We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful food and setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Terra

La Terra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $64
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: It is a typical italian restaurant on the amalfi coast the location is even more than beautiful in a building of the xv century. the food ,natural and organic, comes strictly by the land coultivated directly by the owner. the great chef prepare everything with love, following the traditions and the rules of the typical way of cooking of the amalfi coast. our secrets:goodness, genuineness,hospitality,simplicity.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful food and setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Our last night in Montepertuso, we ate at La Terra on recommendation from our B&B hosts. They happily welcomed us for dinner, even though it was quite late, and seated us right alongside the cliff-top windows, overlooking the Positano coastline.

And our meals were divine. Our selections focused on fresh seafood options. The white anchovies on lemon leaf entree exploded with flavor, the pasta mains were excellent and wine very nice. Warm and attentive service, and exceptional value.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mjmoody383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    111
    64
    33
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A view to Remember with Food and Value to match.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

La Terra is situated high on the cliffs of Positano with Breathtaking views and food to match. This was one of our best meals in Italy both for the food and value.
My wife and I shared an antipasti plate, 2 bottles of wine and we both had a main meal each all for less than 80euro. It would be hard to find a restaurant in the main area of Positano that could match that value and you would certainly find it difficult to find a place that would also have such high quality food.
We booked the restaurant through our hotel and La Terra offers a pick up and drop off service from your hotel for a small tip to the driver, although the restaurant is out of the way and takes some time to get there, the pick up service just makes it all the more easier. If you come to Positano then going to La Terra for a meal is a must!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TheTravellingM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Value For Money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We really loved our meal at La Terra very good value for money and amazing views over the coast. The staff was very friendly and attentive and really looked after us all night long. If you are in Positano you should come and eat here for an authentic Italian dinner!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OH my god !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

first you'll fall in love with the view then you'll go nuts over the food. Simply amazing !!! Quality , portions, taste , prices ....hard to believe it exists. This restaurant is located above positano on the side of the mountain. They will send a driver to pick you up from your hotel. Don't miss it !!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carabresella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
196 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Good food, great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

La Terra’s charms include a superb view over Positano and good food. They have an excellent pumpkin risotto in a parmesan crust and a well-prepared fish in lemon sauce. They also have a good panna cotta with berries. The pasta was fine - a lot of pasta and very little sauce as is the norm in Italy. Good service. The head waiter likes to pull out his sax at some point in the evening (he’s pretty good) and serenade the guests, and one of the waitresses has a nice voice and accompanies him. Not generally our preferred accompaniment to a meal, but it’s short and the rest of the guests seemed highly appreciative. The restaurant, in Montepertuso, provides a free car service to Positano or Nocelle.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 2trvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terra also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Terra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing