We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property - weird taxi ride!”
Review of Silver Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Silver Point Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silver Sands
St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great property - weird taxi ride!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

So, we flew into Barbados late at night...around 10:30pm. A very long day on numerous airplanes. We staggered out of the airport to the long line of taxis, where a gentleman offered to take us to the Silver Point, since he knew where it was. There was no TAXI sign on the car, and it just looked like a private car inside. We were too tired to care. He said he would "take us on a short cut", which took us around the end of the airport, on dirt roads, through back alleys, past grassy fields, up a hill, down a switchback, around corners, past goats & chickens, well you get the idea. We were wondering seriously if this was how our lives would end...in some random alley in the back streets of Barbados.

All of a sudden, he shouts "Here we are!!!" and he pulled up to the hotel's entrance. I guess we'll die another day :)

From that point on, our stay was great. Check in and check out were easy, the room was nice, clean and functional, if not fancy. We got good wi-fi, even from across the street. We had an amazing breakfast on the deck overlooking the beach, and the deck had numerous daybeds for guest use, which was an unexpected surprise.

The beach wasn't great for swimming on that particular day, but the water was warm and the scenery was breathtaking.

When it came time to leave, we asked the desk to call us a taxi. This time, the van had a TAXI sign on the roof, and it was obviously a real cab. We couldn't wait to see the "real" route back to airport, now that it was daylight. Guess what? He took the EXACT same route, turn-for-turn, alley-for-alley, as the previous driver!!! We had a good laugh about it.

By the way, to all previous reviewers - those aren't crickets, they are whistling tree frogs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rard58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    228
    93
    34
    15
See reviews for
62
400
36
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Overall thought the rooms were excellent at this hotel and was very pleasantly surprised with what we got for our money.

Big warning though - the crickets sound like fire alarms and are persistent throughout the night. Was very relieved that I had kept my ear plugs from the plane otherwise I would have gone insane.

The facilities were good, the beach was good for viewing, but the close rocks and strong currents made in inhibiting to venture into.

The pool and outside area were good for days when you wanted to chillax and the proximity of the number 11 reggae bus stop into Oistins or the more busier and more hospitable beach and resort areas of Accra, Rockley, Hastings etc. good for when you wanted a change of scene, more evening options etc.

Food menu seemed reasonable for breakfast and lunch, but at evening it was expensive. A potential problem if you are unhappy spending on taxis or getting the reggae bus to go up the coast in the evening.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs to block out the noise from the crickets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gillkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I've been to many places but this one was just perfect for people who want to run away from crowds, traffic and town centre.

We have stayed there in May 2013 and I have to say I will be back there as soon as I can.

The hotel rooms are small with massive bed, very clean bathroom and air condition. Easy access to absolutely fantastic beach which at the time we went there was completely empty.

Hotel staff was fabulous and we had so much laugh with ladies on the reception as well as bar staff.

Food in hotel is bit expensive but good quality and worth the money.

on the leaving day one lady from the bar told us some secrets of Bajan cooking as well as treated us with nice drink, special non menu food and jug of Bajan herbs given to us by chef.

If you are planning to go to Barbados for first time - you can be very confident that this hotel will fit your needs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itsupportbay_Marcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Clean environment with friendly staff. The chirping sound is constant. Its near the beach which i find is rough for bathing though but nice to wake up to the view. Lovely seating accommodation. Not much activities close by so you have to be mobile.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leesha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had a great time at this hotel. Our condo had an ocean view but was not waterfront - take a moment to think about the difference if you never have... It was clean, nice and on the 3rd floor. It was a super helpful place- they got a taxi to jump us when I left the lights on in my chevy spark - tiny compact. The beach area as great - was offered some weed if you're into that you can score here - we declined. This spot is the best sport on barabados to watch kitesurfers and they put on a great show. We liked laying in the hotel sunbeds - reading and tanning and watching kitesurfers. Staff was awesome.

We traveled on the 3rd week of February which is when schools are on break in the northeast and is typically one of the busiest weeks to vacation if you work in education - as we do.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOBIlls213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herrenberg, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We can definitely recommend this hotel. It shows that a holiday on Barbados doesn´t have to be expensive. The beach and the food is extraordinary as well as the friendliness of the staff. Try the local fish dishes!! We liked the location of the hotel very much as it is far away from the busy south coast. We also loved to watch the kite surfers at the beach. The sand is pink-white with turquoise water and absolute no problem to swim.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

One good stop for a couple of days should you travel to or back from neighbouring Caribbean islands. V happy with proximity to the airport, designery rooms, cool beach lounges - perfect to admire the kitesurfers & the unleashed sea. Nice restaurants and bays nearby as well come handy as this is not the ideal swimming spot with calm & crystal Caribbean sea.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IoanaBozan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Sands
3.7 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,012 reviews
4.4 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
292 reviews
11.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
613 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,563 reviews
6.3 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Point Hotel

Property: Silver Point Hotel
Address: Silver Sands Beach, Silver Sands, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Silver Sands
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silver Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Point Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Point Hotel Barbados/Silver Sands
Silver Point Christ Church
Silver Point Barbados

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing