We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and quiet location”
Review of Casa Elvira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Elvira
Ranked #1 of 11 Vama B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Plus: The guesthouse is in a quiet area of Vama, in the way to Moldova, Sucevita, Marginea. Green is as the eye can see. The rooms are tastefully furnished, furniture and in general everything is of good quality, the bathroom is impeccable, spacious shower. There are many posibilties of leisure: ping-pong, chess, basketball, etc. .. Wi-Fi throughout the villa. Food is very tasty and home made. The hosts are very friendly and willing to help in any situation. We felt very well and recommend this villa for those wishing to rest and relax.
Minus: fix menu (something like "menu of the day") both at breakfast and lunch/dinner. But -as mentioend above - the food was very tasty and more than you can eat :)
If you use GPS coordinates you will find easy the location. Otherwise there is only one indicator very close to the house and it is visible only if you come from Gura Humorului/E58/E576

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bogdan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 46 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

Beautiful, quiet location, conveniently located, within walking distance from the Egg Museum (Muzeul Oului) close from famous Bucovina's monasteries, the black ceramics of Marginea, from a major city - Suceava or many natural wonders.
Very nice rooms and great service, delicious breakfasts and dinners that included traditional meals and locally sourced products. The hosts were great: helpful, friendly, who struck the perfect balance between being attentive and giving you your own space.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corvinul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Not fancy but a lot of customer dedication, at the edge of the forest with a large yard, playground basketball, Ping-Pong area, kitchen and a dining room preparing you for a meeting with local folk band. Pension is clean and complete. The owners were friendly and there was no time to feel bad. We spent the Easter period and the food was plentiful and very good. Brandy and house wine are very good and at discretion. Owner, at the end of each meal asked whether longer wants something, no matter how much we consumed ... Another great thing was the tolerance to children for our group (are pretty hectic). Usually we get through our travels complains from the hotels... Here we had the warmest treatment in the world. Maybe is due the daughter of the owner, Madalina. Long live! Now, when I write this review I want to go back but can't leave the office :)... However, for all the readers, I can only recommend this place, for those with pure souls who seek not the most expensive but the warmest place. All the best for the owners and Bucovina Region, for the Christianity, clean and free of stress.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emanuvio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The rooms look great, the decor shows good taste. The beds were comfortable. Everything was new and very clean. Compared to hotels in Denmark where I live, this pension is looking so much better.

The staff is the family owning this complex. We felt welcome from the first minute we came and the staff even helped when we had some special requests.

The food was Romanian traditional, very tasty and prepared exactly as it should be. We had great food variety. The menu was included in the price we paid for the Easter package and we ate as much as we wanted (we were always asked if we need more, which of the items we want more of etc). I think I ate too much, being eager to try everything of the Romanian food which I liked so much.

The package contained a barbecue in the garden which was very tasty, we tried various specialities of food, and again, we could choose which meat goes next on the grill :)

We also had a band of Romanian traditional folk singers. Being a music graduate, I could tell that they didn't miss a note and some of the pieces they sang were truly difficult. They could sing Romanian songs from all regions of the country, and at the end they also played classical Ciocarlia, a song of Zamfir and some international slow songs.

Some things that could have been improved: the internet connection didn't work for me. I never asked about it and took it as an opportunity to stay away from work, so I don't know if asking would have fixed the issue.

Another thing that could be improved, is to not have the sports/basketball field so close to the rooms. Being in vacation, I sometimes wanted to sleep in the afternoon, but had to close the windows because of the noise from the playground. With the windows closed I could still hear the ball bouncing, but less which was better.

The area is full of opportunities for either active or leisure vacations. We climbed to Rarau on an easy 4 hours trip, and came back by car. There are other hiking paths shorter or longer. The webpage of Casa Elvira lists the opportunities of spending the days so I will not repeat them here.

I think we might return for Christmas :)) To be decided.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raven731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This was the nicest B&B I have ever stayed at period (and I've stayed at many in the US and throughout Europe). The building was new, very clean, and tastefully decorated. The owners/staff were attentive, helpful, and spoke English quite well. We accepted an offer to add on a dinner to our stay, and it was an exceptional yet simple dining experience on the Gazebo where we watched our host grill fresh meats in the outdoor wood grill and enjoyed home-made soups, appertifs, and desert. Breakfast was likewise very hearty and delicious, including many meats and cheeses, omlets, and bread with homemade fruit preserves. The B&B was conveniently located in the near all the major painted monasteries of Buccovina. The grounds included an outdoor gazebo, balconies, a large yard, and basketball court. Free wireless internet was available in some rooms and most of the public areas. Overall, this was a beautiful, peaceful B&B as well as an exceptional value!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YoungMNtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones para familias son muy amplías y disponen de cunas para bebés.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ignacioanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: באגף החדש! בנוף שצופה למרחבי הדשא.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ריקי ב
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vama hotels
26.5 mi away
Cabana Ionela
Cabana Ionela
#5 of 11 in Vama
1 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bucovina Lodge
Bucovina Lodge
#1 of 7 in Vama
61 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Valea Mariei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 mi away
Pension Casa Aurora
Pension Casa Aurora
#8 of 11 in Vama
3 reviews
6.2 mi away
Pension Lucia Bucovina
0.2 mi away
Casa Lucretia
Casa Lucretia
#2 of 11 in Vama
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Elvira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Elvira

Address: Strada Closca nr. 1 Bis | sat Stamtura, Vama 727590, Romania
Location: Romania > Northeast Romania > Suceava County > Vama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Vama
Price Range: $30 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Elvira 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CASA ELVIRA (ELVIRA MANSION), property of Băieş family from Vama village, is situated right at the crossroads between trans-carpathian main road Suceava - Cluj Napoca (E576) and historical road to the holy Monastery Vatra Moldoviţei, at only 100 meters from Moldoviţa river, only 1 km higher than the fusion with the legendary river - Moldova. The unique geographical placement, only 15 km from Vatra Moldoviţei, 20 km from the holy Monastery of Voroneţ, 25 km from Humor Monastery and 25 km from the Rarau mountain, different possibilities for arrival (on the road, from three directions, on the railway and by plane - through Suceava international Airport - only 50 km far) and the rare charme of the neighbourhood makes CASA ELVIRA a "must see and stay" place on the map of every holiday route, any season and any hour. Bucovinian winter, with its rich snows, spring with its wonderful and well-preservates Holy Eastern, more wonderful than any place in Romania, summer full of flowers, fruits and surprises in high country of Bucovina forests and long fall, full of sun and harvest are some reasons for forgetting the daily problems. We promise you that here, at Casa Elvira, you can be happy and free. Once, and once more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Elvira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing