We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy Buddha experience!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hungry Buddha

The Hungry Buddha
Reserve with
The Hungry Buddha is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Curtin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Tibetan, Nepali, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Hungry Buddha began its life in mid-2011 with two simple goals mind, too cook authentic Nepalese food, and serve our customers with a genuine and friendly hospitality. Two friends, Lachhu Thapa and Benjamin Richardson, have come together to turn this concept into a reality. Priding themselves on staying true to their original goals of traditional food and great service.Located in the centralised suburb of Curtin in south Canberra, The Hungry Buddha is tucked away down-stairs in the ever surprising Curtin shops. Hard to find...but once you do prepare to be greeted by the delicate spiced aroma of a traditional Nepalese kitchen, and the native Nepali influenced stylings of this atypical space. Just 10 minutes from Civic, much closer then Nepal.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Happy Buddha experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have been here twice now and have found the food,service and atmosphere to be enjoyable and will visit again. The menu provides a good choice of entree main and dessert (love the pistachio ice cream!) -we have tried beef,lamb and goat dishes and all had full flavor and were tender-also has good vege options on menu. The service was fairly well paced and staff were efficient and unobtrusive. I also love the decor and the little bookshop next door is lovely for a wander!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Buzzbuzzbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    60
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
416 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Not the best experience.... and pricey!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We tried this restaurant on the recommendation of a friend. Firstly, the service is excellent and the atmosphere good. However, we found the food disappointing for the price. The meal with drinks for two cost $75 which was on the high side. Our real concern was the next day we both had tummy upsets suggesting something from the food, possibly the handling (and I am a veteran traveler to India so, have pretty good resistance!) YMMV

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wing6rider-Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Little gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I didn't have high hopes to find a nice restaurant at Curtin shops when I was staying nearby but this place was an excellent surprise. Delicious food, attentive serivce and reasonable prices. You will find it down some stairs adjacent a big used bookshop that is open late sort of in the heart of Curtin shops.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank blindjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thapa8848, Owner at The Hungry Buddha, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thanks!!! I am sure we will see you again. We endeavour to provide the best service and food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nepalese memories in Curtin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Location. The Curtin shops are easy to get to from anywhere in Canberra and over the past year there has been a surge of new businesses opening which has enhanced the vibe of a well-looked after and bustling suburban centre. The restaurant itself is underground and a little hard to spot next to the chemist. Parking is plentiful. The restaurant is not wheelchair-accessible but takeaway is available and the staff will bring food upstairs if you ask.

Décor. The restaurant has a smart modern décor which uses to excellent effect the chandeliers and mirror from the previous restaurant on the site. Particularly attractive are the grass-green and mountain-scree coloured feature walls which would remind those people who have been trekking in Nepal of the grassy meadows of the middle ranges, or the high-mountain scree slopes above Tengboche monastery in eastern Nepal. Tables and flooring are teak in colour and chairs are comfortable to sit on. Seating around the edges of the restaurants is on padded benches, as it is in the tea houses of the country. The music is soft and traditional, and this is fine if you like traditional instrumental Nepalese music but not so good if you’re after something from the 20th century or later.

Drinks. They offer the same hot-lemon drink that can be had when walking in the Himalaya to sustain fluid levels at altitude in the cold, but this can only be obtained on request and is not shown in the menu. Other than that there are decent wines and the normal beverages.

Mains. My favourite dish is the Nepalese Salmon. It is the most delicious piece of salmon, perfectly cooked to a light crust on the outside while remaining juicy inside, and with the lightest dusting of Nepalese spices … it should be savoured in small morsels to extend the pleasure of eating such a beautifully tasting dish. The fish is complemented by aside serving of an unusual mix of spinach and onions. This is a dish that one can dream of having again.

Of the remaining vegetarian mains, the two which standout as offering memories of trekking in Nepal are Maas Ko Daal, black lentils, from the dine in menu only, and Aloo Gobi, potato with cauliflower. They are served spicier than in the tea houses on the trekking routes, and the sauces are more watery. The Jhaneko Daal, lentils, and Aloo Tama, potatoes with bamboo shoots and black eyed beans, are welcome variations on the two trekking stalwarts. The taste of the food seems to be more influenced by the cooking of western Nepal than the east. The cook says that Nepalese food is different from Indian food becauseIndian food is about the taste of the spices, whereas Nepalese food retains the taste and texture of the ingredients and does not let the spice take over.

I normally have the food as takeaway, but the salmon should only be eaten in the restaurant.

Service. The staff and two owners are exceptionally friendly especially if you have some sort of connection with Nepal. The staff are also very attentive without being intrusive.

Anyone who eats here will know that they are getting the same honest food that they would get when walking into a local home in Nepal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thapa8848, Owner at The Hungry Buddha, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thanks!! I am glad that we bring you memories of Nepal here in Australia. We will do what we can to provide more variations on our Menu and the best service and serve Nepal right here in Curtin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Went there last week with my wife. Had a really nice dinner which included entree, dinner and desert. For the entree we had the mixed platter, everthing served on it was briiilant, with the samosa(or dim sim thing??) being my personal favorite. Then mains we had the Nepalese dhicken dish and the black lentils dish, both were superb with my favorite being the lentils (almost sweet in flavour). Then was desert wher we got the rice pudding and a greek yoghurt with fruit, unfortunately niether of these took my fancy, not to say they were bad, just not great. Will deffinately be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Timeeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hungry Buddha also viewed

Curtin, Canberra
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Belconnen, Canberra
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to The Hungry Buddha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing