We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Houstoun House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uphall
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I spent two nights here as part of a business trip in May. The hotel is clean and quiet even on the ground floor.

The fitness suite is open to guests and although the swimming pool is a reasonable size the gym is only really equipped for cardio workouts with the resistance machines being poor and only free weights up to 20Kg.

The food is very good if a little pricey and they have a fine selection of whiskeys.

Breakfast is good but there is no continental option so you have to pay full price even if your only having toast and cereal which is always annoying even if the company are picking up the tab.

All in all a good hotel and I would stay again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Shrike99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2015

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,135 - 1,141 of 1,525 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014

Upon first impressions this hotel is nice, and that is really the general theme of my stay here - nice. The room I was allocated was smaller than I usually get in other hotels in the immediate area but as all other hotels on my corporate list were full my colleagues and I thought we would try this one.
Reception was welcoming and I was checked in quickly.
We took the option of buying breakfast at check in to secure the discount rate of £15.00
Eating dinner in the restaurant was nice but nothing special and we didn't feel it was value for money.
Breakfast was nice.
Checking out we noticed the hotel had added a £3 penalty for paying by credit card. Given we all have corporate cards which we have to use for such payments we had no choice - unfortunately however this took us over our corporate £100 a night rate which means our employer won't cover the additional cost.
Now, I do 75 hotel nights a year on business and I can categorically confirm that this is the first time we have ever had to pay a credit card fee - as my colleague joked "who owns this place, Ryanair?".
So, nice enough, but because of the £3 fee we can't return to this hotel. To be honest, given the money we spent across all of the meals and drinks we had, we felt £3 extra was just a bit greedy.

Room Tip: They all appear to be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2015

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We were booked into this hotel because the nearby hotel where we were attending a conference was fully booked. As a result we did not use the facilities etc so cannot comment on them. We arrived late because our taxi driver got lost. The reception staff were very welcoming. The room was fine. Breakfast was very average. We ate at 8 am (breakfast served 7-11am). We both ordered porridge, to then be told that there was only one bowl of porridge left!! We wouldn't stay here again out of choice.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FL4MMABLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2015

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed as guests at the hotel for a friends wedding.. So looking forward to this as heard lots of good things about this venue, however our room was situated in the adjacent building and prob the furthest away from the main building and when we entered it was cold and smelt horribly foosty!! Having stayed in a Macdonald hotel before I understand the room decor is all the same which is fair enough but feel its a bit dated now, esp after seeing one of our friends room (closer to the main hall) and in the main building which had much nicer up to date decor!! Having paid £100 for this room felt really disappointed and more so when they then charged us just over £15 for a pint of lager and a glass of wine!! Ridiculous!! Don't mind paying over the odds if your staying in luxury but I certainly would not call these rooms luxury!!

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2015

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Booked a relaxing short break at this hotel.
Friendly attentive staff.
Excellent meals from either a la carte or market menu or in fact a combination of both.
Tasty breakfast, comfortable room, what are people complaining about in their negative reviews.
We have stayed on many occasions using the facilities and strolling around the manicured gardens.
We will continue to return.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank stum574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2015

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We have just had a lazy recharge break at this hotel.
The staff were their usual friendly, courteous and attentive selves.
The rooms were lovely, the food was excellent whether on a la carte or market menu.
Great breakfast, what are all these moaning minnies complaining about.
We are frequent visitors to this hotel and have never been disappointed.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank stuart m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2015

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable weekend stay here. The house and gardens are stunning and maintained to a very high standard. We had a 'classic' double room (number 66), which was clean and well equipped with everything we could have needed - iron and ironing board, hairdryer, trouser press, tea and coffee making facilities and TV. Very comfortable bed and spacious, fully tiled bathroom with heated towel rail and shower over bath. As per some of the previous reviews, the decor is a little dated, but this is a historic building and in my opinion it wouldn't be appropriate for everything to be shiny and new.

Breakfast is fantastic, with a choice of huge continental buffet or traditional cooked breakfast. Everything was fresh and of a very high quality and the elegant dining room added to the experience. The pool is great and we found the staff professional and obliging.

Personally I think the 4 star AA rating is well deserved and I hope I have an excuse to stay here again sometime!

Room Tip: Our second floor room was only accessible by steps, so request a room on the ground floor if that...
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Claire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2015

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uphall
5.9 mi away
Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club
2.8 mi away
Mercure Livingston
Mercure Livingston
#3 of 4 in Livingston
567 reviews
8.9 mi away
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Livingston Lodge Hotel
Livingston Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Livingston
65 reviews
3 mi away
Travelodge Livingston
Travelodge Livingston
#1 of 4 in Livingston
317 reviews
4.9 mi away
Travelodge Edinburgh Airport Ratho Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Houstoun House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Houstoun House

Address: West Lothian, Uphall EH52 6JS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Uphall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uphall
Price Range: $97 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Houstoun House 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a secluded spot near Livingston just west of Edinburgh, and set in 22 acres of beautiful woodlands, Macdonald Houstoun House is the perfect country hotel and retreat. Once visited by Mary Queen of Scots, the historic building has the classic grace of a 16th century Tower House. Inside, 70 rooms blend luxury and character, with a unique feature bedroom in the Tower For food-lovers, the Jeremy Wares at Houstoun House restaurant has two AA Rosettes for excellent local ingredients, expertly cooked in season. In the cellar, the cosy Vaulted Bar is the perfect spot for a drink or afternoon tea. Our Leisure Club and Spa have ample scope for working off the calories and a host of rejuvenating treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Houstoun House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Houstoun House Hotel Livingston
Macdonald Houstoun Hotel
Macdonald Houstoun Livingston
Houston House Hotel
Macdonald Houstoun House Uphall, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing