We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under new management very good facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pentire Haven Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Have just arrived home from a long weekend at Pentire Haven and loved it.

The park is under new management and could find very little to complain about so the older reviews on this site are now completely out of date.

The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming and great for information too. We were provided with a tourist information pack when we arrived. The site is gated and a £5 deposit is needed for the pass card.

It was very quiet but we were staying before summer holidays began. We had two standard pitches but upgraded one when we got there to get electric. The toilet blocks and showers are kept clean with a good supply of hot water which was well tested with 10 of us using the showers around the same time. The grounds are also well kept.

We didn't use the leisure club next door as we ran out of time but the facilities looked good and a reasonable price. We ate one night at the restaurant and the food and service was very good but the entertainment was very loud and it wasn't an atmosphere productive to conversation.

We only purchased one thing from the shop as someone forgot to bring a ground sheet -reasonably priced. Very little food in the shop but enough for those things that you forget or enough to see you through until you can get to Morrisons Sainsbury's or Co-op. All are in Bude and very easy to access.

I would definitely use this campsite again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank xxemilycxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PentireHaven, Manager at Pentire Haven Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to greeting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 233 of 233 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed here at Whit week with the kids after booking it over the phone, It appears that the site has recently been taken over and is having some money spent on it as we write this. Hence a lot of the reviews are out of date regarding the rude and arrogant owner, who I personally saw no site or sound of? It appeared upon checking that all the site around and about near here were full this week, but Pentire was far from full! which I have to say suited us. We stayed with our caravan and had an easy to get to level pitch that was not a super pitch, but as nobody else was there we could remain plumb into the water all week without and issues. We were next to the very new and always clean toilet block which as mentioned else where does need you to run the water taps for a while before you get hot water, but then if you are the only one there then thats going to happen? The shop does lack stock and choice but there is a Morrisons and Sainsburys in Bude so who cares really just stock up a little. I do have to say that the kids were banned by us from using the play area as it is surrounded by sand and if it was wet then they were going to get coated in the stuff, so that needs to change really as far as we are concerned. But they didn't care too much as the access roads had a great slope for their scooters so they were happy. We used the indoor pool of the site next door which is cheap to use and the Mrs had a great massage their which was half the price of the ones at home she tells me! Overall good site that appears to be improving, still got a few things to sort out, weeds growing in the hard standing, poor stock in the shop, quite a lot of mud on the initial access roads near the entrance all tarmac after that and then sand around the play area otherwise great place lovely and quiet almost to ourselves all week just how we like it. Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Thank you for your comments,regarding the kids park, we did look at options from the supplier and were advised against bark as this marked clothes ! Sand being the best option when dry!
Shop.. very difficult as we cannot compete so have decided just to keep basic emergency items only. Grounds generally, as always work in progress, which I feel with a little more time we will have spot on.
Very pleased as we have just been awarded AA 4 pennant 84%.
hope yo see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

At first glance this site seemed clean and well appointed; however once you settle in you start to notice the issues. Toilet blocks were cold and it took forever to get any hot water out of the pipes, especially in the gents. Our 'super pitch' had damaged connections which the staff made no effort to repair. The site shop is useless and doesn't even stock fresh milk.
ALL of the entertainment facilities advertised including the pool are in fact part of an adjoining site and although you have access this is not as advertised.
Plus the fact that Bude is miles from ANYWHERE, take my advice and actualy head south or north by 20 miles. Cornwall and Devon have a lot to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thund3rbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We like to receive comments good or bad as we then have some feedback we can act on. As new owners we are aware of a few teething issues, central heating boiler had a fault(now cured) hot water to basins can be slow to arrive if not used for a while. Early /late season this could be an issue.(looking into it) Milk is provided in the way of long life cartons as we cannot order sufficient quantities to get a delivery early/late season. The leisure facilities are advertised as being on Penstowe and we have arranged a substantial discount for our guests. Bude 20 miles from anywhere?Not sure the point being made but perhaps that is why ,many people come to North Cornwall?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stibb
3.3 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
682 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Anchor Inn Hartland
The Anchor Inn Hartland
#11 of 11 in Hartland
66 reviews
4.6 mi away
Barton Gate Farm Guesthouse
Barton Gate Farm Guesthouse
#3 of 14 in Holsworthy
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sandymouth Holiday Resort
0.2 mi away
Penstowe Holiday Park
Penstowe Holiday Park
#5 of 7 in Kilkhampton
471 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bude Holiday Resort
Bude Holiday Resort
#10 of 35 in Bude
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pentire Haven Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pentire Haven Holiday Park

Address: Stibb Road, Stibb EX23 9QY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Stibb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Stibb
Price Range: $17 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located Caravan and Campsite in Bude, North Cornwall. Lovely countryside and sea views.Nearby Sandy Beaches.Great for families, pet friendly.Holiday caravans to rent and buy.OPEN ALL YEAR ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and PitchUp so you can book your Pentire Haven Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing