We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Maria Laach
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveler rating
52
84
29
12
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
52
84
29
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peaceful hotel within hours lovely setting stayed longer classical music abbey bells barrier wine euros rear garage germany commercials
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 187 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2018

Everything from the reception to the room to the garaging was perfect. The staff were simply amazing, nothing was a trouble for them. The whole hotel was immaculate. The breakfast had everything you wanted and the quality was excellent. Thank you for a great stay.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

We were looking for a peaceful hotel at the lake... from the website it looked as exactly our target. And the reality.... - there are nice things, true. The staff is friendly, the abbey has a beautiful church and surroundings . But first, the hotel is not at the lake. To the lake you need to go 10-15 minutes. The view then is really not just on the lake , but on the parking. The very busy street runs between hotel and the lake, so you don’t hear birds singing, but engines, and for breakfast in the open you may want a different environment. And the abbey...for some reason the crazy monks running the church believe, that bell toll at 4.00 A.M. ( not one ring, but few minutes ringing ) brings you closer to salvation and Christ himself. Then at 6.00AM, then 8.00AM... you can truly feel like in heaven! Only you are looking for a hellfire to silence those zealots once forever. Air conditioning is not present, so in the hot summer you hoped to have an opened window at night.... maybe this is the reason for Catholic Church to lose followers? Anyway, it was a relief to leave.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Magad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen M, Geschäftsführer at Seehotel Maria Laach, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Dear Sir or Madam,
We have read your opinions about our hotel and the Beniktinerkloster Maria Laach. Please understand that we do not share these opinions.
We thank you for the praise to our staff, who were happy about it.
We wish you all the best and stay

Best regards
Steffen Melzow
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018 via mobile

The stay at the see hotel was a very pleasant surprise it is next to a monetary with extensive manicured gardens to front and rear. Breakfast on the front deck overlooking the lawns is so very relaxing and pleasant. The staff were excellent, very attentive and helpful when needed. Room were also very comfortable I wish I could have stayed longer than 1 day just to relax and enjoy

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank yvonnea508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen M, Geschäftsführer at Seehotel Maria Laach, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2018

Dear guests,
Thank you for taking the time to rate us here.
We gladly took care that you (if only one day) had a pleasant stay in our hotel.
We hope that we can welcome you again soon for a stay of several days in our hotel

Best regards
Steffen Melzow
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018

We stayed for 3 nights here, initially choosing it from a Trip Advisor search for hotels in the region that could provide good car parking. It was so much more than that! A beautiful, historic and peaceful location, and lovely old hotel with some quirks that were forgiven for the overall enjoyment of the stay. Most of all, the choice, quality and presentation of meals in the restaurant was amazing. One of our travellers is gluten free and she could not believe that she could get almost anything on the menu in a gluten free option. She didn't want to leave, having eaten better here than anywhere else on our trip. The restaurant sources much of it's food from local, organic suppliers and the quality really shows. Very comfortable rooms, and staff were always welcoming and helpful. We will return!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vanfamAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen M, Geschäftsführer at Seehotel Maria Laach, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2018

Dear guests,
Thank you for taking the time to rate us here.
It is nice to read that our daily work and our daily effort to our guests is crowned with success.
We are very happy that we were able to ensure that you had such a nice stay in our Seehotel Maria Laach.
Dear guests, in the hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon as guests in our hotel, we remain

Best regards
Steffen Melzow
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2018 via mobile

Firstly, this is not a hotel you turn up at by accident. Not difficult to find, but definitely not on the main routes. I found it searching for something else than chain hotels in the town centres. I expected good, but what I met was overwhelming! The hotel, dating back from 1864, is beautifully located, truly! Fabulous walks, a wonderful garden and a beautiful building. Very good parking, which is a must, as you need to come by car. The hotel and the surroundings communicate style and quality, and an almost retreat-like serenity. The staff I met was truly excellent, kind and helpful in every way, and definitely not the stiff-upper-lip kind that you sometimes tend to meet in classy German hotels. I quick and professional check in and out. A beautiful room of quite high standards, and an excellent restaurant! The breakfast, too, was truly remarkable. All-in-all, a place where I happily would have stayed longer - maybe another time? Only two things I wonder about: where is the fifth star? Would be well deserved! And secondly, the telecommunications, which apart from a weak hotel wlan were more or less non-existant... impossible to find a gsm-network. Well, not a problem really, it just added to the retreat feeling.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank 48stefana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen M, Geschäftsführer at Seehotel Maria Laach, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to rate us here.
We are very pleased that you have found our hotel in search of a not ordinary retreat. We have been happy to help you feel as comfortable as you described in your review.
Dear guest, in the hope that we will be able to welcome you again soon as a guest in our Seehotel Maria Laach, we remain

Best regards
Steffen Melzow
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews