We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look at the tides before going!”
Review of Sandymouth Beach

Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Stibb
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Look at the tides before going!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you turn up at high tide all you will find are shingles and rocks. Opt for low tide and you are faced with a vast expanse of sand - you can walk round to Northcott and Cooklet beaches - and rock pools. Do swim only between the lifeguard flags as currents can be strong otherwise. It's an uneven path down to the beach - it only takes about 5 minutes to walk - but it is sandwiched between a lovely surfing beach and a cafe at the top. (It is not suitable for wheelchairs. Even prams can be a struggle.) If you are a National Trust member, remember to bring your card as it costs £4.50 a day for parking.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    83
    25
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
“Excellent for children”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Currently spending a very nice lazy day at Sandymouth Beach.

Not far from Bude it is part pebbled part sand beach. The way the tide goes out leaves loads of small streams and pool for the kids to explore and play in.

The beach is nice and clean with a lifeguard on duty.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Beautiful beach. Friendly life guards. Only downside is the carpark attendants (volunteers) need to be better organised. Decided the carpark was full and asked a dozen cars to turn around after waiting half hr down the single track road.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bond-lmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very pretty but was not suitable for our family”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a week's holiday at Sandymouth holiday park and decided to try the local beach. The national trust car park is quite steep in comparison to other parks, before paying my husband asked the steward if the beach would be suitable (we have a 15 month old son and I am pregnant) and he assured us that it was only a short walk to the beach and after crossing the shingles we would get to the sandy part of the beach.
Unfortunately we had to carry our son as the walk down could not be navigated with a pram and the "shingles" were in
fact massive, loose pebbles that were incredibly dangerous. I cannot understand why the steward could not have fairly and honestly explained that this beach probably was not ideal for us. It would have saved us money, time and could have avoided potentially a nasty accident.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahinsheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Make sure the tide is out”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Steep hill down to the beach on loose shale, then over the pebbles to the beach, Great when you get past the assult course

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcbeant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandymouth Beach also viewed

Bude, Bude-Stratton
Stibb, Bude-Stratton
 

Been to Sandymouth Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing