We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Marmite you'll either love or hate it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandymouth Holiday Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like Marmite you'll either love or hate it”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I could see that there was a mixed bag of reviews before booking a short break at this Hoseason/ Darwin Holiday Park, but the price seemed good and I thought we'd take a punt after reading the proprieters description of the accomodation we would be using. The actual caravan we were allocated however (No.176) fell short of the mark in our opinion. While 'hard-surface' areas like the kitchen cupboards, kitchen work surfaces and generally the bathroom were all ok,the soft-furnished areas were all very long in the tooth-the curtains to the windows and doors, the carpets and especially the seat coverings were all aspects of the accomodation which didn't benefit from close inspection.

I'd emphasise that this was not a shortcoming of the cleaning staff, but was attributable to long-standing wear and tear (actual minor tear) to the soft furnishings. When mentioning this to the pleasant Reception Staff as we were handing back the keys on our departure (two days before schedule), we were advised that they were in the process of refurbishing a number of caravans and had we mentioned these concerns sooner, they could have offered us some bed sheets to cover the seating areas! In our opinion if they acknowledge that refurbishing was required to make caravan more acceptable, maybe they should consider not letting these caravans until they have been upgraded. If you don't mind a bit of tattiness - go for it, otherwise be advised

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank H0wie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    131
    48
    14
    4
See reviews for
294
61
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights on the 12th September 2011. On arrival we found the park to be claen spacious with friendly staff. We stayed in a Verona caravan (136), overlooking the sheep filled meadow and the beach. The views were breathtaking! The caravan was spotless & well equipped, i was armed with a load of cleaning stuff with i didn't need at all. The children entertainment area looked great, and although we didn't have children with us, i definately come back with them here. All in all if your looking for a relaxing family retreat yet with all the mod cons and great family entertainment on site. Sandymouth holiday park is the place to be. Will definately be coming back!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank little187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Nice holiday park, fab sea views, lovely and clean lodge. Weather wasn't great and only inside things to do were amusement arcade and pool! Everything else was outside, really nice pirate ship playground with life size pirates. Bouncy castle, although this wasn't put up during our weekend probably due to the weather. Outdoor soft play which was no bigger than my bathroom and a real let down as was the crazy golf area. The evening entertainment was also a let down. Kids entertainment supposed to start 6.30pm but told not enough kids, although there were around 10 at the time there. The characters Sebastian and Flounder made a brief appearance but then vanished and then at 8pm it was eyes down for the bingo. Kids were able to play along which was good. Everyone friendly but felt bit let down about lack of facilities. Summerleaze Beach really nice as was our trip to Harlequins soft play on the main road to Bude, next to Morrisons supermarket. There was a 6 floor soft play reasonably priced and next to that a bowling alley, so we were able to mix the two.

Room Tip: We stayed in Hartland lodge which was nice with sea view, BBQ and patio seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vhamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend break - one of these "special deals" you see in local newspapers? We stayed with friends [a married couple with two boys aged 11 and 13] who occupied the caravan next to ours. Never having taken advantage of one of these deals, we arrived with probably not very high expectations, but left being very impressed with the good quality and level of presentation of the caravan we stayed in and of the park facilities generally. The situation of the park is wonderful, with an uninterrupted view of the whole of Bude Bay and even as far as Tintagel Head. Not all the caravans will have this view but most do [ours did]. The caravan we were in [not sure of the make] was modern, clean, smelt nice [I know, but it matters!] and was very well equipped with a full range of kitchen equipment, flatscreen TV and easy to operate DVD player. The main bedroom was small [it was, after all, a caravan] but the bed was comfortable and seemed quite big. There was ample storage space for clothes etcetera and we used the second bedroom to store our luggage and get changed etc. On the site there is a clean, medium-sized indoor 'pool and a sauna. The pool is not that deep - I would guess about 5 feet - but heated [not overheated] and very pleasant. The bar-restaurant is great. It has live entertainment every evening in the summer and serves a vast range of food at reasonable cost. The bar is well-stocked and charges for drinks are at the lower end of normal pub' prices. Most evenings there is a quiz. Without exception those of the staff we encountered were courteous, helpful and professional. Access to the beach is about half a mile down a country lane; the car park is National Trust where a little man takes your money as you drive in. Expect to pay typical Cornish beach parking prices [I think it was around £4.50]. Sandymouth Beach is stunning - a vast expanse of sand backed by impressive cliffs. At high tide the sand is obscured and the remaining beach is pebbles but at all other states of the tide you have sand underfoot. Great surfing but always stay between the red and yellow flags. Another tip: always wear surfing booties or plastic shoes when walking along wet sand or in the shallows, to prevent the ubiquitous weever fish inflicting its excruciatingly painful sting! No fun if one of the kiddies gets it! I speak from experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a 'van with a sea view. Ask is there evening entertainment operating?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paddleboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We booked for a week, and came home 2 days early - nothing to do with the campsite. They put us in the middle of a field and we pleaded to move and after 2 nights they did let us do so. In the ladies, the showers are dirty and slow, and get hotter and hotter and there were only 4 of them. Five toilets and three sinks, with no hair drying facilities which there is on some campsites. They were also closed 3 times in 5 days for cleaning between 11.00 and 12.00 each morning. Their were 3 sinks for washing up, 1 of which was blocked all the time. There was quite a variety of food there, but the things we tried were'nt overly tasty (something like the value range from a supermarket). The food was also quite expensive and when you ordered something, their was around a 30 miniute wait no matter how busy they were.. The entertainment was reasonable, some of the people in the fancy dress costumes scared some of the smaller children. On the plus side, the views were amazing, the lady on reception was very helpful and thanks to a certain daily paper we went very cheap.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seantan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We spent 3 nights at this Hoseasons listed park - if it wasn't for the kids we would have left on day one.
At first sight the park seemed well maintained, clean and orderly. Unfortunately this was just skin deep. Our Milan caravan stank of mould (mainly seen on bathroom wall), there were long grey hairs all over the place from a previous occupant and a used razor in the bathroom. Still we decided to make the best of it and used the dustpan (encrusted in what looked like 10 years worth of dirt) and brush to tidy up a bit and headed for the pool.
What a mess - cubicles had a tide mark of dirt on the floor under the seats. Almost as if whoever mopped up, stood on the seat to do it and only mopped what they could see. Pool had a green swathe of algae (at first glance I thought it was astroturf) from the ladder to the small slide and the push button showers stuck and were seemingly on constantly (lukewarm). We would normally swim every day, but this was our first and last visit.
We did think about complaining but having witnessed the 'mouthful' that the receptionist got from a maintenance guy for reporting a condemned cooker in another guests caravan, we thought better of it.
We decided that if management were happy with the obvious low standards in public area like the pool, we would be best just to put it down to experience.
I'm greatly surprised at Hoseasons - I know they are just agents but I thought they would keep a closer eye on things then this. It's their name that they have to protect - ignore the photos in the Hoseasons brochure and website they are way out of date (pool has now been painted dark blue). We've been going away with Hoseasons for over 12 years once or twice a year and this is by far the worst holiday we've had.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anthony i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed for 2 weeks with our 3 boys 8,6 and 2 yrs old, camping on a serviced pitch 13th to 27th August. This is a lovely site. We loved the views of the sea and the location was brilliant. The bay is 1 mile down a country lane and although a little rocky to get onto the sandy beach it was well worth the hassle - even with our 3 kids!! Bude is lovely too and you can do plenty of day trips to interesting places such as Padstow, Tintagel and Boscastle. The site offers a really nice clubhouse with a restaurant and evening entertainment - loads for the kids to do. The pirate play ship is excellent - we let our kids have a lot of freedom as it was really safe for them here. There is a small arcade which normally I hate but it was actually well presented. The staff and holiday makers all nice and friendly - no riff raff about at all. Bad points are the serviced pitches are not level - our folding caravan had to be put on breeze blocks which wasn't mentioned when I booked. Also the toilet block could do with some rennovation - didnt like the huge gap in the shower door where people could see you having a shower. We consider ourselves experienced campers having been abroad and in England and I can say this is one of the best family sites I have ever been to in the UK. The Gale Family.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaleSurrey_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stibb
2.1 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bude Holiday Resort
Bude Holiday Resort
#5 of 32 in Bude
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pentire Haven Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Wooda Farm Holiday Park
Wooda Farm Holiday Park
#1 of 3 in Poughill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
6.2 mi away
Widemouth Bay Caravan Park
17.6 mi away
Beachside Holiday Park
Beachside Holiday Park
#1 of 9 in Westward Ho
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandymouth Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandymouth Holiday Resort

Property: Sandymouth Holiday Resort
Address: Sandymouth Bay, Stibb EX23 9HW, England (Formerly Sandymouth Holiday Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Stibb
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Stibb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandymouth is a beautiful holiday park located just a short drive from the beach in Bude, Cornwall. This friendly and relaxing park is a favourite with families of all sizes who love the variety of our child-friendly facilities. Sandymouth sits in 24 acres of meadowland in an area rich with beautiful beaches, bustling coastal resorts and picturesque fishing villages. Inland, the rolling countryside is a fascinating contrast to the rugged coast nearby. North Cornwall is an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Our modern holiday homes, lodges and bungalow offer different space, quality and price levels to meet your individual preferences. Every holiday home is equipped with modern features for your comfort and convenience. Facilities include an indoor heated swimming pool, bar & restaurant, on site mini-market, crazy golf, adventure play area (with full size pirate ship!), E and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sandymouth Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandymouth Holiday Park Hotel Stibb

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing