We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Diamonds Thudufushi
Nearby Hotels
Constance Moofushi(Moofushi Island)
$1,270
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Diamonds Athuruga(Athuruga Island)
$571
$435
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
$645
$480
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mirihi Island Resort(Mirihi)
$638
$536
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$308
$258
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ocean Beach Inn(Hangnaameedhoo Island)
$61
$48
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
W Maldives(Fesdhoo Island)
$823
$638
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$1,316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Maafushivaru(Southern Ari Atoll)
$704
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (857)
Filter reviews
857 results
Traveler rating
694
128
26
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
694
128
26
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach bungalowwater restaurantour waiterour honeymoonfishmain restaurantbeach barsmall islandeagle rayssecond weekother islandsbuffet restaurantlunch and dinnermini barsister islandevening entertainmentwater villa guests
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 857 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I fully intended to write a review of our holiday at a beach bungalow on Thudufushi but when I read everybody else's reviews I saw that it's all been said before. I shall however add my two penny worth but it's only repeating all the great things which others have already said.
It was a totally relaxing holiday; there's nothing to do but relax, swim, eat and drink. I've noticed a couple of criticisms of the staff but they were absolutely perfect. Waiting staff etc were mostly from the Indian Ocean area and on the whole were friendly, courteous and efficient. The other resort staff in the office area and water sports centre were mostly European but were totally wonderful especially the management. I don't know where to start praising them all they were all so good and they all spoke very good English. In fact, English is the adopted language of the island so all the Italians and Germans need to speak English there.
There were two British electric socket outlets in the bungalow combined with the European ones.
I've seen queries about the need for shoes. The vast majority of people go barefoot most of the time. I went barefoot on the soft 'sand' (crushed coral) but preferred to wear espadrilles when walking on the hard packed 'sand' which is on the main non-beach walk to the centre. I did see one woman wearing high heels one evening and she looked ludicrous in that environment.
The bathroom is unusual in that there are only three walls. The sit-upons are secluded inside, the wash basins are semi-exposed and the shower is right outside. The shower itself is excellent with plenty of hot water, shower gel, shampoo and body lotion. You can get an all over tan whilst showering but it is private (see photo). The boundary wall is high enough to guarantee privacy and there is usually planting adjacent to it on the outside to support the privacy.
I was led to believe that insect bites were not a problem but we got bitten quite a bit and itched terribly. The island was fumigated twice at least during our stay which was impressive but they couldn't do the living areas as it wouldn't be safe (I assume) so some insects avoided being killed. We never saw what was biting us which seemed strange. When we resorted to using insect repellent we got no more bites, which was good. There are some large ants which were a bit tickly when they crept up our legs and annoyed us when we sat outside but I'm not aware that they bit or anything. The bungalow comes with an insecticide spray which is effective against ants. It also comes with life jackets!
I can't see the point of writing more about how good the holiday was. Just read all the great things which others such as Roz38, DonAndJM and Amit_Mittal66 have said and don't hesitate booking unless you like active holidays with lots to do

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I have stayed at this resort twice in a water villa (October 2011, then December 2012) and really do not have anything negative to say about it, it really is like paradise and I can’t wait to go back.
The staff are a real credit to the resort and can not be faulted at all – they are very friendly and nothing is ever too much. The Italian animators were very friendly and helpful.

The water villas are mainly detached and were perfect. They are large and clearly well planned in that you can walk into the shower from the deck rather than walking through (and therefore dirtying) the bedroom after a swim – the pictures really do not do it justice.

The spa was lovely and surprisingly reasonable. The excursions on offer were really varied and reasonably priced. They have a decently equipped gym and games room.

The food on both holidays was very good – we ate in the over water restaurant every night except for on the Maldivian themed night on land. I can’t fault the food, there was a good selection to choose from and was delicious.

All in all, the resort is fantastic and I would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roz38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My partner and I spent 2 amazing weeks from 6-20 October at Diamonds Thudufushi. From the moment the seaplane touched down and we were met by Nahu from Guest Relations we felt immediately welcomed, spoiled and most importantly relaxed! A quick ride in one of the dhoni’s took us from the seaplane to the main jetty. Here we were greeted by Philip, the resort Manager. We had every confidence upon meeting him that we made the right decision in choosing Thudufushi. His personal style of warmth, friendliness and acute customer-focus is apparent across his entire team.

The staff at Thudufushi is truly incredible. Their number one goal is to help every guest enjoy their holiday. The animation staff knows exactly how to keep the guests entertained without being pushy. The excursions are simply amazing. We were very lucky to be able to see whale sharks, mantas, turtles, dolphins and an endless array of colorful fish in pristine waters. We did all of this snorkeling and not diving! Each excursion we did was either with Alessandro, Melissa or Giuliana…simply perfection! A special callout to Giuliana. She is the in-house Marine Biologist. She has a passion and respect for the sea-life that is contagious and inspiring! If you are trying to decide which resort to choose and sea-life is your thing then trust Giuliana and Thudufushi!

For us the Water Villa is the way to go. We liked being on the water in a spacious and relaxing villa. We were on the sunset side and had many spectacular sunsets. Having the steps lead directly from our terrace to the sea made it all too easy to alternate between reading and snorkeling all day long. There is a very comfortable pair of sofas and dining table with 4 chairs on the covered terrace then 2 large lounge chairs on the open portion of the terrace (not overly comfortable unless you move a cushion from one of the sofas). The villa is cleaned and refreshed daily with linens and drinks (water, soda, beer and wine). Having wifi in the villa was super as it allowed us to instantly load our daily photos to Facebook! The iMac in the villa is loaded with movies in several languages but the placement of the iMac in relationship to the bed and/or sofa is not overly great for comfortable viewing. But we didn’t go to the Maldives to watch movies. We had several storms during our 2 weeks, which actually was quite nice to experience the diverse weather conditions. The wind and waves tend to rock the water villas a bit. Many guests are turned off by this but we actually enjoyed it.

You will read many things (good and bad) on TripAdvisor about the food. We think the quality is superior to most resorts. Given the resort’s location (middle of the sea) and the cooking conditions (hot, humid) the food is actually much, much better than it should be! The breads are all baked on-site and are wonderful. The fish is (obviously) fresh. We chose to not eat beef or pork in order to respect the local religion and the carbon footprint! But these dishes looked delicious. Without fail anything prepared Indian or Maldivian style was spicy, creative and full of flavor. Granted, the selection is somewhat limited in the WV restaurant but always fresh and tasty. A few times we went to the main restaurant for lunch just to have a nice big salad. The special dinners (Maldivian Night, BBQ, etc.) are typically held in the main restaurant and are both fun and high quality. You can choose to have breakfast delivered to your terrace each morning but we preferred making the daily walk to the restaurant where we were perfectly attended to by Husnu. We celebrated my partner’s birthday during our holiday. I chose the special lobster menu and had it delivered to our water villa. It was exquisite! I ordered a bottle of Champagne to start us off and the chef prepared some special “off-menu” canapés.

In general, the Maldives are a remarkable destination for relaxation and exploring the sea. Thudufushi takes this to the next level while wrapping you in a bit of luxury.




Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank DonAndJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I and my daughter (who was taking a short break in Maldives with me) went for a short 2 day stay here. We stayed in a beach bungalow (believe that the water villas are larger and more plush). We had a truly amazing stay there; wish could have been more. The GM of the resort tries and meets all arrivals personally; staff is of course there. Warm welcome and orientation, the food and drinks (except premium spirits and champagnes ) including mini bar are included as is the rental of snorkelling, wind surfing equipment. My daughter went diving and had a wonderful experience. We both went snorkelling around the coral reef which is just a few swim strokes away from the beach - truly protected and beautiful. The island is itself small but the beach is heavenly; the food is great including a large choice for vegetarians including dal and curry (a lot of Italians come here so pasta and pizza is always available). Live music in the main restaurant is there. There is no Tv in the rooms but there is a TV room where people can go and watch TV / movies. No swimming pool except in some of the water villas but you have a great sea all around to swim in. We did not get to experience the restaurant on the water villas side. Highly recommend this for a great holiday.

Room Tip: All the Beach villas open up right onto the beach (thats where we stayed) . The water villas are supposed to be larger and are on the lagoon - few of them have a small private pool. Depends on what you are looking for. Rooms are comfortable and well maintained. Bathrooms in beach villas dont have a tub but have an open air shower.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amit_Mittal66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Thudufushi is symbolic of the "evolution" of the Maldives. My husband and I have been to the Maldives over 12 times, each time to a different resort. At first, there were only boats and helicopters taking you to the islands, today, there are three buildings-terminals for boarding rows of seaplanes... The development of the tourist business has been fast, and has lead resorts to add a multitude of services and of course, water bungalows...
For several years, we have been trying to go to Thudufushi (before the water bungalows), but it was always fully booked. Finally we made it mid october (not the best period, but it fit our schedule). It has all the amenities, from the spa, to the water sports, a small gym, volley ball, ping pong, billiard, darts, table football, several shops and mild entertainment in the evening. The staff is friendly and efficient. The food is good and varied. The meal and drink plan is truly all-inclusive.
The excursions are extra (whale shark spotting is 165 USD per person - after 2 hours of slow navigation, three boats ended up spotting one whale shark, and about 25 people jumped in the water trying to get a good look at the biggest fish of the planet).
If you want to go out with the catamaran (free of charge) a staff member has to accompany you and does all the sailing (my husband can sail, but the staff member proposed that we come back the following day for a trial).
Diving is good, but the team does not make groups according to experience, so most dives are very easy (and fast), and the same dive sights are repeated regularly (we were only there 8 days, and about 4 sights were visited twice).
Snorkeling on the house reef is good, but not exceptional. Many traditional Maldivian colorful fish, but we did not see any turtles, only baby sharks, one eagle ray and one stingray. The recent construction of the water bungalows might be responsible for some change of scenery...or the period of the year...
The resort is divided in two: the water villas and the beach bungalows. Separate restaurants, if the guests staying in the beach bungalows want to go to the Overwater restaurant, they have to pay extra (approx. 55 USD per person). WiFi in the Overwaters, not in the Beach Bungalows.
In the room, there is a lovely brochure explaining the typical and traditional Maldives, the lack of recycling facilities and that some rubbish should be taken home by guests for proper disposal. So why does the resort use small individual plastic bottles which are not recycled? If the airport has grown into an impressive commercial venue, should the authorities not consider recycling a priority?
The brochure also explains that the reef is not to be touched. Yet some guests walk with their fins on the corals with no respect or consideration whatsoever... Of course, the resort cannot do much...
Anyhow, Thudufushi represents the evolution of the Maldives. More services, possibilities and comfort, but for some, who remember the Maldives from ten years ago, even five years ago, sadly, it is losing some of its original and authentic charm.

Room Tip: The Beach Bungalows are spacious and delightful.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 007EMC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews