We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to paradise”
Review of Alcantara Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alcantara Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gaggi
Certificate of Excellence
mechelen
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Close to paradise”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We spent a week in this beautiful new resort. The location is excellent for excursions in the east of sicily. Not far away from Taormina but in a quiet area. A car is needed to get there. Great breakfast and the food in the restaurant was perfect. The staff is very friendly !!! The rooms are one of the cleanest we ever saw in italy. A place to remember !!!

Room Tip: ake a room on the first floor of the appartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patje13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    47
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
84
91
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

The staff at Alcantara are wonderful! Not only did they give suggestions/directions but they actually took us to places of interest! The rooms are gorgeous with unheard of beautiful large bathrooms, flat screen TV's, Wi-fi, patios, etc. The restaurant has great food and service, and the included breakfast buffet is amazing! Alcantara personifies the term "resort"

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babalish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The hague
Level Contributor
160 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

New hotel excellent staff, excellent room, excellent pool, what more do you want.Don't look no further.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerardthehague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2011

I spent my honeymoon at Alcantara. It is a very nice place, very clean, very green, with a nice swimming pool and excellent service. The breakfast is a bit humble but its enough, the dinner on the other hand is quite good. The staff of the resort is very friendly and very helpful. They help you whenever you´re in need. Make sure you are there by car. They have a secured parking. The only thing that is not so good is the location. Gaggi is really not a very nice town. But if you are there by car, staff will advise you where to go. I can advise you Taormina, Etna volcano, Alcantara gorge and Castalbiano. Dont go to Corleone...its far far away and really dissapointing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lowrenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Our family (two kids 14months and 9 years) had a lovely time at the Alcantara Resort, the staff were very friendly they did everything they could to make sure you were happy and satisfied. The people in reception can speak english so you can get all information you need (places to visit and restaurants to eat).
The hotel was excellent though, the breakfast buffet was delicious and very fresh and the meals in the evening were superb, the 4 course set menu was excellent value for money! The room was amazing, one of the nicest rooms we’ve ever stayed in. The bed was very comfy and everything about the place was faultless. The pool was very nice and no panic for sun beds because there was plenty for everyone.I would recommend this hotel to anyone, but would also recommend car hire because there isn’t anything nearby and taxis are expensive.

Room Tip: All rooms quiete, there are one and two badrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nerimantas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

This hotel is fantastic in every way. The rooms are of a high standard and the service that the resort provide is outstanding, all of the staff will go out of their way to make you feel welcome and attend to your every need.
Some advice to you if staying is don't pull chairs or furniture across the ceramic floor as this can be heard on either the ground or top floor (no fault of the resort).
The area is away from the big tourist towns which for us was perfect as we wanted to relax by the pool (towels are provided) but if you do decide to venture out there are buses into Giardini Naxos and Taomina approx €3.60 return pp or alternatively hire a car from the resort for a couple of days costing around €55 for 24 hours.
There is a cheap pub/cafe 5 mins walk from the resort offering Cappucino for €1, Ice cream and local snacks as well as a couple of pizzerias.

Room Tip: Top floor room with large terrace perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickyHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We had a lovely time relaxing at the Alcantara Resort, the staff were very friendly and nice although their English wasn’t very good they did everything they could to make sure you were happy and satisfied. The only downside to not having anyone speak very good English at the hotel was we couldn’t really interact with them and ask for information on the local area, places to visit and restaurants to eat at which meant we unfortunately ate at some very poor places at high prices and probably didn’t see the best of what Sicily had to offer.
The hotel was excellent though, the breakfast buffet was delicious and very fresh and the meals in the evening were superb, the 4 course set menu was excellent value for money! The room was amazing, one of the nicest rooms we’ve ever stayed in. The walk-in shower was lovely, the bed was very comfy and everything about the place was faultless. The pool was very nice and no panic for sun beds because there was plenty for everyone. I cannot fault this hotel in anyway, the only thing which would be on the downside for me was the number of young crying children, but I cannot mark this down on the hotel because this isn’t exactly a fault from them.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, but would also recommend car hire because there isn’t anything nearby and taxis are expensive.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Juniour Suite which had a huge outdoor terrace area with excellent views of Mt Etna
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCL19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaggi
5.7 mi away
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Linguaglossa
379 reviews
57.8 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPa
6.7 mi away
Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa
Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & S...
#1 of 4 in Castiglione di Sicilia
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Casale Romano
Casale Romano
#1 of 2 in Motta Camastra
158 reviews
8.0 mi away
Etna Hotel
Etna Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giarre
311 reviews
3.9 mi away
Castello di San Marco Charming Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcantara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcantara Resort

Property: Alcantara Resort
Address: Via Colonnello Mannino 7, 98030 Gaggi, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Gaggi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gaggi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alcantara Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alcantara Resort is set in the beautiful valley of Alcantara, 7 Km. away from Taormina and very close to the magnificent gorges of Alcantara. The resort has 21 rooms, all them arranged in sicilian style and all of them are spacious and bright, classically furnished and equipped with private bedroom, mini-bar, piped music, TV with satellite channels, Internet Wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alcantara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcantara Resort Sicily/Gaggi, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing