We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Niche hotel for those interested in a quiet Beach experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Silver Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silver Point Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silver Sands
Macon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
379 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Niche hotel for those interested in a quiet Beach experience”
Reviewed October 12, 2008

If you want night life, lots of shopping, fancy restaurants,loads of people---they're all available at other hotels, but not Silverpointe. If you seek a nice, friendly staff, asequestered location, good food at a reasonable(resort level) price, a nearly private beach, along with 2 swimming pools, plenty of lounges,AND lounge beds, and quiet time to read and thoroughly relax---then you'll love Silverpoint. WE stayed a week for my wife's birthday, and enjoyed the beautiful water, the wonderful beach, and the nice room facilities. We had an ocedan-front suite on the first floor, with microwave, refrigerator, large TV, dvd player,etc. The TV channels are fairly limited(4 just news channels and a Baqrbados promtional channel)of the 15 available. However, unless the weather stinks,you're not in the room watching TV anyway. Weird accessory-they provide a coffee maker in the room---but no coffee,either bring your own or head for Douglas mimi-mart (abot a 2 block 10 minute walk), We enjoyed the food at the restaurant on the property. Momma Mias on the way into Bridgetown was pretty good Italian---with a large sel\ection. Note!!AVOID Chefette for fast food. It was terrible,slow lousy service,and tasteless food.THe minibus and Big buses can all be caught just accross from Douglas store. The cos is $.75/person in either case. We took the big bus all the way to the north end 1 day to see what was there and then back. Cost up and back for 2 was $3 USD. However, not much to see except some sugar cane fields so take the return at the bus station half way point. Overall, we enjoyed the peace and quiet, the friendly, helpful staff, the nice beach and room, and good food right on the oceanfront. The first line of this is all available a short bus/cab ride away, but for that different atmosphere I suggest you stay over there. This is definitely a great place toget away from the hustle and fast pace we normally face every other day of our lives.

  • Liked — beuatiful private beach scene
  • Disliked — noisy bed that needs a new mattress/box spring
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kingfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    225
    90
    34
    14
See reviews for
62
396
36
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2008

The Siver Point Villa Hotel was everything we had hoped it would be based on pictures and reviews. Wonderful!!! We stayed September 22-October 2, 2008 for our honeymoon in room 118 on the third floor (no evevator, good workout!). We had an ocean front studio and waking up every day and being able to see the ocean from bed was amazing! Plasma screen tv, great shower, DVD player, iPod docking station, little kitchen with silverware and dishes, stylish drying rack on the patio, good size fridge, ironing board... everything. Room service was great and they washed the tile every day. Even better was having breakfast delivered and eating on our private patio overlooking the ocean and our own little beach. All the beaches are public, but there were only a few locals that came around. It's so secluded, but only 10 minutes to St. Lawrence Gap, 20 to busy Bridgetown, which we avoided. Gorgeous, private, safe (gated parking area with 24 hour security guards) with everything you need. We borrowed the laptop every night or went to the Surfer's Cafe in town to check e-mail. The food was amazing, gourmet, the staff were friendly and helpful and the whole experience was like a dream. The hotel was under construction during the day (it's off season), but we were out and about driving all over the island anyway. Driving was quite the experience! They finished putting down new wood boards over the concrete walkways by the time we left. We loved how small and non-resort like this hotel was, so I hope the expansion does not change the intimate atmosphere. My favorite was after snorkling or hanging out on the beach, you walk back up to the deck, lay in a day bed fit for a queen to dry off, read, relax....it was wonderful. I hope if we ever have the opportunity to return, it will be there, back in room 118. We miss falling asleep to the sound of ocean waves and tree frogs.

  • Liked — Location and wonderful staff
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DreaSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2008

We have just come back from Barbados and stayed at the Silverpoint Hotel from the 20th to 26th Sep and then The Crane from the 26th to 29th. We had read all of the reviews on the Silverpoint before we went and really found it hard to believe that they were all true...... well they are!!!!! This place is fabulous.... my first impression was that I had stepped in to beautiful boutique hotel. In fact boutique hotel is the perfect way to describe this place, it is not a massive complex with a load of amenities (which suited us fine) but what is there is of high quality with the addition of a very personal service (especially the bar staff). The rooms are decortated quite chic in white with 4 poster beds, ipod docking stations, plasma TV, DVD palyer (the hotel loan DVD's) and a small kitchen. The beach and decking area with the 4 poster sun beds are really something else.. a true piece of heaven. The food/drinks there are really reasonable and of high qulaity.... we ate a 3 course dinner and drank wine, beer and cocktails till early hours and it costs us £50 for 2. The hotel is in the middle of a housing estate but the locals are really friendly and the beach is empty in the week. To tour the island there is a mini van which costs 37p one way and takes you anywhere, there was always a taxi outside the hotel to take you around (St Lawence Gap costs £7.50) or the hotel arranged us car hire for £25 per day.
I would just say that the photos on the website do not do the hotel justice it is far more beautiful than they depict. Having the choice of staying here or at The Crane (where we had our own private infinity pool) I would choose Silverpoint every time!!!!! You really need to stay at this place to believe it yourself!!!!

  • Liked — The decing area with the 4 poster beds
  • Disliked — The receptionist Mellisa- she was quite rude
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AmazedManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

We just returned from a week at Silver Point and we are still raving about our time there. From the day we arrive to the day we left we had the most wonderful experience. We had an oceanfront room on the third floor with a fabulous view of the ocean and the front of the hotel and restaurant. The suite was clean, well equipped and the bed was one of the most comfortable ones we've ever had in a hotel. We found Silver Point to be very laid back and quiet. If you want to just chill on the beach or by the pool on the cool beds it is a beautiful setting. There are also plenty of other things you can take advantage of like renting a car and exploring the island, going on a catamaran and snorkeling or just relaxing which is what we chose to do. We found everyone who worked there to be extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant was excellent. We had read many reviews and the food was outstanding. Tamara at the bar and Sam in the office were great!! My husband and I were celebrating our 10th anniversary and his birthday while there and it was absolutely the best place we could have picked. We cannot wait to go back!!

  • Liked — Most comfortable bed, clean and well appointed.
  • Disliked — third floor, lots of steps
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BEACHGRL35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2008

Just returned from the Silver Point and had a wonderful trip. The resort is undergoing some renovations - but it wasn't a bother at all. We stayed across the street in a 1 bedroom oceanview suite. The suite feels like an apartment and has a living room (with kitchenette), small hallway, updated bathroom (minus a tub - only shower), and a bedroom. The furniture was showing a little wear, but fairly nice. We had a balcony with table an chairs and a great view. The rooms are extremely spacious and clean. The internet is fairly sketchy, but works well in the lobby area. The only downside of the suite was the doors (sounds weird, I know). The doors going into each room were exterior doors - so it felt a little "institutional." There is a/c in the bedroom - but the rest of the suite is HOT (hardly anyone has a/c in Barbados - including restaurants). We kept the bedroom door open each day and it kept the suite mostly cool (cool enough). Food at the resort is decent. The bar/restaurant area is small, but nice. There are 2 pools, a very nice sun deck (overlooking the beach), and a beautiful, small beach. All very nice and beautiful. The resort is in a residential area and we walked to the local bus (#11) daily. Never once did we feel unsafe or even uncomfortable.
When walking to the bus (#11) from the beach side of the resort turn Left. Go to the first street and turn Right. Go to the very next street and turn Left. When you reach the end of this street (1 block) turn Right and there will be a small market store (great for stocking up water, soda, snacks, etc) and also the bus pick-up/drop-off. The #11 costs .75 (US) per person per ride. This bus goes from Silver Point to Bridgetown. You can get off anywhere in between (the Gap, etc). It will be filled with mainly locals - again, completely safe. It is an experience - but MUCH cheaper than a cab ride.
Bridgetown isn't much to brag about - but worth going to once. Holetown is quite the tourist, shopping area (very nice, expensive). St. Lawrence Gap is a nice evening hang-out place. Do NOT miss Oistin's Fish Fry on Friday night!!! Brown Sugar is a great restaurant (close to Bridgetown - near the Hilton). Cafe Sol in the Gap is GREAT Mexican food and reasonably priced. David's Place (the Gap) was also very good and a great atmosphere. All in all, the food is pretty incredible everywhere. We didn't have a bad meal the entire trip. The water is safe to drink and I did drink tap water for the entire trip. Most things are pretty pricey - but not completely ridiculous.
We did the Islan Safari tour and loved it. Great way to be able to see the entire island. The road system is terrible (to say the least), so I wouldn't recommend renting a car.
Great trip that I would recommend to anyone. It's not touristy - but that's great!

  • Liked — Small, private, clean
  • Disliked — A little out of the way
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Leah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Silverpoint for our honeymoon. While on the side of the street away from the beach, our room was on the top floor and in the front, with a beautiful view of the beach/ocean.

The room was top-notch. The most comfortable bed I've ever had in a hotel and the furnishings were very modern and nice.

While the rooms are nice, the best part is definitely the bar and restaurant! Everyone is extremely nice and accommodating, especially the evening crew. Ian, Rashell and Shane are simply the best! If you go, tell them Josh and Ashley sent you and be sure to give them a good tip! Also, compliments to Greg in the kitchen, for some of the best food I've ever eaten.

All in all, I have nothing negative to report. Everyone was helpful (thanks Samantha and Melissa in the office!), arranging for taxis, rental cars, excursions, etc.

Don't worry about not being on the west coast. Just rent a car (Stingray) and drive. It's easy and relatively inexpensive and fun.

  • Liked — Friendly helpful staff, excellent food and drink, secluded location
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jmcneese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2008

After being unsuspectingly added to the long list of recently laid off Wall Streeters, I needed to majorly get away and relax. A friend of mine and I headed to Barbados which I had visited before. From many of the reviews and photos, Silver Point was our pick and we were not disappointed in the very least. The suite was superb - good size bedroom, modern bathroom, and nicely decorated living area and patio. The staff was very accomodating - called taxis, worked around our schedule when cleaning our room, offered selection of DVDs and loaner laptop, attended to us in a friendly manner at the bar/restaurant, and didn't charge us for staying beyond check-out time due to an early evening flight. The adjacent beach for awesome wind/kite surfing as well as swimming is lovely and the perfect view from most of the rooms. St. Lawrence Gap and Oistins are a quick taxi ride away as is the airport for a convenient location for a good price. We highly recommend Silver Point Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzylee02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Sands
3.7 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
1,954 reviews
11.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,000 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
3.6 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dover
589 reviews
4.4 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Point Hotel

Property: Silver Point Hotel
Address: Silver Sands Beach, Silver Sands, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Silver Sands
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silver Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Point Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, Jetsetter, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Point Hotel Barbados/Silver Sands
Silver Point Christ Church
Silver Point Barbados

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing