We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“difficult to do this amazing resort justice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Diamonds Thudufushi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed on the island for 8 nights in May last year and had an absolutely amazing trip. We were here for my husbands 30th birthday and treated ourselves to a water villa which was well worth the money, having stayed in quite a lot of 5* resorts around the world we were not disappointed at all! After having a disappointing honeymooon trip to Mexico the year before we opted for a small resort without loads of restaurants and bars and masses of guests, we were so pleased that we did. Just out of this world. The room was way beyond our expectations and the modern look and feel is perfect! We couldn't believe the size of the amazing deck to enjoy breakfast, sunbathe and enjoy the idyllic views from! We ate in the a la carte restaurant for almost every meal as the food was so lovely. The fact that the menu changed for each meal was a big plus too. Our waiter was amazing and after the first few days automatically brought our drinks straight over when he saw us! Snorkelling was amazing too. If you are looking for total peace and tranquillity in an amazing resort this is the place for you. Could not recommend highly enough.. one of the best holidays ever!

Room Tip: water bungalows are amazing.. ours was to the right hand side of the bungalows and had the sun all d...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AndreaMac2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
There are newer reviews for Diamonds Thudufushi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 794 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

My husband and I have just arrived home after a wonderful week at Thudafuahi. From arriving to an escorted trip in the golf buggy to our amazing water villa where fruit and drinks awaited us. We were checked in whilst sitting on the decking, perfection. The view was outstanding. We were lucky enough to have an infinity pool overlook the sea which was wonderful. Throughout our stay nothing was to much to ask, we were told staff were there to make our lives as easy as possible and they certainly did that

We ate nearly all meals in the overwater restaurant and had the same wonderful waiter, Shuja each night. He learnt out drinks and had them waiting for us, lunch and dinner were delicious every night.

We went on the daily snorkels which were well led and the team swapped between languages effortlessly to include everyone.

The island is small whichever you get to know the team, from the daily golf buggy rides by the excellent driver to the watersports team who you said hello to each day


The whole week was amazing. We could see fishes from walking on the decking, the sea was so clear.

It really was the best week I have ever spent anywhere.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sophie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

there is only one word to describe this place "SUPERB"
Amazing food
Super friendly staff
Great night activities like karoake, dance
loads of things to do from Snorkeling to diving, rafting to kayaking
all the food and drinks were included in the value which makes it SUPER value in term of price
December is great time to go cause no rains and really nice weather!
I highly recommend this place to anyone who wants to visit Maldives

Room Tip: Try both Beach villa and water villa both are exceptionally good and have different experience!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Makkks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

spent 2 weeks in a water villa. amazing surrounding. outstanding service quality.
excellent organization, management team is up for any feedback.
entire team on thudufushi is dedicated to make your stay a memorable one! we'll be back later in 2014

Room Tip: go for water villas, it's worth the surplus. superb food in the overwater restaurant.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rafael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I fully intended to write a review of our holiday at a beach bungalow on Thudufushi but when I read everybody else's reviews I saw that it's all been said before. I shall however add my two penny worth but it's only repeating all the great things which others have already said.
It was a totally relaxing holiday; there's nothing to do but relax, swim, eat and drink. I've noticed a couple of criticisms of the staff but they were absolutely perfect. Waiting staff etc were mostly from the Indian Ocean area and on the whole were friendly, courteous and efficient. The other resort staff in the office area and water sports centre were mostly European but were totally wonderful especially the management. I don't know where to start praising them all they were all so good and they all spoke very good English. In fact, English is the adopted language of the island so all the Italians and Germans need to speak English there.
There were two British electric socket outlets in the bungalow combined with the European ones.
I've seen queries about the need for shoes. The vast majority of people go barefoot most of the time. I went barefoot on the soft 'sand' (crushed coral) but preferred to wear espadrilles when walking on the hard packed 'sand' which is on the main non-beach walk to the centre. I did see one woman wearing high heels one evening and she looked ludicrous in that environment.
The bathroom is unusual in that there are only three walls. The sit-upons are secluded inside, the wash basins are semi-exposed and the shower is right outside. The shower itself is excellent with plenty of hot water, shower gel, shampoo and body lotion. You can get an all over tan whilst showering but it is private (see photo). The boundary wall is high enough to guarantee privacy and there is usually planting adjacent to it on the outside to support the privacy.
I was led to believe that insect bites were not a problem but we got bitten quite a bit and itched terribly. The island was fumigated twice at least during our stay which was impressive but they couldn't do the living areas as it wouldn't be safe (I assume) so some insects avoided being killed. We never saw what was biting us which seemed strange. When we resorted to using insect repellent we got no more bites, which was good. There are some large ants which were a bit tickly when they crept up our legs and annoyed us when we sat outside but I'm not aware that they bit or anything. The bungalow comes with an insecticide spray which is effective against ants. It also comes with life jackets!
I can't see the point of writing more about how good the holiday was. Just read all the great things which others such as Roz38, DonAndJM and Amit_Mittal66 have said and don't hesitate booking unless you like active holidays with lots to do

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I have stayed at this resort twice in a water villa (October 2011, then December 2012) and really do not have anything negative to say about it, it really is like paradise and I can’t wait to go back.
The staff are a real credit to the resort and can not be faulted at all – they are very friendly and nothing is ever too much. The Italian animators were very friendly and helpful.

The water villas are mainly detached and were perfect. They are large and clearly well planned in that you can walk into the shower from the deck rather than walking through (and therefore dirtying) the bedroom after a swim – the pictures really do not do it justice.

The spa was lovely and surprisingly reasonable. The excursions on offer were really varied and reasonably priced. They have a decently equipped gym and games room.

The food on both holidays was very good – we ate in the over water restaurant every night except for on the Maldivian themed night on land. I can’t fault the food, there was a good selection to choose from and was delicious.

All in all, the resort is fantastic and I would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roz38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My partner and I spent 2 amazing weeks from 6-20 October at Diamonds Thudufushi. From the moment the seaplane touched down and we were met by Nahu from Guest Relations we felt immediately welcomed, spoiled and most importantly relaxed! A quick ride in one of the dhoni’s took us from the seaplane to the main jetty. Here we were greeted by Philip, the resort Manager. We had every confidence upon meeting him that we made the right decision in choosing Thudufushi. His personal style of warmth, friendliness and acute customer-focus is apparent across his entire team.

The staff at Thudufushi is truly incredible. Their number one goal is to help every guest enjoy their holiday. The animation staff knows exactly how to keep the guests entertained without being pushy. The excursions are simply amazing. We were very lucky to be able to see whale sharks, mantas, turtles, dolphins and an endless array of colorful fish in pristine waters. We did all of this snorkeling and not diving! Each excursion we did was either with Alessandro, Melissa or Giuliana…simply perfection! A special callout to Giuliana. She is the in-house Marine Biologist. She has a passion and respect for the sea-life that is contagious and inspiring! If you are trying to decide which resort to choose and sea-life is your thing then trust Giuliana and Thudufushi!

For us the Water Villa is the way to go. We liked being on the water in a spacious and relaxing villa. We were on the sunset side and had many spectacular sunsets. Having the steps lead directly from our terrace to the sea made it all too easy to alternate between reading and snorkeling all day long. There is a very comfortable pair of sofas and dining table with 4 chairs on the covered terrace then 2 large lounge chairs on the open portion of the terrace (not overly comfortable unless you move a cushion from one of the sofas). The villa is cleaned and refreshed daily with linens and drinks (water, soda, beer and wine). Having wifi in the villa was super as it allowed us to instantly load our daily photos to Facebook! The iMac in the villa is loaded with movies in several languages but the placement of the iMac in relationship to the bed and/or sofa is not overly great for comfortable viewing. But we didn’t go to the Maldives to watch movies. We had several storms during our 2 weeks, which actually was quite nice to experience the diverse weather conditions. The wind and waves tend to rock the water villas a bit. Many guests are turned off by this but we actually enjoyed it.

You will read many things (good and bad) on TripAdvisor about the food. We think the quality is superior to most resorts. Given the resort’s location (middle of the sea) and the cooking conditions (hot, humid) the food is actually much, much better than it should be! The breads are all baked on-site and are wonderful. The fish is (obviously) fresh. We chose to not eat beef or pork in order to respect the local religion and the carbon footprint! But these dishes looked delicious. Without fail anything prepared Indian or Maldivian style was spicy, creative and full of flavor. Granted, the selection is somewhat limited in the WV restaurant but always fresh and tasty. A few times we went to the main restaurant for lunch just to have a nice big salad. The special dinners (Maldivian Night, BBQ, etc.) are typically held in the main restaurant and are both fun and high quality. You can choose to have breakfast delivered to your terrace each morning but we preferred making the daily walk to the restaurant where we were perfectly attended to by Husnu. We celebrated my partner’s birthday during our holiday. I chose the special lobster menu and had it delivered to our water villa. It was exquisite! I ordered a bottle of Champagne to start us off and the chef prepared some special “off-menu” canapés.

In general, the Maldives are a remarkable destination for relaxation and exploring the sea. Thudufushi takes this to the next level while wrapping you in a bit of luxury.




Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank DonAndJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thudufushi Island
6.9 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
2,103 reviews
18.9 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
18.5 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#2 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
553 reviews
9.2 mi away
Diamonds Athuruga
Diamonds Athuruga
#1 of 1 in Athuruga Island
966 reviews
22.9 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
3,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamonds Thudufushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds Thudufushi

Address: P.O. Box 2019
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Thudufushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thudufushi Island
Price Range: $660 - $1,991 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamonds Thudufushi 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kick off your shoes and unwind at Diamonds Thudufushi, a little piece of paradise on its own private island in the Maldives. Set on a white sand island within the turquoise waters of a shallow lagoon, Diamonds Thudufushi offers luxurious accommodation and outstanding levels of service. Located on the south-western rim of Ari Atoll, just a 35-minute seaplane flight south of Male' International Airport, the resort is secluded and tranquil, providing optimum privacy in unspoilt surroundings. The natural beauty of the island has been retained and enhanced. Beach Bungalows have individual verandas and private beachfronts along the coral-sand shore. Experience the diversity of the Maldives by pairing your visit with a stay at Diamonds Thudufushi, offering intimate village charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Diamonds Thudufushi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Thudufushi Beach And Water Villas
Diamonds Thudufushi Beach & Water Villas Hotel Thudufushi Island
Thudufushi Hotel South Ari Atoll
Diamonds Thudufushi Thudufushi Island, Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing