We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamonds Thudufushi, Maldives - September 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Diamonds Thudufushi
Certificate of Excellence
Newtonhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Diamonds Thudufushi, Maldives - September 2012”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Just back home a few weeks ago from my third trip to Thudufushi in the last 4 years. I have already reviewed the island for my visit last year but felt it merits another review.

In summary nothing much has changed, which is a good thing. The island is a perfect as ever with excellent staff who will bend over backwards for you. Very minor improvements have been carried out in the bathrooms with regards to toiletries. The addition of beer in the mini bar is a welcome addition to the all inclusive package. Our room boy figured I liked a can or two so stocked up extra the next night ;-) There is also now a small gym been added and one of the shops has been made smaller to accommodate a pool table. Free wi-fi is also available now in the bar area too in addition to the main reception, though you get a much better signal in reception if you want to take your mobile phone, i-pad etc.

Having visited previously in a September and once in a May, I'd have to say September was more favourable. There was less rain this time and I found we were bugged all the time by flies during the May visit. There were a lot more mosquitos this time round so it's good to carry a small spray around. Plenty of fish as usual in the house reef, though this year there was an absence of the light coloured reef sharks. I did see a turtle swimming around the pier which is a rare sight. Wildlife wise there were as many Ghost Crabs on the beach as ever, they are good fun to chase around the beach and they mainly come out during the evening. There was a lot more Fruit Bats (Flying Foxes) and Asian Koels present on the island, along with different species of gorgeous lizards. I think it was mating seasons for the Koels as the males did not shut up from 4am right up until around 7pm!

I completed my advanced diving course during this visit and would like to thank Stefano, Robert and Luca in the iDive centre who were very helpful and a bunch of great guys who love their diving. We were lucky to come back on the boat from a dive to see Dolphins swimming with the boat which was a great experience. If your competent at swimming then I would recommend doing the basic Open Water Course which is around 450 Euro's. You will then have this for life and will be able to dive to 18m. The Advanced Open Water is around the same price and allows you to dive to 30m. As part of this I completed a night dive which was a lot of fun, and allowed us to see a different side to underneath the ocean. If your not into your diving there is plenty of other watersport activities, fishing, island excursions to keep you occupied.

I'm hoping to go back again in a few years but will have to start saving. Although the water villa's are pretty to look at, I don't see the appeal of not being on the beach, as having the double doors on the beach bungalows open up onto the beach with the ocean not far from your door is part of the appeal. If space is available you can "upgrade" but every time I come back here it will be in the bungalows. Over the years we have spoke to many people who have stayed 10+ times in the Maldives and said no other island compares to Thudufushi. I'd be too scared to try any other island as I love the simplicity here and the all inclusive package. As per my previous review, I can't recommend it highly enough, and you have to be insane to give it anything less than 5 stars.

Room Tip: Beach Bungalow every time. Check an aerial plan as some have more beach areas than others, some also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mouse1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    117
    25
    4
    5
See reviews for
77
579
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in Beach Bungalow 38 for our honeymoon and we absolutely loved it. The island is the definition of "paradise" - no sandbags on the beach and beautiful clear waters, palm trees and soft sand. There is an excellent house reef for snorkeling - we saw turtles, sharks (small cute ones not scary ones) rays and tons of tropical fish. The food was great, including a wonderful Maldivian themed evening under the stars every Friday night.

This is definitely the place to go if you want to relax and have a desert island experience - stay away if you want to watch TV in your room (because you can't), go clubbing at night (there isn't one) or sit by a pool (again, no pool but why would you want one when you can walk from your veranda to your own stretch of warm, turquoise waters in less than a minute??). Staff were all incredibly friendly and professional too. Overall WE LOVED IT!!

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend beach bungalows 36-38 for positioning - they are about halfway round the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed in Water Villa 14 for our honeymoon, definitely worth booking on the sunset side. I would highly recommend the Water Villas, they are enormous. I am not usually a fan of "all inclusive" but it is a must in the Maldives and is excellently executed at Diamond Thudufushi. A lot more is included that you think would be. You can have breakfast set up on your private terrace for free, a three course a la carte lunch, a three course a la carte dinner, all mini bar drinks, snokerling gear etc. Water Villa is immaculate, and the service here is really very charming. It's not just honeymooners either which was nice, a good mix of Italians, Japanese, Chinese, Germans, couples and families. It really is a little taste of paradise.

Room Tip: Water Villa on the Sunset Side is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The most perfect location!

We stayed in a water villa and were not disappointed. Everything about Thudufushi is wonderful. The food, the drink, the people and the diving is all exceptional. We were made to feel welcome the moment we arrived and we were exceptionally sad to leave.

The island itself is tiny with beautiful white sand - the beach villas stretch out from the island and have an exclusive restaurant with very good quality food.

We did lots of diving - the local team are superb. Great fun and eager to take you out to experience the amazing under water sea life.

The resort is clean, tidy, well kept and the staff really care about their guests - it really is 5 star accommodation. I would recommend it to anyone - great for honeymoons or just getting away from it all in an isolated but stunning location

Not sure how we are going to beat it for our next holiday.....absolutely exceptional and would go back tomorrow!

Room Tip: Stay in a beach villa if you can - the ones at the end get the most sun for the majority of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacketsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

20 minutes to walk round the island one way then turn round and 20 minutes to walk back .so small but 17 days of pur pleasure . cant be bettered all inclusive paradise .the outside showers are amazing with the birds(feathered kind of course) just sitting looking at you . i had a beautiful white linen shirt made by the resident tailor very reasonable. he asked for my favourite shirt and he then modelled it on that how fantastic in 2 days ..

Room Tip: i loved the bungalows where we stayed on the beach .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geordiewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We just got back from 8 nights flying with Emirates via Dubai.
Our third time in the Maldives and by far the best resort that we've stayed in. The island itself is tiny and idyllic with wide white sandy beaches. We stayed in a beach bungalow and it was very well presented (an cleaned twice-daily) with the ocean a few steps away.
The outstanding factor of this resort is the people who run it. They create an informal, very friendly ambience which makes you feel at home straight away and nothing is too much trouble. The food is excellent and there is entertainment but no pushiness to get involved. They have a good boutique and small general shop. We were so impressed by the on-site tailors who will make you clothes to your design in two days for very reasonable prices. (I had two dresses made for $50 each). They also have a doctor in residence (I got a patch of mosquito bites which she sorted out in 6 hours and for free).
We would definitely go back. If you want total relaxation in a beautiful location with excellent facilities and friendly service then it's the place for you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank midlands91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
(mi)
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I went to thudufushi for one week with a charter flight. (in italy is a francorosso exclusive). The only backside of my vacation was the flight (Neos)because the seats were really Close and strict.
i reached the resort by airtaxy from Malè.
Theisland is wonderful, with a very crowded coral reef just in front of the beach bungolows. You can meet thuosunds of tropical fish and also some little sharks.
The room is big and there is the open air bathroom (you have the shower without the roof above you), but your Discretipn is totally guaranted.
Everything is included in the all inclusive package, including drinks in the fridge of the camera.
The restaurant is good with fresh fish

The beach is wonderful thanks to a total white and fresh sand and beautiful colours.

I went in the and of april (end of summer) and it was a little windy and sometimes the sea didn't look like a pool, but it was amazing the same.

I totally suggest

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank niki81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thudufushi Island
6.9 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
2,016 reviews
18.9 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
18.3 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
880 reviews
9.2 mi away
Diamonds Athuruga
Diamonds Athuruga
#1 of 1 in Athuruga Island
939 reviews
22.9 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
2,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamonds Thudufushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds Thudufushi

Property: Diamonds Thudufushi
Address: P.O. Box 2019
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Thudufushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thudufushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamonds Thudufushi 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kick off your shoes and unwind at Diamonds Thudufushi, a little piece of paradise on its own private island in the Maldives. Set on a white sand island within the turquoise waters of a shallow lagoon, Diamonds Thudufushi offers luxurious accommodation and outstanding levels of service. Located on the south-western rim of Ari Atoll, just a 35-minute seaplane flight south of Male' International Airport, the resort is secluded and tranquil, providing optimum privacy in unspoilt surroundings. The natural beauty of the island has been retained and enhanced. Beach Bungalows have individual verandas and private beachfronts along the coral-sand shore. Experience the diversity of the Maldives by pairing your visit with a stay at Diamonds Thudufushi, offering intimate village charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Diamonds Thudufushi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Thudufushi Beach And Water Villas
Diamonds Thudufushi Beach & Water Villas Hotel Thudufushi Island
Thudufushi Hotel South Ari Atoll
Diamonds Thudufushi Thudufushi Island, Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing