
5
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
420
77
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews otago peninsula blue penguins bedroom cottage albatross colony new zealand fish and chip shop harbour view royal albatross centre penguin viewing elm wildlife tour stayed longer penguin place quiet location larnach castle stayed for nights perfect stay enjoyed our stay
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 503 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2017 via mobile

The motel was really well situated for us and the activities we planned on the peninsula. The motel itself was lovely, we had plenty of space in a room that was more that adequately equipped. On top of that, we had a great view into the bay, which was brilliant as we munched our breakfast. We were very happy with our choice and can recommend this accommodation.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Grembo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregNapp, Owner at Portobello Motel Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Thank you for writing a review for us. We enjoyed having you to stay. Best wishes Greg and Jo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2017 via mobile

Portobello motel is actually self contained cottages and a lovely place to stay. The cottages are spacious clean some have good views.
From here it is a short to see the albatross and penguins. What isn’t generally known is there are se lions on the local Adams beach just 5 minutes out of town.
Add to that the 1908 restaurant at the end of the drive for a top meal.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregNapp, Owner at Portobello Motel Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Thank you for your review. We are lucky to be well situated for visiting the peninsula's attractions as well as having the convenience of nearby restaurants. Good luck with your travels. Greg and Jo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2017

Lovely place to relax. Nice cosy room with a wonderful view over the sea. Short drive to beach and nature resorts. Very friendly and polite hostess. We´ve stayed for one night but felt very comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregNapp, Owner at Portobello Motel Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. The Otago peninsula is a fascinating place and we are lucky to be in the middle of it. Best wishes Greg and Jo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017

Perfectly situated on the Otago peninsula in a quiet location, cabins extremly clean and well equipped, hosts very friebdly and helpful. Portobello is an ideal starting point for long nature walks in a really wild nature with something for everyone: hills, trails, wetlands and endless beaches...

Room Tip: Unit 4, just in front, balcony directing to ocean/harbor
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkusSollberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregNapp, Manager at Portobello Motel Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Hi Markus,

We are thrilled you had such a lovely time here with us. We really enjoyed having you to stay. Best wishes for the rest of your adventures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2017 via mobile

Set on the hill above Portobello the views from the studio units is delightful. The units are tastefully decorated, clean and modern and perfectly sized for two. After settling in we walked down the driveway and had two lovely choices for dinner; the 1908 Cafe and the Hotel, both within 3 minutes of our accommodation. Delightful!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregNapp, Manager at Portobello Motel Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Hi Linda,
We are really happy you enjoyed your stay in the studio and wandering down for a meal in Portobello. Enjoy the rest of Spring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews