We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great easy place to stay”
Review of Silver Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Silver Point Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silver Sands
Lancashire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great easy place to stay”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Close to airport. Very casual hotel right on the beach. Loads of kite surfing going on.
Rooms comfortable and if you get partial ocean sea view pleasant.
Food available on site, casual dining,nice food and bar are all very good.
Staff helpful, especially reception staff that can assist with car hire, etc...... Recommend car hire because of location.... Unless want to use local transport or taxi. Good place to chill out or to tour island from if you get a car.

Room Tip: Partial sea view on second floor good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kool-puppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    227
    92
    34
    15
See reviews for
62
399
36
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

A friend and I stayed at Silver Point between Dec. 17-20 and had a fantastic time. The hotel wasn't busy, and there was always room to lounge on one of the beds or watch the kite surfers from the sun deck.

The food at the restaurant was fantastic, although the hotel is a bit out of the way so you'll need a car if you want to go into town or be comfortable taking the public transit.

We met some fantastic friends ,and even walked down the beach to a small surf bar and watched the sunset.

The rooms are VERY nice - we stayed in an ocean view suite. Looks just like the photos.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JT_in_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our first trip to the island of Barbados, our choice of hotel was Silver Point. We chose because of the price,the closeness to the Airport,the restaurant on site and the Ocean views. We were not disappointed at all. We had beautiful weather during the first week of December. We had breakfast on site every morning,the food was always good and the wait staff friendly. The bar staff Richelle and Michael, the best. We had drinks everynight at the bar and met very friendly people from all over the globe, the UK, Holland, New York etc. The Beach Front Ocean Front Corner room was awesome, we had a table and chairs, a day bed all over looking the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Absolutely loved the poster beds on the deck, great way to relax. Rented a car one day to go to the East Coast, beautiful beaches, the best was Bottom Bay. We decided that we wanted to go over to Bequia in the Grenadines for a couple of days. The front desk staff went out of their way to make our airplane reservations, this process took a good chunk of time, which we were grateful that someone else was booking. Upon our return stayed our last night again at Silver Point and enjoyed watching the many Kitesurfers. Friday night fish fry at Ostins is a great experience that should not be misssed, the hotel will call you a cab anytime. We felt safe at all times. We also liked the party at St. Lawrence Gap. We would definetly stay here again. The only down side to Silver Point is walking up three flights up stairs with heavy Luggage. Security will help you with luggage if needed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingpinkhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

A fantastic hotel situated on a fantastic quiet beach . Could not fault it apart from the noise from the staff in the morning (7:30 am) . Could of done with some local info like busses to town ! The surrounding area is a bit of a shanty town with locals but they seemed ok , try and sell you a few drugs ! Be polite and there fine .

To catch a bus into town is a 5 minute walk away but very simple , the little mini buses to look out for are white with a maroon stripe down the side with the number 11 on them , you can take it all the way to Bridgetown for 2 Barbadian dollars or 1 us dollar . Stop of at oystins great local dishes , and 4 local beers 10 Barbadian dollars ( banks beer ) .

Over all great value for money , better beaches on west coast but the 1 at oystins is lovely . When leaving the island check in early and take a look at he concord next to the airport , around £15 I think but worth it all day long ! A heat way to finish your holiday off !!!

Also a quick reminder the 2 dogs outside the hotel (sandy coloured, and a little scruffy 1 ) are best buddies and are homeless even 1 having a collar on , are so friendly every night we would come home to the hotel they would run up to us for our left over bits . , so if you have leftovers from the fine food think of these 2 .

If your thinking of very hectic place to visit this hotel is not for you so wonderfully chilled out !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights over a long weekend here at Silver Point and had a fantastic time overall. The service was great, food was delicious and we even popped into their sales office considering to buy a unit of their condos...not too bad pricing for some decent returns.

Anyways, the resort was high end without being snooby, but as we aren't wind surfers or para sailers, this end of the island was a bit windy for us.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Went to Barbados for the first time from the UK, and being in our early to mid twenties had a bit of a budget to stick to. We chose Silver Point having booked very late with very few options and it seemed to be the nicest option despite rumours of bad weather, reburbs and prices!

Having now done our week out there I would say that Silverpoint is in a great, authentic location, with one of the best beaches I saw on my whole trip. The rooms are nice, and the bed was huge but we were not particularly impressed with the wardrobe space or the cleanliness as there were public hairs on the shower wall and handprints all up the bathroom door. However the staff are very nice which makes up for that, Rochelle on the bar and all her friends that work there are great, the reception staff are very pleasant too.

The pool is nice but small, however as it was quiet is was quite a nice little area to go to cool down, but not really a pool for keen swimmers! The sea however is excellent; very warm, clear and shallow quite far out. The sea is usually full of kite surfers, but they are well out of the way from the swimmers. We saw some turtles there one evening and it is very clean. The guys that sell things on the beach are a bit of a pain, but they are polite and they do take no for an answer, thankfully.

The food is excellent but very expensive. I would recommend the lunch menu but for the evenings, take a $2 bus to Oistins (Angels was nice) or St Lawrence Gap (has to be cafe sol) for a more reasonable priced meal or better atmosphere respectively. The shop at the hotel is also a bit steep, especially for drink, so take a short walk to the little grubby shop down the road and it is cheap as chips.

Don't bother with taxi's unless youre going to or from the airport. The shuttles are fun, reasonably well driven and quite safe. You will save a small fortune. Also, dont pay to swim with turtles, they are at the Oistins pier everyday and fish guts from the neibouring market are free (this brings them over very quickly!). Miss out on Mount Gay Rum tours; they are ridiculously dear and are so disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weves87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I decide to stay at the silver point after looking on virgin holidays and found a good deal the place looked Nice clean and the weather would be good...the hotel staff are very un motivated they say the management offer them no food all day and they seem to be in a bad mood. This excludes the bar staff a guy Michael and woman rochelle are very helpful an friendly and always smiling.shame about the rest..the rooms are always clean and the maids have always been polite .after finding the shop keeper asleep many times on the counter I opted out going there.I found all the problems I had here and issued with the reception that they had no authority to dO anything so everytime had to call the manager who clearly had poor management skills I would not rate the hotel as a virgin holiday. I actually feel sorry for the staff as they have no motivation. There was also many guests outside the hotel just coming in locals, with about 10 kids taking over a small pool we complained that there was no sunbeds for the guests and thy next day they was still here..way to treat paying customers! Would stay in an apartment next time And agree with the previous review! Wouldn't return

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boatyard123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Sands
3.7 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
11.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
3.6 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
4.4 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Point Hotel

Property: Silver Point Hotel
Address: Silver Sands Beach, Silver Sands, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Silver Sands
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silver Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Point Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silver Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Point Hotel Barbados/Silver Sands
Silver Point Christ Church
Silver Point Barbados

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing