We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing but Pricey...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Houstoun House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uphall
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stayed two nights midweek with a deal my partner had as part of he hotel group. This meant we saved well, which was good, however out with that, bar prices and food prices outwith the deal were too high for the relevant value. Spa and pool were excellent though and being able to relax there was fabulous and not too busy either.

Staff in main very helpful. But have to name in person receptionist Stephanie Grant. Her attention to our room and deal details was excellent, helpful, courteous, informative and always .

Would return, but if there was similar deal available, will miss the pool though....

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaggieM316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2015

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,163 - 1,169 of 1,534 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

We arrived early at the hotel to find our room (Room 65) was not ready for us yet. As we were in Livingstone to go to the outlet shopping village, we set off there and said we would collect our keys on our return. We returned later on to find our room had changed to Room 22. Obviously someone else wanted a swap, and we got moved. The room was nice but compact. We also did not realise, until evening, that we were directly opposite the function suite. Thumping music till 1 am !! Then noisy guests leaving the function.

We could not fault the food. We had our evening meal and breakfast at the hotel. Both times the choice and quality of food was excellent. The restaurant staff were friendly and helpful.

We had drinks in the bar which was warm, friendly and inviting. Drink prices were expensive, but that is normal in this standard of hotel.

We never had time to use leisure or spa facilities.

Would we stay again in this hotel - yes. Would we recommend this hotel - yes. Would we stay in Room 22 again - no. I would make sure that I asked for a quiet room, away from the function suite.

Room Tip: Room 22 is opposite the function suite. Not good if you want an early night and there is a function...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2015

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Lovely hotel however drink is majorly overpriced and not worth it. I've been to a couple of functions there and you really notice the contraband drink which is brought in.

You would do better as a hotel to charge a reasonable amount and you would profit from it!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lbxbgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2015

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

i'd been to this hotel a few times but it had been about 5 years since my last visit but i wasn't dissapointed. Anna on reception was lovely and sorted our room after a wee mix up, we wanted a twin but got a double. Room was lovely and clean and beds were really comfy. We had a couple of drinks in the bar before dinner, its a wee bit pricey but thats the only fault. Dinner was in the Jeremy Wares Resaurant and was wonderful, great choice and nothing was rushed. Fantastic breakfast in the morning with an amazing choice. Staff were fabulous and we cant wait to go back, its still got the wow factor.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angela s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2015

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Excellent spa treatments. Hour long full body massage and hour long facial using Elemis products. Very relaxing. Used pool, Diana and steam room. Clean changing facilities and showers. Lunch was included in deal. Good choice of 4 set menus. Food was lovely. My only complaint was that I found the hotel cold. After swimming etc this was very uncomfortable. All in all though I had a wonderful day and would recommend the spa day

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Bernc0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2015

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a wonderful night. From check in to check out everything was great. The food in the restaurant was fantastic at both dinner and breakfast and our room was spacious and extremely comfortable. One I would definitely recommend. X

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank fififlowerpot131081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2015

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

It is with great disappointment that I write this review. My sister-in-law (Fiona) and I were due to enjoy a relaxing spa day including treatments tomorrow. My sister-in -law has enjoyed several spa days at different MacDonald hotels and has always been very impressed with the facilities and friendliness of the staff.
Knowing that I expect very high standards Fiona had booked a spa day complete with three different treatments for us to indulgence in at this renowned hotel. We took the day off work especially for this. Following booking and payment with a third party we were asked to contact the hotel directly to confirm our treatment times. My sister-in- law, Fiona Lambie phoned the spa directly and was informed that the booking was confirmed and we would be contacted later by Emma with details of treatment times as she was the only member of staff to book treatments. Fiona did think this was bit strange that only one member of staff could confirm treatment times but had faith in the MacDonald chain and had no reason to believe there would be a problem. Fiona then awaited a phone call that did not come.
Having not heard from Emma or any other member of staff from the MacDonald spa to confirm our treatment times by the following morning, Fiona phoned yet again. Unbelievably, this time, she was informed that there was no booking in our names and the spa was indeed full and had no space to offer any treatments for the day we had booked for. Fiona was informed that Emma had contacted her on Saturday to cancel the booking. This phone call did not happen!!! So after confirming booking on Saturday lunchtime and receiving no contact at all either by phone call or email by Sunday lunchtime we were informed there was no booking now! If we hadn’t taken the initiative to phone again on Sunday to confirm our treatment times we would have turned up on Monday morning excited and looking forward to a full day of relaxation and pampering.
You can imagine our disappointment and complete dismay at how this could happen with no explanation?!
I then telephoned the spa directly and spoke to Mark and asked to speak to Emma personally and was told that she was absent today. I enquired when it would be possible to speak to her, perhaps Monday, to be told she would be in meetings all day?! I was not at all happy with this response. I wanted to speak to Emma directly as Fiona was informed on Saturday lunchtime that Emma was the only person who could confirm treatment times and it was indeed Emma who had supposedly contacted my sister-in-law to cancel the day before. Mark did apologise for this but informed me that Emma is not the only person who can confirm treatments so why couldn’t our treatment times have been confirmed by the original phone call???
In this MacDonald hotel it seems that not all staff are trained to confirm treatment times. It is very disappointing service from a top hotel??!!
When queried what would have happened if we had turned up on Monday morning Mark, the spa staff member replied that the question was a rhetorical one. Disgusted by this response I went on to ask why we were not contacted if our spa day was no longer confirmed and had indeed been cancelled. I was then told that because Fiona had phoned on Sunday morning she had been told of the cancellation. So we only found out that our day had been cancelled because Fiona had phoned on Sunday to confirm treatment times as we hadn’t heard from any member of staff.

So there was no phone call or email confirming cancellation.
In summary, your spa break can be confirmed and cancelled within 24 hours, not all staff are trained in confirming treatment times, staff do not take responsibility in informing you of any cancellation and you are not able to speak to the one member of staff who was dealing with your booking.
Needless to say we would not advise anyone to book a spa day at this particular MacDonald hotel.
We are extremely disappointed to have no spa day booked after taking the day off work especially!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
3  Thank Nell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a reply. Unfortunately your reservation made through a third party came to the spa when all appointments were already full. We contacted you as soon as this was realised. We close our availability with third parties when the spa is full to avoid such incident, unfotunately your reservation came when completing this process. Of course, all money was refunded right away but again I apologise for the inconvenince this clearly has caused you.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uphall
2.8 mi away
Mercure Livingston
Mercure Livingston
#3 of 4 in Livingston
574 reviews
8.9 mi away
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
5.9 mi away
Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Livingston (M8, Jct3) Hotel
2 mi away
Livingston Lodge Hotel
Livingston Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Livingston
67 reviews
5.2 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Houstoun House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Houstoun House

Address: West Lothian, Uphall EH52 6JS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Uphall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uphall
Price Range: $107 - $1,704 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Houstoun House 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a secluded spot near Livingston just west of Edinburgh, and set in 22 acres of beautiful woodlands, Macdonald Houstoun House is the perfect country hotel and retreat. Once visited by Mary Queen of Scots, the historic building has the classic grace of a 16th century Tower House. Inside, 70 rooms blend luxury and character, with a unique feature bedroom in the Tower For food-lovers, the Jeremy Wares at Houstoun House restaurant has two AA Rosettes for excellent local ingredients, expertly cooked in season. In the cellar, the cosy Vaulted Bar is the perfect spot for a drink or afternoon tea. Our Leisure Club and Spa have ample scope for working off the calories and a host of rejuvenating treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Houstoun House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Houstoun House Hotel Livingston
Macdonald Houstoun Hotel
Macdonald Houstoun Livingston
Houston House Hotel
Macdonald Houstoun House Uphall, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing