We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on earth...”

Bodiam Boating Station
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Newenden
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Please check out Lime Wharf Cafe, which is the cafe on the same site as Bodiam Boating Station
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Heaven on earth...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I arranged a 30th birthday party stay for two nights for my wife and a group of friends during the middle of July. The checklist for the ideal location to host this was extremely high and to be honest I did not think I would find it. A stunning location, plenty of things to do during the day, a warm welcome, a pub close by and a camp side fire. Bodiam Boating Station ticked every single box and more.
Alex and Vanessa were absolutely fantastic right from when I made contact. They were understanding in accommodating a large group of people, they offered advice on what to do during our stay and provided a warm welcome throughout. I cannot recommend enough to stay here as there is something for everyone. A beautiful location over looking Sussex pastures, a stunning river that you can swim in with a picturesque bridge, a cottage cafe to visit first thing in the morning to sit and have a coffee and croissant, a steam train railway line within walking distance that stops right beside the castle, a great pub serving fine food, a wonderful well kept castle to visit and a sunset boat cruise to top it off. There is more than this to do but that’s all we could fit in over two days.
All our guests were raving about their stay and will all be coming back soon. I read one or two reviews prior to booking that mention the road among other things but can reassure anyone thinking of staying here that we did not hear it once and that every single one of our 20 guests had only positives things to say about their stay. I would thoroughly recommend the sunset boat cruise where Alex was the best host with plenty of history of the waterway and the surrounding countryside to inform us about as well allowing the party to let their hair down and celebrate. A swim in the river, The White Hart pub, Bodiam Castle, The Castle Inn pub, the steam railway, a camp side fire toasting marsh mellows, a coffee and ice cream from the cottage cafe and a boat cruise along the river. All recommended. Our weekend at Bodiam Boating Station will live long in the memory of all our guests and will ensure we visit time and again. There are already plans being hatched to visit the same time next year. You will be seeing us again very soon.

Thank you Alex & Vanessa.

Jordan & Hannah.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jordan-MR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodiamBoatingStation, Manager at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thanks so much for posting this review; it really does make a difference for us. Really hope you do make it here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    8
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Good spot. Good facilities and great pot of tea. We didn't eat as it was just after breakfast when we visited but their produce is good, fresh and reasonably priced.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seagroves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodiamBoatingStation, Owner at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Hope to see you again and next time we hope you come with empty tummies!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A local gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We live in Newenden and wanted to see what this local venture was all about. We weren't disappointed ! My daughter and I enjoyed a tasty, good quality tea in the sheltered garden ,enjoying the sunshine.The owners/staff were very friendly and did not hurry us along - all at a reasonable price too. Next time we will try out the boating, but it is also a great place to just enjoy the cafe area, with its good variety of food.Thoroughly recommend it !

Helpful?
Thank melica g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodiamBoatingStation, Owner at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for popping in, it was lovely to meet you both. Look forward to seeing you here again soon for river activities and cream teas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best chocolate muffins ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Lovely the room and garden serving great quality coffee, tea etc. they always have a great selection of cakes and baguettes, and we all agreed the best ever muffins!!! The kids loved the ice cream and the little swing off the tree.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fussyrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodiamBoatingStation, Owner at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
So pleased the chocolate muffin was as good as you remembered - I was worried they would be an anti-climax! See you next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston
Level Contributor
101 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Superb spot, with nice grub.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Regular visitors to this place for coffee stops and lunch.
Must be one of the most scenic coffee shops in Scotland.
Service is always excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank craigozwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BodiamBoatingStation, Owner at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, but we are a wee way from Scotland!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodiam Boating Station also viewed

 

Been to Bodiam Boating Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing