We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Terrazza”
Review of La Terra

La Terra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $64
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: It is a typical italian restaurant on the amalfi coast the location is even more than beautiful in a building of the xv century. the food ,natural and organic, comes strictly by the land coultivated directly by the owner. the great chef prepare everything with love, following the traditions and the rules of the typical way of cooking of the amalfi coast. our secrets:goodness, genuineness,hospitality,simplicity.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“La Terrazza”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is where we had our daughters wedding reception.The staff were terrific professional and capable.The meals were as good as I have eaten in any restaurant anywhere in the world and the outlook over the sea as good a setting as you can get.First Class all round.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill552013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    114
    70
    36
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Potential - Did not live up to it!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were so looking forward to this meal. Our first in Positano, where we were to stay for 7 nights. We chose this restaurant due to Trip Advisor recommendations. We were picked up in a shuttle van. 4 of us and 2 other couples traveling together. From what we had read, we were expecting a charming locale with attentive and interested/interesting wait staff. The drive to La Terra was fabulous, as you follow the winding road up and out of town and just east to Montepertuso. Lovely perch that the restaurant has, but that is where the excitement ended. Most of our dishes were average or worse and the wait staff was not only disinterested (couldn't find them) but sarcastic and hurried on the front end. No chatting, no welcome, no nothing. . . . It looked like they might own the restaurant next door and were setting up for an event? Perhaps that explains the inconsistent reviews if this happens often? It's not like they had a full house at La Terra. It was just our table and the four at the next table that had arrived with us in the van? So perhaps if you do want to try this place, find out if they will be preparing for another event next door??

Foodwise - order the local whitefish, and veggie salad. It was the only meal that was great. My risotto was gummy and flavorless, my husbands steak with red pepper sauce was almost inedible (gristly and chewy - see picture), and John's dish was mediocre. Pictures attached of the steak and the fish and the view :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank irysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing place for a family event”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

If you are looking for a place where you can enjoy the typical food from the south of Italy, and if you have a special concern about the quality of food, please continue reading.

Due to the weather we had an incident with our weeding and we couldn´t do what we had planned. As our guest list was short, no more than 20 people, we found this restaurant the day before and from the very first contact we felt relieved with the security Francesco gave us.
We searched for something beautiful, original, good food and km zero (few guest but very demanding regarding food), and La Terra exceed all our expectations, even giving a 24 hour notice to organize the celebration of our weeding, the feedback from our guests couldn´t be better. The food was absolutely amazing, very flavored with the ingredients of their own kitchen garden and our guests were stunned with the view above Positano.
Over all, great food, great view and great service. If you are planning to visit Positano, this restaurant should be a “Must” on your list.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo_B_Almeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good option when in Positano”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Nice people , good food ... Solid choice of restaurant. Off the beat and path of all the touristic places on the beach.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maurice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding view, ok food.”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I'm not sure what all the fuss is about with this restaurant. We visited in June as a family and were really looking forward to it based on a recommendation. The view is to die for and it's worth visiting just to experience it. The food, however, was average. My son ordered the veal and it was covered in a gelatinous gravy and looked like something from Luby's. We ordered seafood pasta and gnocchi and it was good, not great. I would go there for some wine and appetizers to enjoy the view, and then eat dinner somewhere else.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mwells74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terra also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Terra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing