We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Romantic Night in Zutphen”

Schultenhues - Peter Gast Gastrobar
Ranked #5 of 60 Restaurants in Zutphen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $105
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Enjoy your stay in a vital, cosy and inspiring atmosphere. Taste the region trough te creative dishes of Peter Gast.
Kuurne, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Romantic Night in Zutphen”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We went with a groupon ticket for the 7 course meal in this 1 Michelin star restaurant. The reception was warm and although we arrived at 8 we seemed to be the last couple entering. They support local wines and for that reason we chose a bottle white(SA) and a bottle red wine(FR) instead.
The dining room is very nice. Nice lounge music but when it gets dark, it gets a bit too dark in the restaurant. The food is delicious as is the service. We will surely go back but we would go on a sunday at noon. I can recommend this place !

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MANI_DIVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    31
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Mixed feeling”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have eaten at Schulten Hues a couple of times (6-7 times at least in the last 2 years) and each one has been excellent, until the last one...which was last month.

The last time we were there, we took my in-laws to treat them to a 7 course dinner with wine pairings.

The food, presentation, service and ambiance were good as always (as expected from a restaurant with Michelin star) however the very next morning my husband, and my in laws suffered from food poisoning and they haven't even eaten anything else since the dinner the night before...

I was the only one who didn't feel ill (I didn't eat seafood as those three however), and because of this we suspected that it must have come from at least one of the seafood dishes - there were a few of them...

I emailed them to explain this and until a month later, I still didn't hear anything back, not an investigation or apology...which is very disappointing.

I didn't ask for a compensation or anything material, but a response would have been appreciated.

Judging from our last experience,I don't think I will ever go back or recommend them to anyone I know.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank schumaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Lunch ....vegetables..... a 3 star experience”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Zutphen is a very nice small dutch city ca. 80 km from Utrecht. Authentic and with a great restaurant..'t Schulten Hues. We were having lunch and were treated on one of the best lunches of last year. From beginning to the end, the courses and service were excellent. 5 amuses, before the best first course of passed year. smoked eal in a reduced sauce of vegatables of the season. This alone would be worth to return because it was truly memorable. Next course was seadevil, followed by roasted lamb and a beautiful light desert. Open Languedoc and Douro wines we drunk were the perfect choices with the different courses. Coffee ended this perfect lunch with no flaws . All served within 2 hours. Parking places are simple to be found at ca. 300 meters.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WILENLIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
419 reviews
312 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Flawless victory. Deserves the Michelin star.”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This beautiful old schoolhouse has been converted into an amazing restaurant. Beautifully decorated, the ambiance is just perfect for a long dinner. We had the six course of kitchen specialties, which also included some amazing amuses. The wine pairings were spot on, while the service was attentive but never pompous, just very friendly and able to explain a lot about the food & wine. Highlights were the excellent dish of eel, perfect lamb and a dessert of cleverly prepared strawberries.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LassiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warnsveld, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

There is only one word which summarises our dinner experience at Schulten Hues: excellent! Food, service and atmosphere are all first class and top level. With one Michelin star it may not fit everybody's budget, though.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schultenhues - Peter Gast Gastrobar also viewed

Zutphen, Gelderland Province
Zutphen, Gelderland Province
 
Zutphen, Gelderland Province
Zutphen, Gelderland Province
 
Zutphen, Gelderland Province
Zutphen, Gelderland Province
 

Been to Schultenhues - Peter Gast Gastrobar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing