We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Terra

La Terra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $64
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: It is a typical italian restaurant on the amalfi coast the location is even more than beautiful in a building of the xv century. the food ,natural and organic, comes strictly by the land coultivated directly by the owner. the great chef prepare everything with love, following the traditions and the rules of the typical way of cooking of the amalfi coast. our secrets:goodness, genuineness,hospitality,simplicity.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel and we were more than impressed. The food was fresh, delicious and well priced. Where possible the produce is fresh from their garden. Amazing views of the water and pick up, drop off to Positano included.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    501
    110
    64
    33
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best food we ate on our Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

La Terra was our first dinner on our honeymoon and would become the bar that everything else would be judged by...no one else won including cuisine on an RCC cruise.

We started with the bruschetta which tasted like you were eating a garden. I've never had tomatoes so full of flavor. The bread had the same taste, texture, and smell of that of my neighbors who came from Italy. I haven't had that bread since Nana passed away. La Terra let me relive her fresh baked goodness.

We had eggplant and the gnocchi for appetizers. The eggplant was just like the tomatoes - I don't even think it was seasoned, it was just natural eggplant that was fresh and delicious. The gnocchi was amazing.

We order the steak which came out on a huge plate with two forks and two knives. It was a little fatty but it was delicious.

Finally, the thing that took the night was the pear ricotta pie/cake. We have never had a dessert that was so flavorful, light, and just knock you out good. Nothing topped it. I don't know if that was homemade or store bought or came down from the mountain gods but that Pear Ricotta cake/pie is worth the trip to Italy.

If you are staying in Positano, you're experience isn't complete without eating at La Terra and being serenaded by the owner and his saxophone.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Magoojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic View... Ok Meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The view of the coastline from this restaurant is spectacular. Unfortunately the food and service didn't stack up in comparison to some of the other restaurants we visited during our time in Positano. The restaurant was very busy and the three staff members appeared to be slightly harassed and subsequently not in the best of humour. Also felt as though our table had been squeezed onto the terrace. I would imagine that the dining experience may have been slightly better had the restaurant not been so busy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheNewburgh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“La Terrazza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is where we had our daughters wedding reception.The staff were terrific professional and capable.The meals were as good as I have eaten in any restaurant anywhere in the world and the outlook over the sea as good a setting as you can get.First Class all round.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill552013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Potential - Did not live up to it!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were so looking forward to this meal. Our first in Positano, where we were to stay for 7 nights. We chose this restaurant due to Trip Advisor recommendations. We were picked up in a shuttle van. 4 of us and 2 other couples traveling together. From what we had read, we were expecting a charming locale with attentive and interested/interesting wait staff. The drive to La Terra was fabulous, as you follow the winding road up and out of town and just east to Montepertuso. Lovely perch that the restaurant has, but that is where the excitement ended. Most of our dishes were average or worse and the wait staff was not only disinterested (couldn't find them) but sarcastic and hurried on the front end. No chatting, no welcome, no nothing. . . . It looked like they might own the restaurant next door and were setting up for an event? Perhaps that explains the inconsistent reviews if this happens often? It's not like they had a full house at La Terra. It was just our table and the four at the next table that had arrived with us in the van? So perhaps if you do want to try this place, find out if they will be preparing for another event next door??

Foodwise - order the local whitefish, and veggie salad. It was the only meal that was great. My risotto was gummy and flavorless, my husbands steak with red pepper sauce was almost inedible (gristly and chewy - see picture), and John's dish was mediocre. Pictures attached of the steak and the fish and the view :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank irysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terra also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Terra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing